We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place and an amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saguaro Lake Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Saguaro Lake Ranch to your Saves list
Saguaro Lake Ranch
13020 Bush Highway, Mesa, AZ 85215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing place and an amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had the wonderful opportunity of staying here for one night on a retreat. It was wonderful. The scenery is majestic. The accommodations were clean and rustic and had loads of charm. The food was great. And it was not far from town. I think this is a little secret. I had no idea this was here. I would definitely go again and recommend it to others without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my one day experience at Saguaro Lake Ranch in spite of the intense July heat. The cabins are rustic but adequate. The pool was a great retreat, enhanced by a cool beer.

Next day started with a great home made breakfast served by friendly staff. The few guests were from Germany and Italy who had found this place on the Internet. They added international flavor.

Then kayaking on the Salt River, a delightful experience. It's only a class 1 but it's a lot of fun.

There are other activities when it's cooler, such as horse riding, but not during July. And during the cooler season lunches and dinners are served, but not during July. Still, it's a great break from the intense Arizona summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I had a couple of days in Mesa and wanted to do something different and chose SLR by chance and it was awesome! This is not your cookie cutter resort. The staff was incredibly friendly and took the time to shake hands, learn our names and make our stay very pleasant. We felt like we had gone back in time to the 50's and half expected to see Lucy and Ricky show up. Didn't miss TV at all. Breakfast was sensational. Kayaking the Salt River was so much fun. Cabins were cool and comfortable and we liked the old time feel. Our bathroom was kind of small and the floor had a tilt to it, but I think that added to the time warp feeling. Only drawback was the lack of mini fridge to keep our water cold. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendive
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our family reunion at Saguaro Lake Ranch was a ton of fun. We've have had one every year for 15+ years and they were the nicest and most accommodating hosts we have ever had. Will definitely go back. It's beauty and peacefulness was exactly what I was needing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

OK, so if you are expecting a luxury resort with everything new, then this is not your place. This is a special place that in a beautiful location, where the staff really cares about their guests and the grounds. After just one night, I felt I knew the staff personally.

We had a nice fire pit at night while some folks played music...won't find that in many places near Phoenix. The breakfast was sensational. But best of all, just relaxing in one of the chairs next to the river during sunset. Couldn't have been more relaxing and peaceful. Love the birds flying around.

The cottages are really nice. The Air conditioner worked great. I liked how there were no phones or TVs in the rooms. There was Internet if you absolutely needed it. Only thing I could think of to make it better would be small refrigerators in the room to keep water/drinks cold...with that said, the ice machine was easy to get to and was full.

The horse riding next door was great. Wish I could have stayed there longer. It was the last day of our long trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have JUST returned from a wonderful nights stay at the Saguaro Lake Ranch. My husband had surprised me thinking we were just going out to dinner!

So men! or women! This is a great mini retreat if your looking for something different!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My family of 4 stayed for 3 nights to end a 2 week road trip in Arizona and N. Mexico. It was so relaxing, and the surrounding area is beautiful and quiet. The cabins (ours was right by the sweet river) were basic but comfortable (there is a fridge and microwave), and totally charming, as is the main lodge room (in a hunting lodge motif), with comfy armchairs and a poker table in the corner (where we played rummy). The breakfasts were great - first morning was berry pancakes, the next banana french toast! Our experience would not have been so special if it hadn't been for the managers, John and Sean A'Lee Bevell. They were so friendly and welcoming and we really felt at home. On our last morning we all rode with our guide into the Sonora desert on lovely horses, and our sons (aged 11 and 14) really enjoyed it. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the river, as these were peaceful and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saguaro Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Lake Ranch

Address: 13020 Bush Highway, Mesa, AZ 85215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mesa
#8 Family Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Tonto National Forest along the banks of the Salt River, this historic guest ranch boasts rustic 26 cabins. An outdoor pool offers views of the Goldfield Mountain Range.Featuring traditional Western décor, each cabin comes with a private bathroom. With no TVs or phones, all cottages offer a place to kick back and relax.Guests are welcomed in the main lodge complete with a stone fireplace and wagon wheel lights. Breakfast is served in the dining room featuring a real Saguaro skeleton.Guided horseback riding is available from mid-October to early May. Kayaking and river tubing are available from April to October. Hiking and bird watching are available year round.Saguaro Lake Ranch is located 15 miles from Mesa in the Tonto National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Saguaro Lake Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Lake Ranch Hotel Mesa
Saguaro Lake Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saguaro Lake Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;