We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely an awful place.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Pacific Grove
1 review
“Absolutely an awful place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was disgusting and outdated. Rotting food in the refrigerator, cigarette burns on everything including the bath tub. Filled with drug dealers and prostitutes. The dealer nextdoor fought two different people and then his girlfriend screamed at him until 3 am. The phone in the room didn't work to call the desk and I wasn't going to go out of my room during all of that chaos. Will never stay there or recommend that place.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I do apologize for the inconvience please let us know so we can take action thank you and go hojo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    13
    40
See reviews for
20
13
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel should be shut down. There is holes in the wall the room looked like it had not been cleaning for several months. There were live in tweakers below us. The breakfast was a joke (unacceptable). Swimming pool was scary!!! Blood droppings on the bathroom floor. Advertised free WiFi not true!

Room Tip: Do not pick this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I apologize if your stay wasn't pleasant you could of come to the front lobby for a refund or have been switch to another room as for people there if you weren't happy I would just leave but I can assure you that area is safe because mesa pd always respond very quickly and efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have no idea where to start. The Box Springs were totally filthy. The sheets were so thin you could see through them. The towels were paper thin also and were like sandpaper to use. Stayed two nights (which if I hadn't booked online and been penalized financially I would NOT have done). First night, had to go back to front desk because there were not any hand towels or wash clothes and not enough bath towels in the room. Second night, after returning to room, had to return to desk because once again no wash clothes, no hand towels, no bath mat. Although shampoo was in a packet it was made in china not useable to begin with). Remote on the television did not work. Also, no safety mat in shower to prevent slipping and no handrail for same. Had an elderly person with who was too scared of falling to use shower second night. It was a non-smoking room, one bedspread had a huge cigarette hole burned through it. One of the chairs had a handle that was not attached to the chair when trying to get up. There was a large hole in the ceiling outside of the room and when walking to the office, a pigeon flew out and scared us to death. Outside appearance of the property was filthy. Cigarette butts, coffee stirs and spillage stains on the tiles. The morning breakfast was a joke. One small blueberry muffin and a cup of bad coffee. Like I said, if it hadn't been because of financial penalty, I would NOT have stayed here. The first clue should have been the sign at the desk stating that you had 15 minutes allowed to voice any dissatisfaction with your room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We do apologize for the inconvience if your stay wasn't pleasant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was a horrible stay. If I could have slept standing up I would have. Needs to have retraining in maid service. They should have paid me to stay there. Expressed my feelings about the hotel to the girl at the desk and she just had a deer in the headlights look on her face. You wouldn't even want to know what my husband had to say. The place should be shut down.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I do apologize if you didn't like the room you could of ask us we can switch you to another room again I do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Address: 1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson on Main st between Stapley/Gilbert is located to lots of business, stores and close to the fwy also very fast high speed internet and plenty of parking, pet friendly and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mesa/Gilbert Hotel Mesa
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.