We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of German Restaurant Zur-kate

German Restaurant Zur-kate
4815 E Main St Ste 16, Mesa, AZ 85205-8035
(480) 830-4244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 789 Restaurants in Mesa
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“There are better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Average Americanized German food in a strip mall. Nothing special about it except prices were decent. Try the Bavarian Point in the same complex for wonderful
German food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Mediocre German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a restaurant we have been wanting to try for years -- but it is across the parking lot from a another German restaurant that has become one of our favorites, so we have had little incentive. We finally got a round to it.

5:30 on Friday evening -- there was a short line for tables and there was a short line the entire time we were there. They are set up with small booths and some big tables that are shared with other customers -- we opted for the private booth. The atmosphere was very good, place well decorated in German style, and the live accordion music was good, though a bit loud.

The food was mediocre. My wife tried a schnitzel that was a favorite of hers "across the parking lot" and she decided that it was better "across the parking lot"; as was the spaetzle side dish. My sauerbraten was very good and I liked the potato dumpling. Choice of sides was interesting -- the only vegetable choices were red cabbage or sauerkraut. The bread looked like it came from a commercial bakery packed in plastic wrap -- tasted OK, but was disappointing. Desert was apple strudel and tasted OK, was a large portion, and a reasonable price.

We would come back again to try other items. The prices were fairly reasonable. The service was good, considering it was very busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was introduced to this restaurant a few months ago and I love it! The food reminds me of being a child visiting my old German aunt's house. The food is wonderful and the service is great. You are made to feel like an old friend as soon as you arrive. I am taking my visiting family tonight and send people there constantly. If you like German food than this is the place for you1

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average German Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been to Zur Kate twice. The German food is average but reasonably priced. We ate there most recently on a Saturday night. The service was good but almost too fast. We had the feeling that they were rushing us through dinner so that they could turn the table. The accordian player was a nice touch but, in a small room, way too loud. In fact, despite an accoustical ceiling, this restaurant was very loud on all of our visits. They seem to cater to the winter snowbirds that are looking for a bargain meal. If you are looking for a relaxing, leisure dinner with good conversation, we would not recommend Zur Kate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek AZ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Nice Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As for the restaurant itself it's a pretty small place. Not sure how the busy they get, but if they ever do you could be in for a wait.

Back to the food for a moment. We had the special which was ham on bone, and Zwiebel Schnitzel with onion. The special was good and Schnitzel was just okay.

The atmosphere was nice and staff was friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Restaurant Zur-kate also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to German Restaurant Zur-kate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Restaurant Zur-kate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.