We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug infested, bad area of town, road construction” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix to your Saves list
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
edmonton
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bug infested, bad area of town, road construction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel seemed nice in its appearance and room size, and rates, but when I checked in for the week I discovered the road outside was under construction and down to one lane each direction, the area of town it's in is very seedy and nothing close by to walk through, the room I killed two cockroaches, one I stepped on the other I took to the front desk and complained with no satisfaction received. The room maintenance was poor and if our not out of our room early morning you might not get your room made up or fresh towels as happened to me more,than once.
I was travelling alone so I was away a lot from the room, the very sparse continental breakfast closes promptly at 930 with very limited choices and nothing very healthy. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
clarion inn mesa
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    66
    25
    7
    19
See reviews for
53
71
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just stayed here with my boyfriend this past weekend. We really liked the hotel, the rooms were nice and customer service was good. We had a non smoking room and being that it was a non smoking room we didn't smoke in there. They have you sign something that states you will pay 50 dollars if you do, which is normal. I've stayed at many, many hotels and I understand this completely. Well apparently that means actually having whatever you smoke IN the room. Doesn't matter if you smoked in there or not. So on Tuesday the next week I found out they had taken the 50 dollars out of my account, which also happened to put my account in the negative. I wasn't aware of the charge, so from my bank I got charged 35 dollars. Now I'm out 85 dollars because of this. But it's a he said she said [--] and they're not going to refund anything. We were going to stay here again next year, but forget that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
clarion inn mesa
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroad
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The bed was comfortable, the wi-fi was good, nice selection for breakfast. All staff was nice and capable. Property and room was clean. Hallways were an outdated gold color, and not to be mean, but smelled bad due to the cooking in the rooms (need more ventilation to the outside or something shoved under the doors to keep it out of the hallways). Once in the room I could not smell it anymore. Price can not be beat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were traveling and arrived at the hotel late and only stayed for a few hours. It was very quiet. The lobby was nice. It was a little confusing on finding our room. Areas of the parking lot were blocked off because of construction. The room was nice. The only thing I noticed wrong was there was a container of food in the fridge that was there when we checked in, but everything else seemed clean. The beds were nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pleasantly surprised to find such a nice room for the price! Perhaps the road construction is hurting business and that is why prices were so low. Enjoyed a very nicely appointed room with comfy king bed, relatively large bathroom, and very well-maintained. Breakfast was very minimal pastry and cereal and lobby and breakfast area were clean but sparsely furnished in contrast to the nicely furnished room. Pool looked very clean too. Staff were polite but not especially friendly.

Room Tip: King room facing the pool was very nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have stayed here several times over the last 3 years. It is not located in the best of areas but the property it self is very clean inside out. I did not get any "curry smell" as someone else here has stated. We checked in at 4 pm, it was 110 deg F outside and the a/c in the corridors were going full blast keeping the place cool. The room, the bed, sheets, bathroom,towels, etc were spotless clean and would compare with any Marriott! I would stay here again without hesitation as the room is worth much more than what they charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you sir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Older hotel in Mesa but remodeled. Room was clean and comfortable, no issues. The hotel had the overwhelming smell of curry throughout!!!!

Older tube TV in room, had free wifi but I didnt use it.
Free breakfast in the am, typical carbs and waffles.

Hotel is not in the best area of town, but we didnt have any issues, very quiet and about 2 miles from the freeway.

If I needed an inexpensive quiet room just to sleep I would stay there again. Worth the price.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix

Address: 951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mesa AZ hotel, Clarion Inn hotel near Hohokam StadiumJust north of Chandler and Gilbert, the Clarion Inn® hotel is minutes from a number of popular Arizona attractions. The Mesa Arizona Temple (LDS Temple) and the Mesa Convention Center are just minutes from this Mesa, AZ hotel. Hohokam Stadium, the Spring Training home of the Chicago Cubs, is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix Hotel Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.