We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1422 West Bass Pro Drive, Mesa, AZ 85201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hyatt Place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room overlooked the pool so we were able to enjoy the sunsets. The complimentary breakfast was good value and replenished quickly. The hotel is next door to a 12 theatre cinema complex situated in a large shopping mall. The shuttle provides service within a 5 mile radius. The only downside for me was the fact that as a non driver with a golfing husband there wasn't a lot for me to do apart from shopping or sitting around the pool, however we were aware of this before we booked so this isn't a criticism of the hotel. Good management = happy staff, this was very much in evidence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    42
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
48
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our first trip to Mesa(Feb 2013) and could not have picked a better place to stay. Friendly people and very attentive. I am allergic to feathers and they were quick to change the pillows and the comforter upon my request.
Very nice breakfast served every day. Something for everyone, any age :)
Large rooms and a comfortable bed.
Only thing is, there is no magnifying mirror. Some don't need this :) I did.
Overall, we would stay here again. Loved the area (clean) and the hotel and staff. Thanks Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this Hyatt Place in December 2012 during a visit to Mesa over Christmas. As Hyatt properties go, Hyatt Place is always consistently - and this property was above average. The rooms are typical of a Hyatt Place: sitting area, mini fridge, flat-screen TVs, comfortable beds.

The complimentary breakfast is OK, offering toast, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit and usually hot items. You also have the option to buy a made-to-order hot breakfast. The pool area looks inviting - though the December temperatures weren't warm enough for us to venture in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hyatt Place is a new (to me) price point in the Hyatt line of hotels. The price point is right around what one would expect for a hotel that is geared towards the business traveler. The rooms are terrific -- spacious with comfy beds and a big L-shaped sofa that just invites relaxation. The only quibbles I have are that the closet is a bit on the small side and the bathroom sink is open to the room. The sitting area and bedroom are nicely separated and the TV swivels back and forth between the two.

The staff are very friendly and hardworking -- service with a s mile seems to be the order of the day. The restaurant food is yummy and there are also options for to go meals to take up to your room.

Bottom Line: Clean, spacious rooms. Good dining options. Great price point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool -- which is the side away from the road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, MI
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hyatt Place has spacious rooms with a wonderful L shaped sofa for relaxing. The breakfast selections are excellent with choices of egg sandwiches, oatmeal, fruit, pastries, juices, etc. You can also have the staff make you a Starbuck's latte (fee). The breakfast is included. The pool area is very well kept and although planes are landing at the airport it is not real noisy. The fitness room is basic but has high end equipment. The staff was pleasant and friendly.
The area includes many restaurants, a Walmart and a Bass Pro Shop along with other small stores.
The location was great for us to get to hiking outside of Phoenix as well as within the city.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was on the east and had a view of the air conditioning units as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Finding this hotel was a little interesting, but once I found it, our stay was terrific. The thing I liked the most was the fact that there was a sport team that had scheduled rooms there and they were very good at isolating them and keeping the kids as quiet as can be expected. The other people staying there were given rooms far from the team and the rooms were very clean and very quiet. Thank you management!!! I was in town to study for a serious exam and it was a great place to do so -- though my jaw dropped when I saw a school bus in the parking lot!

I thought, "oh crud, I'm not going to pass this test because I won't have peace and quiet and I won't get any sleep." The opposite was true.

As to the rooms, they were on the superior side, though a little smallish. The breakfast in the morning was only so-so. Nothing to write home about, but adequate for a start of the day.

There was a lounge that was staffed into the late night -- it was pretty empty, but it was nice to see that it was an option. Parking was safe and ample. I really did like the location as there are plenty of places to eat around the area and it is a reasonable drive straight to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North side on top floor for absolute quiet and isolation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This location is one of the newer Hyatt Place hotels and was not a renovation of an Amerisuites that Hyatt bought out.
It is immaculately clean and the staff are very friendly with a can do attitude.
I am particular about my rooms due to being claustrophobic and they worked with me on making me comfortable with the right room.
The rooms are technology friendly with a huge < for a hotel room > 42in High Def TV which can be seen very well from both the bed and the comfy sectional sofa. There is a panel to the side which has every connection that you need to charge and connect. Wireless internet is FREE and the speed was great. Some Hyatt Place hotels are being updated to include walk in showers in the bathroom my room had a bathtub here with shower. I assume as this was built in 2009 that was before the move to renovate the older hotels in the chain. However that was not an issue. The comfort of the Hyatt bed was as always great. The room also has a small fridge to stock up on those needed refreshments for your stay ;)
Your rate also includes a complimentary extended Continental Breakfast - extended as they also offer some hot items which are unique to the brand. They also have the normal goodies but it just seems to be at a higher level - than lets dare I say - Springhill Suites - uh hmm - They have varied juices - varied milks - varied coffees and a huge selection of teas. Oatmeal and cereals - fruit - various pastries and toasting items. They now have a few hot selections which appear to vary each morning. This can save you up to $20 vs eating out for 2 people so is a great value in my opinion. If you are on business that leaves more in your per diem for later in the day ;) This area changes to what amounts to a Cafe during the remainder of the day. This menu has also changed over the last few years and includes a lot of very good items to choose from vs eating elsewhere if you so wish. < the club sandwich is particularly good >.
There is a well kept pool and putting green and also a small workout room - none of which I was able to partake in - but I am returning this weekend for a 4 day work trip that I plan on using the pool Sunday !
The location of the hotel is in a quiet corner of a huge shopping center with a great movie theatre - Bass Pro Shops - and shops and restaurants too many to list so you won't get bored. It is also located off the 202 Eastbound from the Airport about 15mins and its easy to get to Mesa, Tempe, Scottsdale and Downtown Phoenix from this hotel. You will need a car.
I work in the travel industry and I have stayed in many places for both work and pleasure - this is one of my favorites when traveling - Hyatt Place as a whole - and this will be my 2nd stay in Mesa property. It is worth saying that there are closer hotels to my place of business but I choose to make the drive and stay where I know I will be most welcomed and comfortable.
The value for money and service is key within this chain. Whatever management and sales <Elena> are doing with the frontline team at this particular location is working great. Thank You! :-)

Room Tip: Pool View rooms appear to be nice as that is what I had and have requested again for my upcoming tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa

Address: 1422 West Bass Pro Drive, Mesa, AZ 85201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Mesa
#4 Family Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Mesa Riverview shopping center, Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa is adjacent to Bass Pro Shops, Toby Keiths I Love This Bar and Grill, shopping, dining, and entertainment. Just 8 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and a short drive to anywhere in the Phoenix area.Hyatt Place is designed for the 24/7 lifestyle of a multi-tasker, perfectly blending style and comfort. Guests can enjoy a fresh bite to eat at anytime of the day off the menu in the Gallery, start their day with the all-new complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet™, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes and steel cut oatmeal, is available daily in our Guest Kitchen, and stay connected through free wi-fi and 42 inch tvs in all guestrooms. Relax poolside with cooling mist, music and movies or relax in our new Jacuzzi. At Hyatt Place guests discover everything they need for a refreshingly seamless stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa Hotel Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.