We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Mesa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Marriott Mesa

Save Saved
You added Phoenix Marriott Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Centennial Way, Mesa, AZ 85201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Mesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wow I was really surprised! Honestly my expectations were low and from the look of the older hotel I was worried. This hotel was great! Nicely remodeled rooms very spacious with upgraded linens on the beds and the mattress was decent. I will stay here again! The staff was helpful and accommodating. If you are traveling to Mesa there aren't many options for nice hotels with one exception.... Mesa Marriott! Stay here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are so glad to have exceeded your expectation, which is exactly what we try to achieve with each of our guests. Thank you, and hope to see you again!

Karen Hunt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    62
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
28
34
20
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Well as the title says, if you have to stay in Mesa, Arizona this is not a bad option. I would have actually given it a 4 out of 5 but a lot of external things brought it down.

Hotel itself:
The rooms were nice and well appointed. They were very clean and looked to have been updated not long ago. The price point was good for a Marriott.

Issues:
* Although you were close to the new downtown area its not really walking distance
* When they have a concert next door at the Convention center / Amphitheater You know it.. it was loud
* The area outside two blocks any direction is BAD! Prostitution, Gangs, Drug selling. So be careful. Mesa has done a lot to improve that area, but they have a ways to go

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We appreciate every review and the feedback we get from our guests. However this comment is being researched further for the severity of the information provided. We are attempting to contact the guest to gain more information on this isolated incident as well as forwarding anything we receive to the authorities. It is and has always been our number one priority to ensure guests’ safety. We will continue to monitor the property and guest areas until then.

Mike Rock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Phoenix Marriott on business for three nights. The hotel is roughly fifteen minutes from the airport, however there is no shuttle service so you'll need your own transportation. The hotel will shuttle you or your group if it is within five miles. The lobby was over half way done during my stay but was not a disruption to any of my activities. My room was clean, functional, and the bed and pillows were excellent. I ordered room service my first night in and the food was on par with typical hotel food. If you are into fitness they have a pretty standard room with treadmills, elliptical machines, stationary bikes, dumbbells up to 50#, and a Precor cable machine corner unit with chin bar. The staff were responsive and courteous and Jennifer Clark was especially helpful before, during, and after my stay. I would stay here again in the future for business.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Wow! Thank you for reviewing our hotel! Looks like you experienced a lot while you were here. I am glad you enjoyed a few of our outlets that we provide to the guests such as the complimentary shuttle, the room service, and our 24 hour fitness center. As well, thank you for pardoning our dust while we beautified our lobby, thankfully it is nearly over as we are putting in the finishing touches. Thanks again!

Karen Hunt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Right now the Marriott is under reconstruction which makes everything very inconvenient. The temporary lobby is super tacky and parking is horrible. Was not worth $275 for 2 nights. However the Marriott rooms where nice the beds are always super comfortable. The showers though were so strong it felt like it was taking off your skin rather then just the soap. Ordered room service for hot coffee and and hot oatmeal,etc. were cold. Overall for the price was not worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that while you were here, you experienced some inconveniences with our renovations. Unfortunately there is never a good time for renovation, but it is a necessary process. We have tried in ways to compensate for the renovations by having free coffee in the temporary lobby and assisting in any other way possible. Our rooms and restaurant were undisturbed by the construction and I am glad you experienced peace in those areas. Fortunately now, the construction is complete, just arranging that last few decorative finishes. Your next visit, you can experience true Marriott quality, without construction.

Karen Hunt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my home away from home for a business trip. Everyone was more than helpful and went above and beyond the normal. Greg at the front desk gave me a great tip on a steak house The Keg. The food was excellent. Thanks Greg! All the staff was excellent and went out of the way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I did sign up for the Mariott rewards this trip. The breakfast in the on site Azul cafe was very good. The staff Scott and Rosa were always ready with a smile at 630am. Thank you one and all for making my long stay as nice as it could be.

JA
Sarasota FL

Room Tip: North side for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us and other travelers about the experience you had at our great hotel! Greg as well as our other front desk members are very welcoming and here we try to make every guests stay feel like home! Also congratulations on your new rewards membership; save enough points and you can earn a free stay, maybe a vacation in your future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We found a delightful and helpful staff. Comfy beds and lovely rooms. We spent most of our free time in the pool, gym, restaurant and the convenient Starbucks in the Lobby. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave the Phoenix Marriott Mesa a comment as nice as this! I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and the many outlets we provide! We look forward to your return to the Phoenix Marriott Mesa. Thank you again!

Karen Hunt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here back in 2006 on a whim, just to get out of the house. Up to this point, I usually stayed at Holiday Inn Express, Hampton Inn, or something similar. This place changed all of that. The location was clean and quiet. The rooms are great and the beds are SUPER comfortable. After waking up in the morning from a great nights sleep, i declared that I will only stay in Marriott hotels. I immediately signed up for Marriott Rewards and have since secured a Marriott Rewards credit card to help in my quest to only stay in Marriotts. After many stays throughout the U.S., I have never been disappointed with my stay. Thank you Phoenix Marriott Mesa for showing me how wonderful Marriott can be!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phxmmSales, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful response! It's our pleasure to make every stay at the Phoenix Marriott Mesa the most enjoyable and we are glad we were able to do that for you and your wife! As well, it is fantastic to hear you've become dedicated members of Marriott Hotels, hope to see you both back with us to rekindle the spark that started it all!

Thank you again,

Karen Hunt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phoenix Marriott Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Mesa

Address: 200 North Centennial Way, Mesa, AZ 85201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Mesa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Marriott Mesa Hotel Mesa
Marriott Mesa
Mesa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Marriott Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.