We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy smells, yummy food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigglys at the Fair

Pigglys at the Fair
1633 South Stapley Drive, Mesa, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 775 restaurants in Mesa
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yummy smells, yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Really set out for a different place and came across this by accident. Had the sliders which gave me the chance to try three different meats. A large cut of meat was turning on a spit as we walked in and the whole place smelled great! Add their battered fries with cheese and you have enough decadence to last a while! I coupled this meal with a tall one from the bar and walked away a very happy camper.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    7
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just like the Fair.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Yes, it is just like at the state fair....greasy, limp curly fries and tepid food. The salad bar was not replenished. The food was not terrific. Surprised to pay 50 cents extra for butter for the baked potato. The place is cute...like a state fair and our waitress was very nice but don't think we'll be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You ain't had BBQ til you've had Piggly's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

They began with a food booth at county and state fairs and still travel the west with the smoker. The restaurant opened in 2013 with a county fair "theme" and is decorated with old carnival rides like "tilt-a-whirl", Ferris wheel cars and the like. Play the bean bag toss or toss some rings. Craig the owner is a big fan of local stock car racing and there is memorabilia thruout the restaurant. Many items you find at a local fair can be found including cotton candy, deep fried Snickers and looooong curly fries!

The BBQ is melt in your mouth (try a sampler slider) and ribs to fill any appetite. If you're there at the right time, you may see a whole hog slowly turning on the spit. Steaks have just been added, too.

Very reasonable so you can take the whole family and not break the bank. A great selection of brews compliment, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been to Piggly's three times. The first, we found they were unorganized and charged extra without posting or telling us there was a difference in price for the pulled pork prepared differently. My husband had it one way and my daughter another. We did enjoy the pork dinners and smoked turkey leg. We were glad to find Piggly's and actually looked forward to returning.

The 2nd time, my husband & daughter went to pick up lunch, and found turkey legs were not ready/available. We live in South Chandler, so we have a bit of a drive. No apologies either then or last time...for not letting us know about the extra charges, or for them driving that distance and not having food. My husband was not happy.
The last and final time I called ahead to make sure they would have what we wanted, turkey legs, and was very disappointed when we tried to eat them. They were SO salty, it was like eating salt. I literally spit it out, besides that the other one was dried up and tasted old. My husband did not try them at all, just because they looked old & dry. In the garbage they went. We did not even call to talk to the manager or anyone due to our past interactions. We wasted our time and mMoney and needless to say, we will NEVER attempt to eat at Piggly's at the Fair again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it - will be back for the Pig on Fridays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Sitting at the bar, my wife ordered the pulled pork and I ordered a pound of wings. The food was excellent. Jumbo wings too! As we spoke to the bartender she told us how they cook the ribs and then actually brought one out to us, free of charge, so we could taste it. Awesome!

We definitely will return. It is a fun atmosphere with really great people. Check it out!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigglys at the Fair also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Pigglys at the Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigglys at the Fair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.