We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Training Home of the Chicago Cubs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area to your Saves list
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Oak Forest, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Spring Training Home of the Chicago Cubs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

The Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort is not actually a resort. The amenities are limited to a small pool area, a fitness room that consists of a couple treadmills and an elliptical (of course, when one is in AZ nature is your fitness room!), and two hot tubs. The rooms are old and in need of renovation, and the toilet and shower area are very small. However, the rooms are large and spacious, and the vanity area of the bathroom is large enough for four women to get ready at the same time!

Although we never ate dinner at the property, the breakfast buffet was more than adequate, with veggie quiche, make your own waffles, and the standard cereal, fruit and bagels . . . not bad for a free extra!

Advertised as the spring training home of the Chicago Cubs, we did meet a few players who were trying to make the team (if you're looking for Derrek Lee or Michael Barrett, you won't find them here!), and most of the guests were decked out in Cubs gear. The hotel has a shuttle to HoHoKam, and a few guests has placed notes at the front desk advertising tickets for sale.

All in all, the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort is an affordable place to stay (especially for families), and you might meet an up-and-coming player. However, it falls short on the "resort" list and does need to work on its service--we ran out of toilet paper one day, facial tissue another day, and housekeeping did not come in until after noon--although the staff is friendly.

If you're coming for spring training, it is close enough to several ballparks, and that might be worth the stay. Otherwise, for luxury and amenities, you might want to try elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    74
    62
    49
    77
See reviews for
104
76
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

We stayed at the Dobson Ranch 11/04/06 through 11/08/06 and found the location terrific and the accommodations good although the room lighting could've been better. When I asked where the Casino Arizona was located they offered two free tickets to the show that was being held that night which was a $21 value. The staff were knowledgeable when asked the directions to Sedona (a must) and the Grand Canyon (been there, done that, but still enjoyed it.) The hot breakfast buffet was a nice plus considering most hotels only offer a continental breakfast if they offer anything at all. Oh, Fiesta Mall is right over the by-pass which was nice for a little shopping on the side. The room was cleaned every night when I returned which I've been to some places and found the room just like I left it that morning.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lighting in the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Fiesta Mall is right over the by-pass
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

I stayed here from September 28 to October 2, 2006. Rooms were somewhat dated especially the bathroom. Place was extremely clean however and a very good firm bed. Buffet breakfast was adequate, but same menu every day. Very nice pool, but always had to wait for towels to arrive. Good place to stay for the money. Check-in was fast and efficient and staff was very accomodating. Would stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — Bathrooms need to be updated.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

We stayed here April 24 and 25, and were treated wonderfully. The room was large, well-appointed, and had been newly painted. The staff was courteous and helpful. We received a free newspaper, and cocktails, which we enjoyed on the pleasant patio,overlooking the courtyard. The full breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

We had a pleasant stay at the Dobson Ranch. The hotel was centally located, near the freeways.
We went to Mesa to enjoy a couple of the Cubs Spring Training games in Mesa. Mary, the Sales Manager, was very helpful in securing us with our Cubs tickets.
Our room was an older room, but it was large and clean. We liked the large counter just outside the bathroom. Our room was located by the pool, which can be noisy at times (due to the pool activity). The front staff was pleasant. The only negative point was that the fitness room needs to be updated. There were only 4 pieces of older equipment and one piece was out-of-order. There was a water fountain in the room, but it was not plugged in. Bring your own bottled water.
We cannot comment on the free breakfast buffet, since we didn't use the free breakfast tokens.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

I went into two different non-smoking rooms and they both reeked of smoke and smelled ghetto. The lobby smells the same so I didn't bother asking for a third room and checked out of the hotel and they said they were not going to charge me. The rooms also looked very old. The carpet was gross and the decor was orange and pink. I was so upset because this hotel was recommended to me personally as a nice place and it was my wedding night.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

Beware the Dobson in Mesa, AZ. My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and after returning home, we both got a rash. Mine much worse than hers. I suspected bed bugs and went to my doctor right away. He told me I didn't have bed bugs, but hot tub folliculitis instead. This is a bacteria found in poorly maintained hot tubs. It looks pretty certain this rash came from the Dobson. It was the only hotel we stayed at, and the only public hot tub I'd been in for at least a year.
The level of cleanliness in the room should have been a tip off to the level of cleanliness in the hot tub and pool. The room had a dirty carpet, dirty bathroom floors, and mold on the bathroom ceiling. I couldn't tell if the bed sheets were dingy-looking from age and poor quality, or if they had simply been left on the bed after the previous guest vacated.
I trusted everything was clean enough even if it looked funky. Wrong. Beware of any hotel that doesn't look clean. It probably isn't, and your health could be in danger.
My rash is expected to clear up after 2 or 3 weeks without problems to my health, but it is making my life very uncomfortable for that time.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Address: 1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.