We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room interior was very comfortable, great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
ontheroad
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Room interior was very comfortable, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The bed was comfortable, the wi-fi was good, nice selection for breakfast. All staff was nice and capable. Property and room was clean. Hallways were an outdated gold color, and not to be mean, but smelled bad due to the cooking in the rooms (need more ventilation to the outside or something shoved under the doors to keep it out of the hallways). Once in the room I could not smell it anymore. Price can not be beat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    23
    6
    19
See reviews for
52
70
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were traveling and arrived at the hotel late and only stayed for a few hours. It was very quiet. The lobby was nice. It was a little confusing on finding our room. Areas of the parking lot were blocked off because of construction. The room was nice. The only thing I noticed wrong was there was a container of food in the fridge that was there when we checked in, but everything else seemed clean. The beds were nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pleasantly surprised to find such a nice room for the price! Perhaps the road construction is hurting business and that is why prices were so low. Enjoyed a very nicely appointed room with comfy king bed, relatively large bathroom, and very well-maintained. Breakfast was very minimal pastry and cereal and lobby and breakfast area were clean but sparsely furnished in contrast to the nicely furnished room. Pool looked very clean too. Staff were polite but not especially friendly.

Room Tip: King room facing the pool was very nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have stayed here several times over the last 3 years. It is not located in the best of areas but the property it self is very clean inside out. I did not get any "curry smell" as someone else here has stated. We checked in at 4 pm, it was 110 deg F outside and the a/c in the corridors were going full blast keeping the place cool. The room, the bed, sheets, bathroom,towels, etc were spotless clean and would compare with any Marriott! I would stay here again without hesitation as the room is worth much more than what they charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you sir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Older hotel in Mesa but remodeled. Room was clean and comfortable, no issues. The hotel had the overwhelming smell of curry throughout!!!!

Older tube TV in room, had free wifi but I didnt use it.
Free breakfast in the am, typical carbs and waffles.

Hotel is not in the best area of town, but we didnt have any issues, very quiet and about 2 miles from the freeway.

If I needed an inexpensive quiet room just to sleep I would stay there again. Worth the price.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This property was very, very clean. The rooms are nice. The pools were nice. The rate I got off of Expedia was a good one for Mesa. Has a continental breakfast-didnt eat though, and free wifi. The hot tub was large, clean and hot. They accomodated my late check in. These are the positives.

The negitives. Its not in the greatest part of town. Not horrible, dont get me wrong. Cramped though. At check in I was weirded out that the clerk, copied both my id and credit card without so much as a comment about why he was doing such. The other big complaint I have is checking into a hotel in Arizona where the hotel has turned off air conditioning for a significant amount of time. This room was blazing hot and it took HOURS for it to cool down. Just not acceptable for Phoenix and makes the stay uncomfortable. Halls also smell strongly of curry. I agree. Not pleasant. I wound not go back for these reasons. They were big enough reasons to outweigh the great price.

Room Tip: I would call ahead and ask that your rooms air conditioning be turned on prior to your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at .480-833-1231


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently stayed in room 121 from April 30th to May 7th.
First the positives, nice outdoor pool, good size rooms, reasonable rates

Negatives: room dirty, not vacuum or cleaned regularly, I killed two cockroaches in the room, one I took to the font desk, halls smell of curry cooking. The first two days room was not cleaned or bed made. Communication issue with housekeeping don't speak English.
The area around hotel is very sketchy with thing close by.
Main Street is under construction so traffic restricted and very unappealing.
The continental very basic and closes at 9am sharp, not much there

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarioninnmesaphoeni, Webmaster at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken, We are thankful for mentioning all the positive sides which you observed during your stay.

The entire issue related to the cleanliness and other hygiene related problem in the room has been investigated. Appropriate steps have been taken and this will never happen again.

The housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness in their work for us.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix

Address: 951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mesa AZ hotel, Clarion Inn hotel near Hohokam StadiumJust north of Chandler and Gilbert, the Clarion Inn® hotel is minutes from a number of popular Arizona attractions. The Mesa Arizona Temple (LDS Temple) and the Mesa Convention Center are just minutes from this Mesa, AZ hotel. Hohokam Stadium, the Spring Training home of the Chicago Cubs, is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix Hotel Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;