We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maximum relaxment, great staff, beautiful grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Maximum relaxment, great staff, beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

OK, so if you are expecting a luxury resort with everything new, then this is not your place. This is a special place that in a beautiful location, where the staff really cares about their guests and the grounds. After just one night, I felt I knew the staff personally.

We had a nice fire pit at night while some folks played music...won't find that in many places near Phoenix. The breakfast was sensational. But best of all, just relaxing in one of the chairs next to the river during sunset. Couldn't have been more relaxing and peaceful. Love the birds flying around.

The cottages are really nice. The Air conditioner worked great. I liked how there were no phones or TVs in the rooms. There was Internet if you absolutely needed it. Only thing I could think of to make it better would be small refrigerators in the room to keep water/drinks cold...with that said, the ice machine was easy to get to and was full.

The horse riding next door was great. Wish I could have stayed there longer. It was the last day of our long trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank right-here-i-say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have JUST returned from a wonderful nights stay at the Saguaro Lake Ranch. My husband had surprised me thinking we were just going out to dinner!

So men! or women! This is a great mini retreat if your looking for something different!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolasanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My family of 4 stayed for 3 nights to end a 2 week road trip in Arizona and N. Mexico. It was so relaxing, and the surrounding area is beautiful and quiet. The cabins (ours was right by the sweet river) were basic but comfortable (there is a fridge and microwave), and totally charming, as is the main lodge room (in a hunting lodge motif), with comfy armchairs and a poker table in the corner (where we played rummy). The breakfasts were great - first morning was berry pancakes, the next banana french toast! Our experience would not have been so special if it hadn't been for the managers, John and Sean A'Lee Bevell. They were so friendly and welcoming and we really felt at home. On our last morning we all rode with our guide into the Sonora desert on lovely horses, and our sons (aged 11 and 14) really enjoyed it. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the river, as these were peaceful and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I were taking some visiting friends to Saguaro Lake to eat lunch at the marina. I decided to turn off at the Ranch to show them the horseback riding concession. To our surprise, we realized that Saguaro Ranch had overnight accommodations. We had lived nearby for 15 years and somehow missed it. Our anniversary was in 2 weeks and we reserved a cabin for the occasion.

We love the place. It was quiet and beautiful. There was a nice seating area overlooking the Salt River and plenty of other places to sit and read or watch the birds. There were herons, ducks and lots of other varieties. Speaking of birds, my wife and I looked up from reading at one point to find we were being circled by a flock of buzzards. We decided maybe we were too relaxed.

They have a wonderful, friendly and courteous staff. The rooms were clean and well kept up. We plan to stay again sometime soon with the grandkids.

Room Tip: The cabins at the west end facing the river have a great view of the canyon at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed this resort so much in 2008, we returned again this year for the second time. Cozy cottages sit below magnificent palisades along the Salt River just below Saguaro Lake. The staff is friendly and offer a great ranch breakfast. We particularly appreciate the shuffleboard and pool table, let alone the heated pool. I am also glad NOT to have a TV in the room - it's a true getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucs0nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kineton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In Scottsdale for two weeks on business so at the weekend, hired a bike (bicycle that is) and the bike rental people recommended the ranch and gave me a great route to get there. Cycled 60 miles, and when I arrived, it was to the friendliest welcome ever. I had stopped at the Marina on Lake Saguaro for a meal on the way - and I'm glad I did as there is no access to the Lake from the Ranch.
The cabins are basic, particularly the bathroom, but very comfortable and the setting is amazing. There seemed to be plenty of people enjoying the riding and the fishing, and I just wish I'd had the time to take a kayak out.
I was travelling very light, so was glad to borrow a book from the extensive (and varied) collection available.
Breakfast was, as you would expect at a ranch, plentiful!!
It seems that nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the ranch - they all seemed really friendly and helpful. Particular thanks to Sean A'Lee for her help with the booking and to John for being a really friendly, welcoming, outstanding host
Focus on the word Ranch - don't even think hotel

Room Tip: I was in cabin 19 - the last one on the right in Palm Court. Great views of the fantastic rock forma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came for our annual siblings weekend: a chance to reconnect just the two of us without our families. This place was perfect, and we had ample opportunitiy to relax together and catch up: during hikes in the surrounding desert encountering all sorts of wildlife, a couple hours on horseback enjoying unparalleled vistas, lunching at the river while being entertained by coots diving, all while surrounded by the majesty of nature.

We experienced phenomenally friendly service from the time we made our reservations and throughout our stay.The whole place exudes rustic charm of the old west without being kitschy. The well kept grounds show off the TLC the staff put into the resort and give to their guests. Our two bed cabin room was comfortable and very clean. The beds were firm, and the furniture was well kept up. The carpets were worn, and the bathroom could use fixture upgrades, but everything was functional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
19.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
20.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
21.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Country Club
19.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa
15.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Address: 13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Tonto National Forest along the banks of the Salt River, this historic guest ranch boasts rustic 26 cabins. An outdoor pool offers views of the Goldfield Mountain Range.Featuring traditional Western décor, each cabin comes with a private bathroom. With no TVs or phones, all cottages offer a place to kick back and relax.Guests are welcomed in the main lodge complete with a stone fireplace and wagon wheel lights. Breakfast is served in the dining room featuring a real Saguaro skeleton.Guided horseback riding is available from mid-October to early May. Kayaking and river tubing are available from April to October. Hiking and bird watching are available year round.Saguaro Lake Ranch is located 15 miles from Mesa in the Tonto National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Lake Ranch Hotel Mesa
Saguaro Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing