We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant short stay near Mesa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 W. Holmes Avenue, Mesa, AZ 85210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Bundle For You!
Ranked #7 of 55 hotels in Mesa
HOUSTON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant short stay near Mesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Not the newest but clean, efficiently run and unfailingly polite staff. Good location since I had meetings at Falcon Field. The room was amply sized, comfortable. Even though every student FFA kid in North America was on site for a confab, I could only hear them when near the atrium as they covered the main floor, in groups, moving to or planning their next activity. The included breakfast enabled me to try the restaurant on my getaway day to find a generously supplied selection, including the made-to-order omelet. Tasty and would have been flavor enhanced to my liking had i asked for Pace's hot sauce. Very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Jwdonj :
Thank you for choosing Hilton Phx East Mesa for your most recent stay while in the Valley of the Sun. I am glad you had a pleasurable experience overall and I will make sure to pass this along to the staff. We are currently in the process of undergoing guest room renovations to give the room a more upgraded contemporary appeal. Please make sure to inquire about these rooms the next time you are in the area. Thank you again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    120
    70
    39
    17
See reviews for
113
54
31
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Long trip to Mesa, looking forward to relaxing in the pool and Jacuzzi with the grandson. Checked in, told I was upgraded to a delux room ( I am always told this, beginning to question what this means) with a nice view of the pool that is closed for the weekend ( was told pool area closed when I was checking in.) Nice view but also overlooking the freeway, quite noisy. I do like a quite stay, as it says in my profile. Dont get me started on this room...

Then the fun started trying to sort this out, I guess the staff wanted to have some fun at my expense. I was told by the front desk that the manager was not on property. I did not find this amusing. Just a clerk at a desk. Not concerned with my issue.

Not sure if the property is nice, all I am seeing is red.

I wanted to stay for the night, it is 11:30 pm,( update, now 12:10 and still on hold ), check out in the morining, but was at first told I would "just lose my points". I did not like this answer.

So I called the Hilton Diamond desk, where I worked thru the system up to a "supervisor". Then after an hour on the phone I was told by Diane Norwicki that I could get my points back but would have to pay more points for a Hampton down the street (we called and found out that the spa and pool were open at this property) because now I was only staying 3 nights and not four nights, which gets a better rate. I am not getting the same type of room but will pay more. (you can't pay more and get less than at the Hilton) I am tired, I think I need to rethink this Hilton status. I will use my points but I am not happy with Hilton. After all this I was put on hold, was "disconnected" and needed to start all over again. I could hear them laughing at the front desk from my room over the freeway noise.

When I went back into the Diamond desk system, another hour listening to soothing music.... when I did make contact they had no information on last call and we had to start over. So Terry Price puts me on hold for a while, when she came back she gave me the deal.... pay more points per night for a Hampton ( she says it is a better grade property) for the remaining three nights. Terry Price was doing the best she had, but I think more could have been done. This is no way to treat a diamond.(whats another 25000 points). Hilton makes getting points hard to come by and then charges more when the customer is in need. Not making sense to me.

I give up. Marriott is across the street, I think I will check it out. You should also. I say this if this is what I am to expect as a frequent traveler with Hilton having a diamond status. I wonder what experience others get when they need the assistance when traveling. They have a frequent traveler program also.


Not a 10 tonight.. Goneon and going to another hotel. Sorry for the content, it is late and I am not a happy traveler. I shall spread the word. You should also.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is overlooking the freeway, too noisy for us. dont call the diamond desk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear goneon,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We use all guest feedback to ensure that we are correcting any areas that are needed. I am sorry that our pool was not available for use during your stay as we are installing ADA chair lifts to make our pools more accessible. I understand that you were able to discuss your concerns and frustrations with our Front Desk Supervisor, Brianne Pass, and that she was able to help you receive your points back and I was thrilled to hear that you are planning to return to our hotel on your next trip out to Mesa! Please remember to contact us directly and we will ensure a nice, quiet room away from the freeway and elevators. We will also pass on your frustrations with the corporate help desk to the necessary management and I wanted to assure you that we appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand. If you have any further comments or questions please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to speak with you.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Got descent rate but, surprise. Seemed to be an older hotel, Embassy Suite court yard style, with too many fresh coats of paint. Check in at 5:00pm was quick but got to the room with twin beds not king. I called the front desk and questioned why twins, reply we have no more kings, really please look, oh I found one please come back to the lobby. Finally got to room to login and internet $10.95 per day so used my Wi-Fi card. On the way out to dinner tried to use printer for boarding pass but printer not working. Saw other guest grumbling around the printer upon return from dinner. Photo of suitcase rack in closet looks like it’s from the 50’s. Using the flagship name of “Hilton” on this property was a major disappointment. Over the last five days I stayed at 2 Embassy suites, 1 Hampton Inn and 1 Hilton Garden with King beds as requested, free Wi-Fi, two bottles of cold water, lights and radio on when I open the door, snacks in the room, warm cookies in the lobbies and printers that could actually print my boarding pass. This Hilton falls far short of the other brands in all area, kind of a sad tired hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear hookum,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Phoenix East/Mesa and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. We are in the process of room and business center renovations to better our property for our valued guests. I'm sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the printer and will have our staff look into it. We welcome any additional suggestions you have and hope you will give us another chance if you return to the area.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good reliable standard. Nothing too exciting, however it does have enormous rooms, which is nice. It seems to be an old building that's been re-done (quite nicely). Oddly, the quality of the room service food was virtually unedible (I ordered Nachos thinking there was no way they could screw it up.. I was wrong.) However, the food in teh restaurant was really really good. Odd.. normally if room service is bad, teh restaurant is bad. Not here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear W_on_the_Road,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Phoenix East/Mesa and taking the time to provide us with your feedback as it is very important to us. I sincerely apologize that the Nachos were not up to par during your stay. Our Director of Food and Beverage, Daron Brotherton, would love to speak with you about this if you have the time. He can be reached at 480.833.5555 ext 7110. Again I am very sorry about your room service experience and we will like to make this right with you.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Took a last minute weekend trip and picked the Hilton Phoenix East - sure glad I did. The rooms are large with great amenities, the staff was supurbe and the food in the restaurant was amazing. Just needed a little retreat and this was the perfect place to do it. Had little reason to leave the hotel unless we wanted to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mindy B,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Phoenix East/Mesa. We appreciate your feedback as we take it very seriously. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I selected the Hilton Phoenix East for a recent visit to the area for Thanksgiving specifically because I needed a pet friendly hotel. Many pet friendly hotels have a 25 to 20 lb size limit and we have a 48 lb dog. Hilton allows this size dog and their pet fee is reasonable. Additionally, the hotel was well run, clean and rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Peggy517,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Phoenix East/Mesa and providing us with your feedback. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands california
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Service makes this a five star location. Management has clearly instilled the importance of service and caring in their staff. This is a very good four star hotel facility that does show some signs of aging. However, they are clearly all about making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Highly recommended as an excellent mid-level hotel choice.

Room Tip: Executive Level upgrade is worth the extra $11 per night for continental breakfast and wine and snac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear jwwcpa,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Phoenix East/Mesa and taking the time to provide us with your feedback, as we take it very seriously. I am glad to hear our hospitality has left an impression with you. Please be advised we are currently undergoing room renovations to better our facility for our guests. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the near future to see the changes we have made.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa

Address: 1011 W. Holmes Avenue, Mesa, AZ 85210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phoenix East / Mesa Hotel Mesa
Hilton Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.