We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area to your Saves list
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Buffalo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value For Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is working on fixing a few problems inherited so all was not perfect but the pool/hot tub were great, the room was fine, staff was friendly. You can see they are working to fix up the grounds. The internet wi/fi was difficult and the lobby service/printer non-existent so no chance to get boarding passes. Breakfast was sufficient with among the best home fries ever. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDANNY, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for writing about your concerns. We strive to make the Dobson Ranch Inn a place where you can have a safe and pleasurable.

Our rooms are safe, clean and maintained daily and our staff are trained to treat each and every guest in a professional manner and in fact being, they are praised by hundreds of guest each day and we have a huge return stays from many of satisfied guest.

My banquet director Jennifer and my sales director Winnie as well as all my staff and myself are here to help you anytime.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you come back again. We have several weddings and groups here each year and have a 98% return rate.

It is such a pleasure to have guest that are happy during their stay.

I do remember your wedding group and the fact you had at least 11 rooms.

Please come stay with us again.

Respectfully, Danny Baker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    62
    49
    75
See reviews for
101
76
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in the Phoenix area for a conference but didn't want to pay the crazy prices for one of the conference hotels downtown. We had stayed here last December so we knew the area and knew the hotel was a pretty good value. The grounds are very pretty and clean, even if they look a little aged. It would have been neat to see the property in its heyday. We didn't use the pool but it looked well maintained and clean. Our room was clean and it seems they have renovated since last year which is nice. More electrical outlets in the guest rooms would be nice to accomodate laptop computers and cell phone chargers. The complimentary hot breakfast in the morning is delicious with a good variety. If you are looking for super fancy this is not the place for you but if you are looking for a decently priced, but plain accomodations in a convenient location to Route 60, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDANNY, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for writing about your concerns. We strive to make the Dobson Ranch Inn a place where you can have a safe and pleasurable.

Our rooms are safe, clean and maintained daily and our staff are trained to treat each and every guest in a professional manner and in fact being, they are praised by hundreds of guest each day and we have a huge return stays from many of satisfied guest.

My banquet director Jennifer and my sales director Winnie as well as all my staff and myself are here to help you anytime.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you come back again. We have several weddings and groups here each year and have a 98% return rate.

It is such a pleasure to have guest that are happy during their stay.

I do remember your wedding group and the fact you had at least 11 rooms.

Please come stay with us again.

Respectfully, Danny Baker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family stayed as a group at the Dobson Ranch Inn, September 28-30, 2012. During our stay, we had the loss of hot water, flooded bathrooms, MUD in the water from the suites in the back. The landscaping was piled up everywhere including the parking lot, sidewalks and such places that would cause a safety hazard. The pool was off limits to customer due to a chemical problem. BUT, the general manager and his family were allowed to use it. During our stay the general manager Danny Baker was " Bullying" and "Threatening" to several customers in our group. I live in Mesa, and was completely embarrased by the condition of the hotel, and the disrespectful treatment of the guests. My family and friends said they would not come back if this is how they were going to be treated. I have complained to the BBB, and so forth. This was absolutely a teriible case of "BULLYING", I had ever witness. We would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and have advsied others to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDANNY, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for writing about your concerns. We strive to make the Dobson Ranch Inn a place where you can have a safe and pleasurable. Our rooms are safe, clean and maintained daily. Fact being, they are praised by hundreds of guest each day and we have a huge return stays from many of satisfied guest.

In my reading of your concerns it bothers me that you would mislead several others with the issues you mentioned. Your complaints were only written because OTHER guest called the police and you and your group ruin the stay of so many other guest who were here to enjoy our update hotel.

You all were intoxicated and very disorderly and In fact I had to ask the police NOT to arrest you as you were being disorderly with them.

First I am the manger and I do remember you all. Nothing in my manner or voice was unprofessional.

You have written false reviews. Yes previous reviews were written by you and your friends that were rude to staff and other guest.

This all started because you all were intoxicated. The pool was closed at 10:00 p.m. and at 10:20 p.m. you wanted to climb over the locked gate in enter a pool that was being treated with nightly chemicals.

I was sitting in the pool area to make sure people such as yourself would not climb over the fence, get in a pool being treated with chemicals and harm yourself or ruin your clothes.

It was unfortunate that you all had the police called on you by other guest and than my professional security staff because of your behavior.

Except for the fact you stayed here, everything you wrote about the hotel or its staff was misleading and false.

Respectfully, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family and I are here for the week. Never heard of this place before but it was super close to the highway so we took a chance. So happy we did because this place is amazing! Most beautiful hotel we've ever stayed in. My family and I spent all day Saturday and Sunday by the pool. Gorgeous pool! I kept telling my husband that if we weren't already married, this would be where I wanted our wedding! We walked around the property a lot just enjoying the trees and walkways. We walked across the street to the lake. There is a sidewalk that wraps the entire lake!! The breakfast is great. Not just your usual cereal and muffins. Sausage, fresh made waffles, eggs, bagels, potatoes. They have a nice variety so even my kids found stuff they like. I was a little surprised to read some of the reviews about this place. I'm kind of a nut when it comes to clean hotels and I didn't find a single thing wrong anywhere! The manager was there when I checked in and he introduced himself to me and my husband. Told us about a few great restaurants nearby where we could have dinner and told us if we needed aything at all, to ask for him. I don't know if I've ever even seen a hotel manager before let alone be greeted and converse with one. I'm happy we found this place and as I've told the manager, this is the only place we will stay in Mesa from now on. We're thinking of renewing our vows here! Thanks so much to the general manager and his staff for making this the best vacation!!

Room Tip: We are near the pool on the bottom level. Great view of the palm trees and the pool stays lit at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDANNY, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for writing about your concerns. We strive to make the Dobson Ranch Inn a place where you can have a safe and pleasurable.

Our rooms are safe, clean and maintained daily and our staff are trained to treat each and every guest in a professional manner and in fact being, they are praised by hundreds of guest each day and we have a huge return stays from many of satisfied guest.

My banquet director Jennifer and my sales director Winnie as well as all my staff and myself are here to help you anytime.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you come back again. We have several weddings and groups here each year and have a 98% return rate.

It is such a pleasure to have guest that are happy during their stay.

I do remember your wedding group and the fact you had at least 11 rooms.

Please come stay with us again.

Respectfully, Danny Baker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived late due to flight delays. No hot water in most rooms. No answer except I am sorry from front desk. Was told no manager on duty, won't be back until Monday? Actuallymanager was on property, at pool withfriends.When I asked him about the hot water I received total attitude, obviously I was interupting his partytime. We came on at 10 pm, he hung out with no concern for his guests until after midnight. We have been her 2 hrs and am sadly disappointed. May be changing hotels tomorrow but we have 20 + people comingto stay here for a wedding tomorrow, how do I explain there is no hot water? If I was Best Western I would be embarrassed to have my name on this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banfora, Burkina Faso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Phone did not work,after going to front desk asking them to fix it! 6 times we asked the girl,then a young man who was to busy listening to his music! Tap dripped in tub,never fixed! Carpet was not clean as spilt chips night before and was still their! Hot tub wasn,t really great, all jets not working! Breakfast was not the greatest,eggs were awful sooooo runny for scrambled,Doubt will stay their again!

Room Tip: Don,t stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had reservations for 2 stays at Dobson Ranch Inn and canecelled both. One of the reasons we chose this property was because of the on-property restaurant and lounge that they promote on their website via the list of amenities and photographs. When we arrived for check-in, we were informed that the restaurant and lounge were closed. This totally baffled us because we had received 2 emails (one within hours of our arrival) offering us $50 of food or drink at the resataurant/lounge for $40. Does this make sense? We felt totally misled and stayed at another hotel and had a wonderful time. Attempts to talk to the manager went unanswered (or ignored). We visit the Phoenix area often but won't even consider Dobson Ranch Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Address: 1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.