We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovation but still great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Westwood, Mesa, AZ 85210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Under renovation but still great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although the hotel was/is under renovation until January and the front lobby was non-existent (moved to the back of the hotel), the hotel staff did a fabulous job in helping guests find their way around, and maintained all services like breakfast and the business center. If staying there, make sure to ask for one of the newly renovated rooms, as mine was fabulous and very clean. My understanding was that one side of the building’s rooms were renovated, the other side was not.
The pool and hot tub were very clean and well maintained, and the breakfast selection was worth the extra few bucks. There is no on-site restaurant, so getting food in the area requires a few minute walk or one minute drive.
The one thing that the hotel should offer is a free shuttle to and from the airport. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Our team is especially happy that even during the stressful time of renovation, we were able to provide you with the services you expect from a Marriott! At this time all of our rooms are complete and the lobby and Bistro are newly opened showcasing Starbucks Coffee creations and delicious food selections all day and evening! While our neighborhood does included great restaurants you can walk to (or take advantage of our complimentary shuttle), for those times when you are just too tired to go out, you will find great food and beverages right here for you to enjoy in the new lobby with comfortable seating or in the quiet of your guest room. We have taste-tested every dish and know we have something for everyone’s palate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
22
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My department held a conference at the neighboring Hilton hotel. At the last moment, we needed to scramble to secure a handful of extra rooms. The Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa was absolutely fantastic in helping us out. Their staff was patient and helpful every step of the way. The rooms were clean. The location was exactly what we needed for our conference. There were several changes that needed to be made on the fly, and the Courtyard handled all of them without frustration. I HIGHLY recommend this place if you're in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
As part of the community of hotels in Mesa, it is our pleasure to assist with rooms when additional rooms are needed for a group. We pride ourselves on being helpful to all of our guests, especially ones who have been displaced from the hosting hotel for a group.
Please know that our hotel has been transformed with the new Courtyard rooms and lobby including a Bistro serving delicious food all day and evening! In addition we proudly serve Starbucks coffee creations!
Thank you for letting us know thru Trip Advisor that our staff can rise to the occasion as your plans changed. We love making our guests happy and look forward to return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We will be staying in the area every Friday for awhile and this is a wonderful hotel. So clean and up to date! They have a wonderful breakfast buffet! Pool and Spa so clean. Keeley at the front desk was amazing. Answered all our questions and even left a message for us making sure we were satisfied! Gave us great directions for a good dinner (we went to Mimi's) around the corner. So close to Fiesta Mall it was a plus. We will be back next Friday!
Thanks again for the kind treatment!

Room Tip: Newly remodeled rooms! Lots of treats available in the huge lobby. Lots of stores and restaurants ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and let others know what you have experienced when here. As you know we renovated our entire hotel – from the rooms to the lobby and the pool area. Now we offer so much more for you and our other guests! Of course we are proud of Keeley and her ability to take a personal interest in your questions and your overall stay. Our team is committed to creating the Marriott experience you have come to expect around the world.

As of January, our Bistro is open and serves wonderful food items all day and evening. Along with that is our beverage selection including wine, beer and cocktails, plus Starbucks Coffee drinks. We proudly offer an option for your food and beverage choices. Of course we have many lovely restaurants in the neighborhood and Fiesta Mall is within walking distance, yet for the times when staying at the hotel is simply more convenient, you will find excellent choices of meals and drinks! Let us know what you think of our new Bistro!

Our housekeeping and engineering departments have continued to maintain a spotless hotel throughout the redo and we are pleased you recognize that. We look forward to your return to the hotel to see first-hand our new look and feel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Passing through we stayed a night. The rooms were nice, no free breakfast, staff was very professional. Very moderately priced. I would gladly return for another visit. You cannot go wrong with hotels by Marriott Corporation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Michael X,

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We’re so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be so professional. We think our rooms are pretty nice as well. This December they’ll have a whole new look to them. We will also launch our Bistro, which will provide more choices for breakfast and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Propoerty was clean, pool was clear and the two times we called the front desk our request were answered within minutes. I would stay here again with it easy access to everything in the area with highway 60, the 101 and the 202 within minutes. No resturant on site but plenty to eat nearby.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool, they have nice balconies and I wish someone would have told me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for providing such great information about our hotel. I am pleased you discovered it to be well maintained and the staff to be very responsive. Indeed our location is very fitting as it is within easy access to the 60, the 101 and the 202 that lead to many of Mesa and the Greater Phoenix area attractions; such as, the Phoenix Zoo and Tortilla Flatts. Our current restaurant on property serves breakfast; however, we will be unveiling our reinvented lobby this December, featuring the Bistro. The Bistro, where you can sit and enjoy a full meal, or grab something light to go, will provide Starbucks coffee, dinner options and spirits. Thank you for the great advice about informing guests of rooming options! I will follow up with my associates and be sure to review this for future travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We did not spend much time at this facility over the 3 nights we were here, but it did serve its purpose.The rooms were ok, no free breakfast, free wi fi, and a very nice pool-spa area. The workout room was very up to date with newer equipment. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are several other hotels in this area, but we would come back because of the overall costs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
DCSteve56,

Thank you for such a great response! I am delighted to hear you found the staff to be friendly, as we pride ourselves on being the leading hotel for customer service in Mesa. As you mentioned, we do provide complimentary high-speed internet access and I’m pleased to tell you that by December, we will have a brand new dining concept with more choices for breakfast and dinner, as well as, brand new rooms! We like our pool too, so we thought we’d modernize the pool furniture to help keep you more relaxed while you relax. We will be so excited to welcome you back to the Mesa Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Well situated away from the tourist areas though close enough to access all of them easily too. Close proximity to SR60 so within a few minutes you can be on the highway. The hotel has a nice courtyard area and the pool is kept clean and landscaping is pleasant. A lot of families will use this hotel on the weekends too.

Locally there is a shopping mall (Fiesta)and restaurants too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPHXME, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for such a great appraisal of our property. We, as well, like our great location with easy access to SR60 and the 101 that can take you to local attractions; such as, the Musical Instrument Museum or the Botanical Gardens. We enjoy our Courtyard area, too, so we will just be adding a bit more comfort seating to enjoy the beautiful weather in Arizona. There’s many new restaurants that are due to open around the hotel later this year, as well as, our new Bistro coming this December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa

Address: 1221 South Westwood, Mesa, AZ 85210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa Hotel is conveniently located just minutes from the Phoenix airport, Mesa Convention Center and Chicago Cubs Spring Training and offers a new, state-of-the-art lobby that is sure to impress even the most experienced traveler. Guests of our Mesa hotel will appreciate flexible lobby spaces, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® which provides guests with healthy food and drink offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. While staying at our Mesa hotel, you can savor your favorite cocktail at our new outdoor experience, enjoy the refreshing outdoor pool, whirlpool, work out at our 24-hour fitness center or visit The Market, open 24/7. For small events, choose from 2 newly-renovated meeting rooms totaling 1,274 square feet. Our Courtyard Mesa Hotel makes it easier to get things accomplished on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix Mesa Hotel Mesa
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
Courtyard Mesa
Mesa Courtyard
Mesa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.