We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tacos!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangos Mexican Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mangos Mexican Cafe
44 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 464-5700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 814 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mesa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best tacos!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place is a little on the pricier side, but its lovely inside and the food is delicious. The chips and salsa are addicting!! a little harried if you go at the lunch hour. Definitely give it a try!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved this place. The fish tacos were SO delicious and we were so happy to have stumbled upon this little place. Authentic Mexican food and the server / chef was funny and engaging. He recommended the Tilapia Tacos and was he right on the money! My hubby loved the chimichanga too. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Yummy Mexican food, downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Mangos is a great little Mexican restaurant in downtown Mesa, AZ. We have so many favorites. The killer burritos are amazing. They are huge. We usually share. You can get them filled with chicken or steak. They also fill them with rice, beans, and pico. We like getting ours enchilada style with their amazing green sauce! Another favorite, steak fajitas. This is enough for our family of three to share. They come with rice, beans and hot tortillas. The Machos Nachos with grilled chicken are also really yummy. We enjoy the mom and pop feel of the place. David and Jesus are gracious hosts. They know their regular customers and what they like. Reasonably priced and good. But remember, they only except CASH. No cards or checks. If you forget there is an ATM a couple of doors down but it's better to come prepared.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Looks like Mexico - if youre in the mall food court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Cutsie little place, not too clean. The one roach did make it feel authentic south of the border, though! Food is average, but so is pretty much everyplace in Mesa. Don't waste your time. Filiberto's or whoever the"berto" of the day is costs less and tastes better.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Chimichangas in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband, my two kids, and I go to this restaurant often. The chimichangas are AWESOME! The chicken is not shredded; it is like grilled. The chips and salsa are excellent, the limonada is fabulous, and the killer burrito is great. The salsa is very fresh. Everything we've had there is absolutely delicisious. It is a small restaurant with authentic Mexican decor and music. I don't know why another review rated the service as poor. We've been going there for years and never had any complaints. Jose is our favorite waiter.

I've lived in the Phoenix area most of my life, and in my opinion Mango's is the BEST Mexican food around.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangos Mexican Cafe also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Mangos Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangos Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.