We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed this resort so much in 2008, we returned again this year for the second time. Cozy cottages sit below magnificent palisades along the Salt River just below Saguaro Lake. The staff is friendly and offer a great ranch breakfast. We particularly appreciate the shuffleboard and pool table, let alone the heated pool. I am also glad NOT to have a TV in the room - it's a true getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kineton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In Scottsdale for two weeks on business so at the weekend, hired a bike (bicycle that is) and the bike rental people recommended the ranch and gave me a great route to get there. Cycled 60 miles, and when I arrived, it was to the friendliest welcome ever. I had stopped at the Marina on Lake Saguaro for a meal on the way - and I'm glad I did as there is no access to the Lake from the Ranch.
The cabins are basic, particularly the bathroom, but very comfortable and the setting is amazing. There seemed to be plenty of people enjoying the riding and the fishing, and I just wish I'd had the time to take a kayak out.
I was travelling very light, so was glad to borrow a book from the extensive (and varied) collection available.
Breakfast was, as you would expect at a ranch, plentiful!!
It seems that nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the ranch - they all seemed really friendly and helpful. Particular thanks to Sean A'Lee for her help with the booking and to John for being a really friendly, welcoming, outstanding host
Focus on the word Ranch - don't even think hotel

Room Tip: I was in cabin 19 - the last one on the right in Palm Court. Great views of the fantastic rock forma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came for our annual siblings weekend: a chance to reconnect just the two of us without our families. This place was perfect, and we had ample opportunitiy to relax together and catch up: during hikes in the surrounding desert encountering all sorts of wildlife, a couple hours on horseback enjoying unparalleled vistas, lunching at the river while being entertained by coots diving, all while surrounded by the majesty of nature.

We experienced phenomenally friendly service from the time we made our reservations and throughout our stay.The whole place exudes rustic charm of the old west without being kitschy. The well kept grounds show off the TLC the staff put into the resort and give to their guests. Our two bed cabin room was comfortable and very clean. The beds were firm, and the furniture was well kept up. The carpets were worn, and the bathroom could use fixture upgrades, but everything was functional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I choose to reserve here based on reviews that I saw online and I was not disappointed. My daughter and I were looking for a get-a-way for hiking and this was perfect. Everyone at the ranch was so friendly and helpful. Customer Service is priority one here. The location is beautiful and the breakfast is truly special. We had a great horseback ride and even better hiking. John and Sean Alee let us use a canoe to access even better hiking.
There was a great garden area with patio table and chairs on one side of the cabin and they even brought us down a fire pit to have morning and evening campfires.
This can be a great retreat for almost anyone and I highly recommend for anyone visiting the area! Thanks again everyone at SLR!!!!

Room Tip: All cabins seem to have a great view and the riverside ones look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Saguaro Lake Ranch was the best place we have ever stayed at! When we "get away" we want to GET AWAY!! We were only in Phoenix for a short weekend trip, just needing to get away for a couple days. This was the perfect place to go!! John, Sean A'lee and all the staff were fantastic even before we arrived. Emails and phone calls before we arrived assured me that we were going to be well taken care of. Because of our late arrival at the ranch (midnight) John gave us his cell number to make sure that we were able to contact him in case of trouble. Everywhere you go on the Ranch you are greeted by name. You don't realize what a difference that makes until you experience it! The breakfasts were amazing! Bacon, eggs, hashbrowns and homemade treats (waffles, pancakes, coffee cake) fresh fruit, oatmeal. Its a wonder that I can still fit my jeans!

The best part though is the ranch itself! Peace and tranquility! The rustic cabins were warm and inviting. I was so quiet at night. No traffic! Noone walking past your room! No hotel doors slamming! Just quiet! Sitting by the pool or on your front porch you are looking at birds and the cliffs and nature not traffic and freeways! Heaven!

I hope to make it back to Saguaro Lake Ranch for a longer visit in the near future. Its the perfect place to get away from it all!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a magical little dud ranch just outside of Scottsdale. The staff and owners are the greatest at what they do. I'm not much into the cheesy cowboy thing you get in and around Arizona, but these cowboys and cowfolks were pretty down to Earth and just 'real'. The cabins are nothing fancy (I'd love to see them fixed up just a tad), but very 'old world Arizona'. Love the sunsets here!! Truly a sight to see from here. Just magical sitting by the fire outdoors with a cold beer, cowboy beans, and a good steak in the evenings. Sometimes they even have music outdoors around the firepit at night under the star filled Arizona skies!! Love it here. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We are part of a group of families and friends who have spent the last two Thanksgivings here. The food is wonderful, the accomodations are comfortable and the setting is beautiful. There are lots of different kinds of activities for all ages. The two days we spent here just flew by. I can't wait until next Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
20.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
21.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
21.4 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
22.3 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
19.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Address: 13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Tonto National Forest along the banks of the Salt River, this historic guest ranch boasts rustic 26 cabins. An outdoor pool offers views of the Goldfield Mountain Range.Featuring traditional Western décor, each cabin comes with a private bathroom. With no TVs or phones, all cottages offer a place to kick back and relax.Guests are welcomed in the main lodge complete with a stone fireplace and wagon wheel lights. Breakfast is served in the dining room featuring a real Saguaro skeleton.Guided horseback riding is available from mid-October to early May. Kayaking and river tubing are available from April to October. Hiking and bird watching are available year round.Saguaro Lake Ranch is located 15 miles from Mesa in the Tonto National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Lake Ranch Hotel Mesa
Saguaro Lake Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.