We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast could be healthier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Westwood, Mesa, AZ 85210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Bladel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast could be healthier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

No buffet breakfast and it could be better. To much unhealthy heavy stuff so I ate cerials for 2 days with banana and milk. Convenient to have shopping mall nearby. For the rest no complaints about the stay. Nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCYMesa, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the breakfast options on our menu. We strive to provide a wide variety of selections to satisfy all preferences from smoothies, to oatmeal, to full hot breakfast options. In the future, if there is something you prefer, please let us know and we will do our best to fulfill your request. We just completed a total hotel renovation in January, so I am happy to hear your enjoyed the atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
23
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Show Low, AZ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of Marriott courtyards. It must be extremely difficult to maintain a certain level of expectation for each and every courtyard across the world. However, Marriott pulls it off. That's not to say they are exquisite, certainly not, but comfortable and at least somewhat upscale. This was another good courtyard.

The only downside to this was that it was not in a very bustling area. In fact, the whole area surrounding it seems like it saw it's heyday in the 1980's and is now in the downward swing. The pool was great, the staff was great, the morning breakfast was great, the beds were comfortable, just like you would expect at any courtyard. Getting a great deal on priceline also helped. Two queen beds were great since we had kids with us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff at this location is wonderful. Very helpful with directions & restaurants around the hotel. I would definitely refer this hotel. Nice lobby too...Very easy to get to from the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating as they take a personal interest in the comfort and care of our guests! We’re happy you mentioned the Lobby, as The centerpiece of the new strategy is a redefinition of the lobby space. Driven by guest needs, the Courtyard lobby fuses functionality, aesthetics, technology, and the right mix of service to offer guests greater control of their environment. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As usual the newly renovated courtyards are a great place to stay, this was no exception. Centrally located to all freeways and shopping centers this was a great place to use as a home base for Spring Training baseball and Golf.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your great compliments about our new product! Courtyard by Marriott completely redefined the hotel experience to provide you with more options and choices when you travel! We can’t wait to see you next spring when the Cubs move to their new Spring Training facility!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and was pleasantly surprised. It was kind of out of the way from everything, but it was a nice quiet and relaxing stay.

Check in went quickly even though I requested an early check in. There was no waiting for my room to be ready, everything was taken care of. My sleep was so good at this hotel that I overslept for breakfast both nights that I was there!

The internet in the rooms is free, but it was only "okay." Netflix was a little choppy to stream, but it was not too much of a problem. Using remote desktop was slow though. But it was free...

The little restaurant in the lobby was quaint, and the prices were a little high, but there isn't really a lot of dining options near the hotel, so it was fine.

The rooms were very quiet. I had a little balcony that overlooked a parking lot and an empty field. I assume the interior rooms have a view of the hotel's courtyard and pool. I am not sure if those rooms would be noisy or not, but the exterior room I had was super quiet. Nothing kept me awake, it was wonderful.

Although a little out of the way, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here while in town to do the Lost Dutchman marathon. The rooms are comfortable with a balcony - our balcony just looked out over a large vacant area, but the mountains were in the background and it was a nice view. The room was spacious and there was a small refrigerator. The Paul Mitchell shampoo/conditioner was nice, but very small and not enough for 2 people - may be a good idea to leave 2 in the room vs just 1. The staff was very nice (although they did check us out 1 day early by mistake, but the mistake was quickly fixed). WiFi was free, which was nice. Parking free as well. All in all, it was a nice stay in a nice location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Springs, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The beds are outstanding. There is late noise from people at the pool until mignight. The only negative was the Bistro. Unlike other Courtyards we have stay at the breakfast service was very slow takeing up to 1 hour to get a breakfast requiring kitchen service. The food was good.

Room Tip: Any as long as they are not by the pool. Some AC noise we have never heard before in at a Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa

Address: 1221 South Westwood, Mesa, AZ 85210
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mesa
#9 Business Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa Hotel is conveniently located just minutes from the Phoenix airport, Mesa Convention Center and Chicago Cubs Spring Training and offers a new, state-of-the-art lobby that is sure to impress even the most experienced traveler. Guests of our Mesa hotel will appreciate flexible lobby spaces, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® which provides guests with healthy food and drink offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. While staying at our Mesa hotel, you can savor your favorite cocktail at our new outdoor experience, enjoy the refreshing outdoor pool, whirlpool, work out at our 24-hour fitness center or visit The Market, open 24/7. For small events, choose from 2 newly-renovated meeting rooms totaling 1,274 square feet. Our Courtyard Mesa Hotel makes it easier to get things accomplished on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix Mesa Hotel Mesa
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
Courtyard Mesa
Mesa Courtyard
Mesa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.