We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking into someones basement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area to your Saves list
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Newark, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Walking into someones basement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Booked this Cubs spring training trip in Jan. Cub tickets were great! The hotel/motel on the other hand was NOT! My 12 year old daughter said it was like "walking into some ones basement" (1st floor) couldn't really pinpoint anything specific about the room, just felt very "icky" when I walked into the room. We immediately found another hotel, check out. Front desk was very pleasent and tried to fix our problem...but icky is hard to fix. Would not recommend to anyone....they claim the Cubs stay there, it wasn't were we stayed, they obviously stay across the street at the gold course area...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    74
    62
    49
    77
See reviews for
104
76
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Arrived at Best Western Dobson in 90 degree heat. Not bad for Phoenix. but upon arriving to our room, 2nd floor -- no elevator, discovered a/c didn't work. Maintenance came and said chiller was frozen and thermostat was installed upside down on wall. Couldn't get a/c to work. Had to leave but said would return. Never returned. Asked to change room. Management denied request. Suggested we look for another hotel. Overall, service was non-existent and room was stinky and hot. Will not stay at this hotel again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We travel to Phoenix twice a year, for a week each trip. We have been doing this for about ten years. We have stayed at several places over the years, but once we found the Dobson Ranch, we knew this would be our destination in the future. Dobson Ranch has been our address while in Phoenix for over five years now.

This place feels more like a resort than a motel. The grounds are spacious and always immaculate. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful. Both the pool and the hot tub are very large. The interiors of all the buildings have been renovated, and look great. The standard rooms are decently sized and well laid out.

The free buffet breakfast is varied, with scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes as the main course, but with cold cereal, waffles (make them yourself), toast, fresh fruit, yogurt along with juices, milk and coffee all available.

Overall, our stays at Dobson Ranch have always been enjoyable. We feel spoiled to have this place available when we visit Phoenix.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

My husband and I stay at the Dobson Ranch every other month or so when we come to visit our daughter and her family. The room price includes a real breakfast with bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes etc. For those of us who need our expresso, there is a Starbucks across the street. The pool is huge with a large deep water area as well as a shallow area. It's great for the grandkids! This is not a luxury resort, but it is comfortable, clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Had a misunderstanding about a reservation,the front office mgr would not assist me and advised to use a phone booth at the free way,I was stunned and so did other guests.
An assistant was of great help and solved the problem with me and Hotels ,com
Felicia was her name and cared about the business,Good food in the bar and great
breakfast .Hotel suite very clean .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Easy for us to find directly off exit 177 on US60 towards Mesa/Globe. Check-in went fine, could see lobby had been newly refurbished but could'nt say the same for the room. It looked like a new carpet but the furniture looks a bit battered. Huge room but tiny bathroom. Breakfast ok but bring back the bacon! Felt uncomfortable with 3 Hispanic men who were doing the catering looking at everyone who came in breakfast area.

Very good price-wise for a 1 night stay but personnally would'nt stay more then that.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

After hiking the Grand Canyon, five of us stayed in 2 rooms at the Dobson Ranch Inn for 2 nights. We had stayed at the hotel in the past but the last visit we noticed it was getting a little run down. We decided to bite the bullet & give it another try. We were not disappointed. The rooms have been renovated & were very clean. Our rooms both had refridgerators, comfortable beds, simple bedding, perfect size and clean. The lobby has a computer with free internet access and the continental breakfast was nice. The pool area was great ...clean and with newer furniture. We definitely recommend this hotel & are planning on staying @ the Dobson this spring to get over our Wisconsin winter !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Address: 1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.