We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Marriott Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Marriott Mesa to your Saves list
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Centennial Way, Mesa, AZ 85201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel over Labor Day week. I was a little apprehensive about a downtown location, but those fears were unfounded. The staff here must take friendly pills! Everyone is so nice. After a whole week, you would think something would go wrong but it never did. As a gold member I had access to the concierge level. The views were breathtaking as we drank coffee and watched the sunrise. The room was nothing spectacular but it was clean and everything worked. We ate at Azulejo 2x and loved it. The pool was sparkling and we spent many hours there under the shade of the palms. I will definitely go back but maybe wait until it is cooler.

Room Tip: Face the mountains!!! The view is fabulous from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Hunt_phxmm, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience with us. the "happy pills" are something that come naturally wit our staff. They do go the extra mile to accommodate and please our guests.
As you commented, our views are to die for. There is nothing like a sunrise/sunset view from our location of the Valley of the Sun.
We look forward to having you back. FYI- the weather is getting to the point that drives people to the valley. Cool mornings and evenings and lots of sunshine.

Best Regards,
Donald Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    71
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
32
40
20
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott in Mesa for 4 days last week and am very glad that I did. The hotel staff makes this place a great place to stay - offering assistance with a smile no matter what time of day. Although the room was a little in need of an update, it was very clean and quiet. They offered a nice breakfast on weekday mornings which was a cost savings for me. The place felt safe, including the parking area. There was some city road construction around the front entrance which was easily avoided by coming into the hotel complex from the back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Hunt_phxmm, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about you stay with us here in Mesa. I'm sorry that some of your past experience have been a little disappointing within our Brand at other locations. Marriott strives to deliver a consistent experience at all of our locations.
Your comments about our staff being so accommodating and informative were great to hear. They help reinforce a culture of "spirit of serve", which is a basic philosophy of Marriott.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our oasis here in the Valley of the Sun.

Best Regards,
Donald Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontenac
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have stayed here several times. Very clean and nice! Beds very comfortable. Friendly staff. Quiet area and easy to get to. Pool is excellent and you can't beat the Az sunshine. Nice sports bar across the street. Will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Hunt_phxmm, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your experience with everyone! We are so happy you continue to return to our wonderful hotel to enjoy our comfortable accommodations and great facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a very affordable hotel. Was a little tough to navigate through all of the construction on Main St. in Mesa, but found other ways around it after the first day. Check in was a breeze and the front desk attendant Mora was AMAZING!!! She was extremely friendly and knew the area. We asked for dinner recommendations both nights and she gave us two terrific restaurants - Blue Adobe for Southwestern (about 5 min from the hotel) and Pacific Seafood Buffet (about 20 min in Chandler). Both were excellent!! Rooms were fine with coffee machine and refrigerator in the room. Ate at Cafe Azul for breakfast one morning, which was good and reasonable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Sales Assistant at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and taking time to mention Mora for her extra efforts. It’s fantastic that our staff and hotel made your stay so enjoyable. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond, we hope you can come back and we can take care of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a very clean and affordable hotel with on site pool, workout area, small laundry area and conviente Cafe. The bar in the front was only open during morning hours for the $5 grab and go, we would suggest the Cafe Azul breakfast buffet for $12. Great service in all areas, staff very friendly and the hotel was very clean. 2 minutes from baseball fields and less than 5 from HOHOKAM stadium, Walmart for snacks about 10 min away and mall about 15 min away. Yes, the neighborhood is a bit on the rough side but overall if we have another baseball tournament in Mesa this would be our pick.



Cons:

AC didn't work as well as we expected, mini fridge really mini, had a clogged drain but fixed right away and the fan in the bath room didn't have much power.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Sales Assistant at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for enjoying the resort like amenities and our superb Marriott Hospitality during your stay at the Phoenix Marriot Mesa. We love hosting Baseball teams and fans and our location is ideal for the Hohokam experience. Make sure you take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to get you around town. We hope that you always pick the Marriott Mesa when visiting the East Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for the first time. This is a jewel of a find. The hotel is so clean & the beds were so comfortable. The staff was so friendly & helpful. We will definitely stay again. The price was so good. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Sales Assistant at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us; we look forward to welcoming to you back in near future. We are an amazing jewel in the desert and we are so happy you found us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just a simple Marriott but for the price it's a great place to stay. Service from the staff was prompt and pleasant. Cafe azul as well had a pleasant staff. had breakfast there a few days and the "breakfast buffet" for sure could use a few more items but tasty none the less. Very clean hotel which is a big plus the only issue I had was some parts of the room needed some serious updating. The alarm clock/radio was literally the same one I had in 1985.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Sales Assistant at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Our restaurant staff was pleased to hear you enjoyed their remarkable service and taste breakfast buffet. We have passed your input regarding the selection on buffet along to the restaurant manager to improve our guest’s experience. We have updated many of our rooms so please request one upon your check-in at your next visit. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Marriott Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Mesa

Address: 200 North Centennial Way, Mesa, AZ 85201
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Marriott Mesa Hotel Mesa
Marriott Mesa
Mesa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Marriott Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.