We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Westwood, Mesa, AZ 85210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed for three nights for a wedding in town. We stayed on the ground floor, right next to a door leading to the parking lot and it was still super quiet! I loved being able to walk out to the pool and hot tub. Having the Starbucks inside was a big plus. We found it to be clean and the staff always went above and beyond!

Room Tip: Ground floor so you can easily walk to the pool and hot tub and coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Amy
We are thrilled to hear that you loved your stay with us! Our amazing Arizona weather and outdoor pool and hot tub make for a great combination for our guests visiting us from the north at this time of year. Since our bistro opened in January with the addition of Starbucks it has proven to be very popular, we are glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and acknowledge our great team of associates. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    52
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
32
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed three night for business and was very happy. The room was clean and not dated. The lobby was nice with a small lounge and café. Good breakfast and lunch choices, but not a very good dinner selection. The gym was a little small with only two treadmills, but both worked and there was a good selection of free weights. Plenty of restaurants nearby and good access to the highway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Cuda2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent business trip. Our hotel was recently renovated in January 2013, thank you for noticing! The Bistro is a great spot for both business travelers and leisure guests to grab a bite to eat to start the day or relax with a beverage in the evening. As you noted, our convenient location allows guests easy highway access and options for local restaurants. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Mesa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel before taking a flight out of Phoenix Skyharbor airport the next day.

I liked the location in that it was near Hwy 60 for access yet removed from the chaos and noise affiliated with being near a busy highway and its entrance and exit ramps.

Staff was very professional and friendly. Room was comfortable with nice furnishing and decor.

Our reservation included a full breakfast which was excellent with pleasant service staff.

Our weekend rate for all this was more than reasonable.

Hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport and easy to get to after morning rush hour traffic.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was brief. Our quiet easy highway access location does make us a great choice for those enroute to the airport. Weekend travelers will find a selection of rates available, some including breakfast as you chose for your stay. Breakfast in The Bistro is a great way to start the day! Thank you for staying with us, I hope to see you on your next visit to the Mesa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We are avid Marriott fans. Generally it is the first chain we seek when traveling. This Courtyard was a disappointment compared to other Marriott's we've stayed at. It had been a while since we stayed in a "Courtyard" brand and I expected much more from this. As usual, the grounds were very nice and kept up but the room was small and had very few amenities.

Pros: As usual the grounds were well maintained and everything in the room was up to date, fresh, and in good shape. There was a small balcony outside each room that you could stand in and get fresh air. The beds, as usual, very comfortable. The staff was very good and helpful.

Cons: Room was particularly small. No microwave and only a single cup coffee maker (I drink coffee all day so for me, this was not good). No breakfast or coffee service in the Lobby. They now have a bistro that you could buy all your meals and drinks from which meant they removed any other coffee service. Small bathrooms with no real room for two people.

I know Marriott's now has different service levels but we will not be staying in a "Courtyard" again. There are others in the Marriott chain that are far superior and about the same price. I remembered "Courtyard" being a good brand but apparently that has changed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Chris: Thank you for being a loyal Marriott traveler. I am sorry to hear that Courtyard is not the right brand for you and am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for acknowledging our helpful associates, they strive every day to ensure that our guests have a great experience. Courtyard has now partnered with Starbucks, which is available all day in The Bistro especially for our coffee loving guests. While this is convenient for most of our guests, I am sorry that it was not what you were looking for. I hope that you will continue to stay with Marriott, I would be happy to help you find the right brand that fits your needs. Do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance.

Patricia Gaukel
General Manager
480-461-3000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff at the Courtyard are an amazing group of people. Each one lends a helping hand and makes you feel as if you are a member of their family. Miss Ellen is a wonderful lady that never forgets your name or what you like to eat and will always greet you with a smile and a hug. The rooms are very clean and everything is within reach, no matter if your in the bed or on the couch, and the little patio outside of your room is a wonderful thing to have. The pool and hot tub are very well maintained as well as the courtyard to hang out with your friends and or family. The overall look is welcoming, warm and the people no matter what time of the day or night are very pleasant and welcoming. I would stay here again when my next trip returns me to the Mesa area.

Room Tip: Any room would be a great place to stay, but if you are the type that likes to look out over the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Michelle we are delighted that you have taken the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit with us. Miss Ellen is a gem that we treasure, and we appreciate how much our guests enjoy her service. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Only negative I had was the elevator being down 2x out of my 4 night stay. Overall though not a bad place. Beds very comfortable. Staff was very courteous, place was clean, good location, can't complain.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Mesa. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the elevators and appreciate your positive feedback on the cleanliness of the hotel along with our good location and wonderful staff. We strive very hard to meet the expectations of our guests and I regret that we were not able to deliver on the complete experience this time. I hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Mesa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We flew into Phoenix and after a 4 hour flight, we found this hotel to be very nice. We have used Courtyard Marriott before and this one is meeting the great standards of that brand. We opted to stay in for a light dinner and ate at the hotel's bistro in the lobby area - the food was very good and the service was excellent! We found the staff at this hotel to be very friendly. Our room was spacious, clean, and nicely furnished. When we return to Mesa in the future, we plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal Courtyard traveler! I am happy to hear that our hotel met your expectations of the brand and that you will return to stay with us again. The Bistro has been a great addition for our guests and offers the opportunity for light meals and beverages. I'm glad that you enjoyed both good food and excellent service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa

Address: 1221 South Westwood, Mesa, AZ 85210
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Mesa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
#9 Family Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa Hotel is conveniently located just minutes from the Phoenix airport, Mesa Convention Center and Chicago Cubs Spring Training and offers a new, state-of-the-art lobby that is sure to impress even the most experienced traveler. Guests of our Mesa hotel will appreciate flexible lobby spaces, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® which provides guests with healthy food and drink offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. While staying at our Mesa hotel, you can savor your favorite cocktail at our new outdoor experience, enjoy the refreshing outdoor pool, whirlpool, work out at our 24-hour fitness center or visit The Market, open 24/7. For small events, choose from 2 newly-renovated meeting rooms totaling 1,274 square feet. Our Courtyard Mesa Hotel makes it easier to get things accomplished on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix Mesa Hotel Mesa
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
Courtyard Mesa
Mesa Marriott
Mesa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.