We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn
1342 South Power Road, Mesa, AZ 85206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Alberta
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We where at this hotel for two nights.. Front desk gal was very friendly. ( didn't get her name) But she was great..but should know where all the eating places are that are close. Over all great stay. Breakfast is not up to the Comfort Inns...no eggs or sausage

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
20
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while making arrangements for my Grandma's funeral. I booked the hotel sight unseen knowing it was a Best Western. I have come to expect a slightly elevated level of satisfaction from this chain as opposed to other motels.
This place looked like any other Motel 6 from the outside and the rooms were just as plain. The bed was mediocre at best and the furnishings were old and well worn.
The staff was helpful and friendly though, it's only real plus.
The continental breakfast is my biggest complaint. The room is too small for the guest capacity and I was always fighting other people for food because the supply was kept too low. The juice and milk containers were constantly empty and the waffle batter was doled out very sparingly which forced the guests to silently fight for it. Two of the days I just skipped the breakfast to avoid conflict and went to a restaurant though I specifically stay at Best Westerns to avoid paying for this meal.
I paid $99 a night for this room, far too much for what I was given. I'm disappointed that this hotel has the Best Western name attached to it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We found this hotel online and booked through the Best Western website, arriving 3/30 for two nights. Friendly front desk clerk, but this night, the AC must've failed, as the door was propped open and it was very warm inside. No elevator to our 2nd floor room, #227, but we parked right next to the stairs. Room had two queens, priced at $139.74, taxes included. (base room cost was $121.49. We checked other hotels for a lower price, but there were some events going on during the weekend, so most had no vacancies. The room was very clean, nicely arranged and a very nicely done toilet and shower area. Hot water was instant, small refrigerator for our drinks, lots of nice towels, clean bedding.

The negatives; no wifi the first night. We arrived about 945pm and needed to access the internet for directions to our meetings the next two days. We called over and over to the 800 number furnished for the "help" desk, to no avail. It was busy an entire hour. Also called the front desk and the clerk promised to "reset" the server at our end of the hotel. Still no service at 11 pm, so we gave up. The next morning and from then on, the service was ok, but a bit slow, very noisy AC unit....just roared at lower speed. Very, very poor lighting throughout because of chintzy little CFL bulbs. The ceiling light over the work desk was so dim we could barely read our papers. There was a row of CFL bulbs over the bathroom sink that were so dim, you could barely see to shave. There was a small work table with two wood frame chairs with very thin padding. Thin to the point of being painful to sit in after 30 minutes. A dated CRT screen television with a grainy picture and an inoperative mute feature on the remote sure took the fun out of our stay. We turned the AC off at and suffered through a warm and restless night of sleeplessness. The second night, we left it on and the droning must've put us to sleep, but we awoke tired. Whoever did the equipment buying for this facility must've been a bean-counter instead of a customer pleaser. This hotel appears to be an older one that was rehabbed, but it was nicely done and in very pretty colors.

Breakfast was adequate, room was immaculate, but only five tables and 19 chairs made the Saturday rush of guests uncomfortable. With 59 rooms and assuming 2 persons per room, you can see the problem. It was just plain crowded. Plenty of food and the food attendant did a great job of keeping up...a plus.

We did not use the pool, which was outside, but spoke to those who did and they approved of it and said the water was warm. The trash container by our stairs was constantly overflowing, drink cup on the stairs sat there for 12 hrs.

When checking out, I mentioned the lighting and wifi deficiencies to the clerk and he apologized and promised to put stronger bulbs in, but we doubt that will happen. Good hotel management would empower the clerk to adjust the rate to compensate us for the loss of services, but that did not happen. At Hampton Inns, they offer a 100% guarantee and in fact, we've had to ask for that and received it.

To sum up, this Best Western is overpriced for what you get. We'd guess a rate of no more than $85 to $90 would be closer to it's value. We will look elsewhere for a room next time. The real shame here is that the staff was excellent and hard-working. We'd recommend the CEO of Best Western stay in this hotel for two night, preferably in room 227.

We are retired folks and travel a fair amount and not professional writers. Draw your own conclusions.

To sum up

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before checking in. Not the "model room", but the one you actually wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

Tim and Jeremy were awesome hosts. We were very well taken care of. Location is in unbeatable for the price they requested. John the maintenance man did creep out a few of the females with us because he was around all of the time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We got a rate of $79/night for 3 nights here but could have stayed at a much better place for $99 a night but we thought we'd try to save some money. The staff are great. Our room was on second floor with no elevator, so had to lug our stuff up. The bathroom fixtures were good -- fairly new. The bedding was a thin blanket between two sheets and although he bed was comfortable enough the covers were flimsy and very old/tattered looking. The fridge was a nice one but I had to clean it before putting out stuff in it. The vanity area is open to the bedroom so no privacy there. And, beware in this neck of the woods and south to Gilbert. We had to hold our noses due to the stink of what smelled like cow dung in the air. We experienced this as we left the hotel in the morning and around town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our group had only planned to stay at the hotel, but our host facility for the meeting had IT difficulties making having the meeting there very difficult. The hotel staff saved us by allowing us free use of the Breakfast/Conference Room. The speed of the wireless Internet was quite good, so we were able to have a very successful meeting. They also were able to provide extension cords, coffee and water, all graciously and without charging us! Very friendly too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stay was great. Staff was helpfull and knowledgeable. Nice clean quite room.
Close to shopping and Restuarants. I would stay agian

L and J Anderson San Diego ,Ca

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn

Address: 1342 South Power Road, Mesa, AZ 85206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.