We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history in a living setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commemorative Air Force Museum

Commemorative Air Force Museum
2017 North Greenfield Roaad, Mesa Falcon Field, Mesa, AZ 85215
480-924-1940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Mesa
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting history in a living setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went with a group and had a kind informative volunteer guide. He pointed out the highlights, told us the history, suggested what we might want to look at deeper on our own. There is quite a collection of WWII planes in great condition, and they even fly 7 of them. We got to get inside and explore the B17. I expecially enjoyed the disply on women WWII aviators.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Its not really hidden, but I never knew what it was. Phenomenal history of aviation and the war. Great collection of planes and historical pieces.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great look at aviation history if you love old planes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great time touring the warbird museum. B17 "sentimental Journey" a B-26, Several fighters, a C-47 and
cases of memorabilia. Nice static helicopter display. Reasonably priced museum shop. Located at SE corner of Falcon Field. Lots of old-timer aviation buffs and air crew are docents. Well worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

An old friend once managed the facility back when Doug Champlin had so many wonderful planes on display. Being an old Marine Corps Air-Winger I enjoy the aircraft facility. Recommend you put it on your Arizona "must Visit" list.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A must see for Veterans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

For a small fee you have the opportunity to check out some of the most amazing foreign and domestic vintage warbird displays, you can even ride on serveral of them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commemorative Air Force Museum also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Commemorative Air Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commemorative Air Force Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.