We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish this had been around when my kids were young” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Museum of Natural History

Arizona Museum of Natural History
53 N. MacDonald Street, Mesa, AZ 85201
+1 480-644-2230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 60 things to do in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Arizona Museum of Natural History is the premier natural history museum in Arizona. It is dedicated to inspire wonder, respect, and understanding for the natural and cultural history of the Southwest. Explore Arizona and the Southwest from the creation of the earth 4.5 Billion years ago to the present. See the origins of life on earth, meteorites and minerals. In Dinosaur Hall, discover some of the biggest dinosaurs that ever lived, and on Dinosaur Mountain see how some appeared and sounded in a natural context. In a Walk through Time, explore ancient Arizona's Paleozoic Seas, Triassic Petrified Forest, monsters of the Cretaceous Seas, and the first animals to fly. "Rulers of the Prehistoric Skies", our newest exhibit, presents the amazing diversity of Pterosaurs, the flying reptiles of the Mesozoic. Neither dinosaurs nor birds, Pterosaurs ruled the skies from about 225 to 65 million years ago.
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wish this had been around when my kids were young”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My daughter took a friend and me to visit the museum. She volunteers in their lab. We had a great time, and were both surprised to find this wonderful museum tucked away in downtown Mesa. There are a lot of hands on activities and many big, showy exhibits, including a flash flood at Dino Mountain. You're not just reading descriptions of artifacts. I kept thinking how much my daughter, the museum volunteer, and her sisters would have loved this place when they were in elementary school.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    29
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Take a trip through time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you enter under the giant shark jaws you will take a trip through time as the walkways spiral around and around into ever newer time periods, leading you back to the entrance hall. Everything is really well done, the lighting is good, the displays are well lighted and the signage is informative. The dinosaur skeletons are fantastic! Ive never seen such small dinosaur bones before, and the flying dinosaurs took my breath away, I had no idea they were just that large. Prepare to spend at least 2 hours, 3 is more likely.

After a long trek thru time you might well be hungry, no need to jump in the car, the museum is in downtown Mesa and has many cafes and restaurants all within walking distance of the museum.

Also, if you have a library card for any of the surrounding libraries, step in and get a culture pass. It admits 2 with your library card, they are time sensitive however and only last for a week.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Presentations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A very well done presentation of Arizona history, dealing with the formation of the desert, the dinosaurs, the native peoples of Arizona and modern day history. I spent 3 hours in the museum and really enjoyed the various displays, interactive quizzes and audio/visual presentations. It was well worth the $10 admission fee.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Look Into Our Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a wonderful museum for the young and old alike. I saw many young children as well as school students at the museum. The museum has many activities and excellent displays of dinosaurs as well as other life forms from our past. Although the museum consists of multiple stories, it provided elevators and easy walking to view its various displays.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is really an excellent museum. I've taken my older son here twice and he loves it. There's lots of interactive stuff to do, including dinosaur puzzles, panning for gold, and uncovering buried dino bones. Their dinosaur displays are really great, especially the 3-story-high display that you can see different parts of depending which floor of the museum you're on. It even has a good gift shop stocked with toys that match up well with the exhibits.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.