We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take me out to the Ballgame” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Cactus League

Arizona Cactus League
120 North Center Street, Mesa, AZ
800-283-6372
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Activities in Mesa
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ten Major League Baseball teams hold their spring training in Arizona.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take me out to the Ballgame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Let spring/summer begin! Only had one opportunity to take in a spring training game between the Oakland A's and L.A. Angels but what an awesome experience despite a very windy and cool day. It was wonderful to see the players in action, eat a hot dog, and see the beautiful green grass of the ball field with blue skies as a backdrop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go Tribe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Love the Phoenix area in mid-March for spring training baseball. About a dozen teams have or share facilities all around the Phoenix area so you do need a rental car to get around town. Traffic can be a bear, but having a GPS and paper maps to plan alternate routes help, as well as watching the news on TV or radio for traffic updates and avoiding main rush hour travel times helps. I put on over 500 miles in 5 days traveling from Mesa to Goodyear to Surprise to Scottsdale. Most teams practice at their facilities starting by 9:30am, so get there early to scout for autographs and souvenir baseballs from batting practice. Good to get to games about 1 hour before start time and scout for autographs by the 3B or 1B lines.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spring Into America's Favorite Past time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spring training in Arizona is a great time for baseball lovers. You get to see most of the teams of the major leagues as they try to discover the next Hall of Fame player for their team. My city, Surprise, Arizona, is host to the Texas Rangers and the Kansas City Royals. I enjoy watching them each spring as they prepare for the regular season.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For Baseball Lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

All ball parks are so close together that you can easily drive to whichever team you want to see. The parks are small enough that you are guaranteed a great seat. Prices are amazingly inexpensive... sitting in the sun, watching a ball game - can it get any better?! I personally went to the Angels home park, but if I had the chance I would go to every park!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“GREAT FACILITY AT SALT FLATS PARK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A close friend and I go to many of the AZ Cactus League games. The prices are very reasonable, the ball parks are terrific and always enjoy seeing rookie players who eventually make it to the major leagues.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Cactus League also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Cactus League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Cactus League, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.