We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no, no, no, drive on!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Windemere Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5750 East Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“no, no, no, drive on!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

So disappointed in this hotel. Found what I thought was a great deal for 4 adults. They advertise a deluxe breakfast buffet on the internet travel sites. That was a joke! If all you want is carbs they got it. Pastries, 2 cereals, biscuits and gravy (apparently this is what makes it deluxe) and something that looked like waffles. I booked a non- smoking room and got a smoking room. Had to go back to the office and switch rooms. They set us up in a non-smoking room and that room was occupied. I had to return to the front desk and by this time I was annoyed. Finally the clerk put us in a room but a poor one at that. Needs major updating. Plastic lawn chairs on the balcony, not sure you would want to even sit on one. An old dinosaur of a TV and the picture was lousy.
2 pluses = the bathroom was clean, the floor was clean and the breakfast attendant was pleasant. Thank goodness it was for one night. But NEVER again!! They are not a resort. By the way they say they have a fitness facility, no they don't. You can show your room key to a facility that's about 5-7mins down the road. REALLY?!! Don't book it. Not worth your money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations and not providing a positive experience. There are no excuses for not being able to provide you a positive stay.

We will be sure to correct these issues asap and we hope that you give us one more try.

Thank you for your candid review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    17
    15
    39
See reviews for
38
17
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

No. Just no. $95 for a funny smelling delapidated room with cinder block walls. We were in a pinch after a week of camping and flying out of Phoenix. Two stars for at least having a hot tub. Fine for a last minute stay, but wouldn't
Recommend it you are planning to spend substantial time there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations and not providing a positive experience. There are no excuses for not being able to provide you a positive stay.

We will be sure to correct these issues asap and we hope that you give us one more try.

Thank you for your candid review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is located for easy access if in Mesa. The rooms are large with microwave and refrigerator which is great. However, the rooms smell; the beds are old and comforters and curtains need replacing. They charged us $130 and that night we found on THEIR website the same room for $71. The person at the desk said we needed to speak with the manager to get a refund but it was a Friday night and they weren't available.
Breakfast was included but was all carbs...no fruit or yogurt.
There was a lot of dogs in cages on the lawns by the pool......apparently a dog show.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor for honest comments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamyBelcher, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff at Windemere Hotel & Conference Center, I greatly apologize for your unpleasant stay with us. Our guests comfort and quality are our first priority, and we failed to deliver that to you. Our goal is to make sure your experience at the Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is full of great customer service and clean rooms! Our property guarantees best available rates on our website and we do our best to stay competitive with our prices.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is committed to clean rooms and great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have to say I was shocked by the poor state of the room. Terrible odor and one bed appeared to have used sheets on it. I kept tipping the staff because I didn't want the room to get worse. Front counter staff was overworked but courteous. The location is convenient. WiFi and TV worked. The reviews of the Days Inn across the street aren't much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamyBelcher, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Our guests comfort and quality are our first priority, and if we failed to deliver that to you our team apologizes. Our goal is to make sure your experience at the Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is full of great customer service and clean rooms!
Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is committed to clean rooms and great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow, this place is horrible. Several families from our group checked into the hotel on the same day and all of us were shocked to pay $127 for a hotel that was worth maybe $20. The rooms all stunk, the beds were old and so was the furniture. We will never go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamyBelcher, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Our guests comfort and quality are our first priority, and if we failed to deliver that to you our team apologizes. Our goal is to make sure your experience at the Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is full of great customer service and clean rooms!
Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Windemere Hotel & Conference Center is committed to clean rooms and great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is completely outdated. They put me in a back section that looked out to a rundown area. The rooms surrounding me were "very active" into the early morning hours....if you know what I mean. The walls were paper thin. Honestly, I did NOT feel safe. There was food left in the refrigerator.
I can't say that it wasn't surface clean....but it was dingy from being old. This was a SCARY and big mistake on my part. I left in the early morning hours. The staff was courteous and did not charge me. Will NOT go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all I would like to take the time to apologize for all the issues you had at our property, Our goal is to have all of our customers to be as satisfied as possible , we are sorry you had to face this situation at our property,

Since you were unhappy with your stay our staff refunded your room stay and rectified the situation which is our way of showing that we do care about our guests.

Once again we are really sorry about this.

Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windemere Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 5750 East Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85205
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windemere Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Windemere Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windemere Hotel Mesa
Windemere Motel Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;