We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our away from home getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Windemere Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5750 East Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our away from home getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have family in Mesa Az. and at least 5 plus visits a year we enjoy the staff and grounds of this hotel. This is a great place to enjoy family get togethers at there pool including a grill pool side and beautiful courtyards surrounding the entire property. Rooms are good size and staff is great I would recommend staying here for a great relaxing acommadation.

Room Tip: Pool is open 24hrs which is great but if you want quiteness ask to stay away from pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Its review's like yours that help us exceed in customer satisfaction. We hope to see you as a regular guest whenever you are in AZ,

We love having you at our hotel! and are honored to be your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    17
    15
    39
See reviews for
38
17
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for a wedding at the property, but it was hard to believe they rented a room like that - both arms of the chair were torn showing the stuffing, the door chain lock was coming out of the wall and the wood behind it was coming off the frame, paint had been spilled on the bathroom floor and not cleaned off, the top of the desk was discolored apparently from a previous spillage, paint chipped off the wall, and a couple other cleaning and maintenance issues. I brought this up to the front desk and got some adjustment to our bill, but we have never stayed in a room we thought was that bad. It was hard to believe. When looking at other reviews on this site I see pictures from a year and 1/2 ago that show some of these same problems, the paint spilled on the bathroom floor, the torn chair arms, and the sad thing is they apparently have not addressed those problems reported then but have allowed them to get worse. The lack of concern for maintaining the property, at least based on our observation, is troubling.

Room Tip: Good luck with that. Our experience was this was the worst room we have ever stayed in. But they sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations and not providing a positive experience. There are no excuses for not being able to provide you a positive stay.

We will be sure to correct these issues asap and we hope that you give us one more try.

Thank you for your candid review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First of all - I've stayed here many times over the last 10 years, and enjoyed it. For the price - it rates with all the other "traveler" motels you see along the Interstates. - Which is "basic" with a clean room and a place to shower. Their pool is really nice and I didn't mind the free breakfast area.
The problem is that the place hasn't updated the establishment in all the years I've been staying there, and is really starting to show age. Patchwork repairs, old, shabby carpets and appliances are everywhere you look.
At one point, the establishment was for sale, so maybe the money just isn't there to modernize or make permanent repairs.
It's probably still worth the price, and the beds are comfortable, but it is a shame to see this place going downhill.

Room Tip: If your with kids - try for a room by the outdoor, heated pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations and not providing a positive experience. There are no excuses for not being able to provide you a positive stay.

We are working on updating our property very soon. We always work hard to keep the property in shape and we hope to get your new review when our property is renovated!.

Thank you so much again for recognizing the positive points such as our pool, Service, breakfast and more!

Thank you for your candid review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Windemere mainly because we were there for a family wedding, so of course, the fun and excitement of seeing everyone outweighed our concerns about the property. I have to say that the courtyard where my cousin got married was a beautiful setting, and Mesa, AZ, cooperated with a perfect spring evening. Truthfully, the entire wedding experience from the guest point of view was excellent. The event staff was professional and attentive, from the waiters to the planner, to the guy slicing the prime rib. I would give THAT part of our experience four or even five stars.

The room itself was tired and worn, but looked over a nicely maintained grassy area. There were some loud, stupid trashy guests in the rooms near ours having water balloon fights and left their mess all over our outdoor seating area because we had the little faucet outside our room. Also some late night loud talking outside our door.

The breakfast was truly awful, not enough seating, plus they ask that guests do not bring food back to the rooms, so people are standing around waiting for tables to clear. They should just have coffee and danishes with a big bowl of fruit if they can't keep up with the volume.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for complimenting our staff and service!. We are honored to be your hotel of choice by your family for holding such a important event. We highly appreciate your concerns about the room conditions are we are working on updating our rooms.

Regarding the noise issue, We try our best to let guests know to keep noise under control but sometimes it is hard to get some guests to listen , But we truly try our best. Once again we are very sorry about this issue.

Thank you for your candid review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

So disappointed in this hotel. Found what I thought was a great deal for 4 adults. They advertise a deluxe breakfast buffet on the internet travel sites. That was a joke! If all you want is carbs they got it. Pastries, 2 cereals, biscuits and gravy (apparently this is what makes it deluxe) and something that looked like waffles. I booked a non- smoking room and got a smoking room. Had to go back to the office and switch rooms. They set us up in a non-smoking room and that room was occupied. I had to return to the front desk and by this time I was annoyed. Finally the clerk put us in a room but a poor one at that. Needs major updating. Plastic lawn chairs on the balcony, not sure you would want to even sit on one. An old dinosaur of a TV and the picture was lousy.
2 pluses = the bathroom was clean, the floor was clean and the breakfast attendant was pleasant. Thank goodness it was for one night. But NEVER again!! They are not a resort. By the way they say they have a fitness facility, no they don't. You can show your room key to a facility that's about 5-7mins down the road. REALLY?!! Don't book it. Not worth your money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations and not providing a positive experience. There are no excuses for not being able to provide you a positive stay.

We will be sure to correct these issues asap and we hope that you give us one more try.

Thank you for your candid review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

No. Just no. $95 for a funny smelling delapidated room with cinder block walls. We were in a pinch after a week of camping and flying out of Phoenix. Two stars for at least having a hot tub. Fine for a last minute stay, but wouldn't
Recommend it you are planning to spend substantial time there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations and not providing a positive experience. There are no excuses for not being able to provide you a positive stay.

We will be sure to correct these issues asap and we hope that you give us one more try.

Thank you for your candid review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is located for easy access if in Mesa. The rooms are large with microwave and refrigerator which is great. However, the rooms smell; the beds are old and comforters and curtains need replacing. They charged us $130 and that night we found on THEIR website the same room for $71. The person at the desk said we needed to speak with the manager to get a refund but it was a Friday night and they weren't available.
Breakfast was included but was all carbs...no fruit or yogurt.
There was a lot of dogs in cages on the lawns by the pool......apparently a dog show.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor for honest comments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamyBelcher, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff at Windemere Hotel & Conference Center, I greatly apologize for your unpleasant stay with us. Our guests comfort and quality are our first priority, and we failed to deliver that to you. Our goal is to make sure your experience at the Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is full of great customer service and clean rooms! Our property guarantees best available rates on our website and we do our best to stay competitive with our prices.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is committed to clean rooms and great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windemere Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 5750 East Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85205
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windemere Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Windemere Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windemere Hotel Mesa
Windemere Motel Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.