We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute needed a place to stay overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last minute needed a place to stay overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After coming back late and finding that the gate code where I was staying did not work and my host apparently turned off their phone I needed to find a place to sleep for the night. Howard Johnson was near by so I went there. The motel is old and the room was pretty shabby but it was clean, the a/c worked and the price was good. I probably would not book an extended stay there but under the circumstances it was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Thank You for the review are rooms are clean and up to date should try out our weeklys specials thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    15
    41
See reviews for
21
14
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is STILL advertising a continental breakfast, when they only offer coffee, orange juice and tiny muffins.
Upon entering my room, I saw a pretty sizable hole in the back wall.
There was no TV remote, ice bucket or coffee pot, although there WAS a coffee maker! When I asked for a remote, I was told there wasn't any because the former owner took them and the new owner hadn't replaced them yet.
When I asked for a late check-out since I wasn't sure if I would be needing to stay another night, I was told there was an $11.00 charge to stay 2 hours later. When I asked if that money would go towards another night if I decided to stay, I was told "no".
Here I was dealing with the issues the former owner had caused, but the new owner was not willing to make adjustments.
The one positive thing I can say is the lady who works at night couldn't be any nicer. She was always smiling and friendly.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Hello maam I do apologize for the incovience I make sure our rooms are clean and well maintain again I do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

everything about this stay was really nice, pleasant, and restful. the room was very large, comfortable, the A/C worked great, the pool was great, the clerks behind the desk were very helpful, I will definitely be returning this facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Thank You Sir for the great review please come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Address: 1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson on Main st between Stapley/Gilbert is located to lots of business, stores and close to the fwy also very fast high speed internet and plenty of parking, pet friendly and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mesa/Gilbert Hotel Mesa
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.