We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch at new place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 8

Cafe 8
5235 E. Southern Ave. #107, Mesa, AZ 85206
+1 480-338-2640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 787 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Mediterranean
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lunch at new place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Little place in strip mall , mama & papa Greek like restaurant has a variation of good fresh food went for lunch,my wife had a cheese sandwich with veggie soup I got steak sandwich with Greek salad {do not have wine or beer license}very good we will go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spooner, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was visiting my aunt and uncle and they found this place to cater to my celiac disease. What a gem, the gluten free menu is outstanding! We went for breakfast and the food was delicious and it was hard to choose what to eat! They even had a case filled with gluten free desserts. I had two that I took to go and they were delicious the next day. The owners and employees were all so nice and because of the smallness the other diners shared in their excitement of having this place. It was cute. We planned on going back for dinner but never made it but I am glad to know of this haunt the next time I go down to visit! Lucky residents of mesa!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tomato basil soup "to die for"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stopped by for lunch...tiny spot in the corner of a strip mall. Gluten free menu and wonderful looking dairy laden but gluten free desserts. The tomato basil soup probably the best my husband and I have every eaten in a restaurant. Thick and wonderfully flavored. Served with gluten free crackers. His chicken wrap was very tasty also. Too full for dessert but they looked awesome. Bought an extra pint of soup to bring home....a rare event indeed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Here's to Your Health and Your Palate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a jewel in the corner of a strip mall. Don't let that discourage you. The ambiance inside will make up for the location, and the owners and employees are warm and accommodating. We went for a late breakfast but ended up having a delicious lunch of the signature soup, Tomato Basil. I actually ordered the Split Pea, but it wasn't ready. They substituted with the other, and it was the best I've had. Many tomato soups are too creamy and salty and lack the fresh tomato and basil taste. This nailed the description hands over. They were kind enough to send me home with a bowl of the Split Pea, which I am anxious to dig into. We also ordered the hummus plate drizzled with olive oil and served with pita bread that was thin and toasted just right. Again, the hummus was some of the best I have tasted. My husband also ordered the pork wrap dressed in a gyros/type cucumber dill sauce and accompanied with a fresh green salad and tasty balsamic vinegarette dressing. He was blown away. It should be noted that everything is made fresh, and some items are gluten free. You can go to their web site, www.cafe8az.com and check out the menu and the hours. I do know that they are closed on Sundays.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Personalized service and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a Mediterranean/Greek style restaurant that caters to gluten free diners. There are meals that are not gluten free, but I don't partake. My girlfriend and I had the Mediterranean sample platter for an appetizer and we took half of it home. We shared our entree with each other. A gluten free pizza and linguini with portabello mushroom sauce. We even brought some of that home too. We met the owner and talked with him for a while. He likes to make the rounds and get the customer's input.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 8 also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cafe 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.