We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Believe Everything You Read” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #41 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Believe Everything You Read”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The "official" Howard Johnson website says this hotel offers a continental breakfast, and has the symbol for free breakfast in the list of amenities. When I went to get my children breakfast, all they had in the lobby area was a bunch of empty table and chairs, 5 sad looking muffins and coffee. When I asked about the breakfast, the gentleman working there said, "we don't do that anymore". I told him it was on their website. He said he knew that, but there was nothing he could do about it. I felt totally lied to. There should be a sign at the front desk, or they need to tell people as they check in.
That was just the start. The sheets have burns in them, no bath mats, no cord in the phone...
When I peeled back the decorative blanket off of the beds, there was only a top sheet. I called the front desk (on my cell) and asked if they had any other blankets. The lady working was VERY sweet and searched for different blankets. She brought me 1, but it was stiff and VERY itchy, like something had spilled on it LONG time ago and no one did anything about it. I appreciate the effort she put into finding it for us, and I am sure she had no idea what it felt like in side it as it was folded.
I wasn't expecting a wonderful hotel as I know the area it is located in, but I DID expect to get what was offered on their site, and I do expect the beds and towels to be clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    4
    3
    17
See reviews for
7
8
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed in about a dozen Ho/Jo hotels and this one was by far the worst. The bathroom needed major repair I thought the ceiling was going to cave in at any minute. Poor picture on the TV no matter what channel it was on. Went in for breakfast at 7:00 and all the had were these tiny banana nut muffins and I mean half the size of a normal muffin and coffee which was empty. Had to ask this huge guy at the counter to make more. Waited 15 min for my first cup, took it back to my room and came back 15 min later and again no coffee. I think the guy behind the counter was playing games on a laptop probably his computer. I gave the service a 2 only because the guy working the counter in the morning. When I checked in the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a nice stay at the Howard Johnson. My room was nice and clean, everything was in working order. Checked in around 2, check in was quick and fast. The frontdesk knew alot of places in the area to eat at. She was very nice and welcoming. Will be staying here again in months to come. thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Howard Johnson Mesa while on business, it was close to where I had my meeting. The room was clean and everything worked great, the TV got good reception and the wireless was easy to connect to. The only comment I have is, the area around the hotel is not the best. But to remedy that, they have video cameras all around hotel. And the staff does watch the property. The reason I know this, is because shortly after I checked in, I went out for a meal. When I got back, my room key didn’t work. Within 2 minutes the guy who checked me in, came down and let me in. When I asked "how do you know I was having trouble with the door" he said I was watching on the cameras. I thanked him for coming down so quick. But later I thought to myself, it’s good the hotel is monitoring what goes on. Makes me feel safe. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the place to anyone looking for a good clean and safe place to stay in Mesa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Address: 1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mesa/Gilbert Hotel Mesa
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.