We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit hit and miss!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmen Iguazu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carmen Iguazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
Ruta 12, km 4.5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Peniscola
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A bit hit and miss!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having just stayed at an outstanding hotel in Rio Cuarto, it was always going to be hard to compete. Hotel Carmen does have it's good points. It's closer to the falls than the hotels in town and the local bus stops right outside. It is only a short walk to GuiraOga, an amazing animal rescue centre and not too far from the airport. The gardens and pools are lovely, as is the outside bar area and the furniture throughout the main areas of the hotel, looks like it has all been hand carved, and is quite spectacular.
However my room wasn't very nice at all. It was quite large but the furniture was very tired and quite tatty. My bed had some metal springs poking through the sides and certainly wasn't the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. However, all of that would have been forgiven, if I had had a nice powerful shower. It costs nothing to replace a shower head that has had it's day - and this one was well past it's sell by date. The water trickled out in some places and streamed out at right angles in others - neither of which is particularly helpful if you need to wash your hair.
Other issues were....
- They forgot to clean my room one day.
- Having spent 3 weeks travelling around Argentina where no- one even considers going out for dinner until at least 10.00pm, it was a bit of a shock to arrive for dinner at 9.45 and be told that the restaurant closed at 9.30. Yes of course I should have asked, but a sign or notice or info pack in the room would be a good idea.
- This must be one of the only hotels on the planet that closes its bar at 11.00pm and then refuses to serve any more drinks - even to residents.
Some of the bar and restaurant staff were lovely - very helpful and polite - even while they were refusing me dinner and drinks. However I didn't really feel the same way abut the reception staff. No smiles, no warm welcome and no useful information e.g. The dining room closes at 9.30!!!!
The hotel info on booking.com said there was a tours desk - well they may have had one at some point but they certainly don't have one now.

Fortunately, the waterfalls at Iguazu are probably the most amazing and spectacular sights, I've ever seen, which more then compensated for this rather mediocre hotel. Another reviewer said - you get what you pay for, but this was the most expensive of the 3, I stayed in, whilst in Argentina and wasn't even in the same ball park as the other 2.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    42
    16
    15
See reviews for
50
52
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very nice hotel with pleasant garden and two pools where you can refresh yourself. The hotel is situated about 15 min to fantastic waterfalls. Rooms are extremely clean and comfortable for the realxing stay. Especially i'd like to thank the staff for their kindness and care.

Очень приятный отель с милым садом и двумя бассейнами, где вы можете отдохнуть и освежиться. Отель находится в 15 минутах езды от потрясающих водопадов. Комнаты очень чистые и удобные. Особенно я хочу поблагодарить персонал за их доброту и заботу.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is located about 10 minutes from Iguazu Park, and most of the taxi cabs in the front are willing to take you anywhere. The staff is very accomodating however they speak little English. The only gripe I had was the walls are paper thin and I had to ask my neighbor to lower the volume on his TV. You can also hear people in the hallway going into their room late at night, sounded like someone was coming into my room. Otherwise this was not too bad and I would stay here again if I were to return to Iguazu.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My companion and I ended up at this hotel as part of a package tour to Iguazu booked from Buenos Aires, so it was not our choice. The hotel is in a good position for getting into the town or to the falls via the public transport system.
The first room I was shown was not that good but we managed to get a different room without any problems - the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, adequately furnished (albeit very old, cheap furniture) and the bathroom/shower was fine. The hotel has 2 swimming pools, a small gym and a small games area (table football, table tennis) although I didn't have time to use these facilities.
There is free WI-FI (if you can get the children off it!!!!) and the reception/public areas are well set out. The bar is not that great and the dining area is very basic. Breakfast was a buffet with the usual sweet pastries etc, yoghurt, toast, cereals and a sprinkling of fruit now and then!
The hotels just up the road looked better but were probably more expensive but if you're not going to spend much time in your room then the Carmen is more than adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rear of the hotel as they are a bit quieter and complain if the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Came here as to be close to the airport for a morning flight. The hotel is basic. Rooms are large but all furniture is oldish and mismatched. Two nice swimming pools on the outside are well visited.
The staff is helpful but limited. WiFi is available in selected spaces, the pool being one of them (nice).
Being close to the main road is noisy but you don't notice with the air condition scream.
In all it looks cheap. I won't stay here again, there is plenty to choose close-by.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have been at this hotel two years ago. I paid a very reasonable and cheap price for a room. In the life, you get what you pay. Considering the basic fare I have paid, I got a basic service.
Anyway, the breakfast and dinner was reasonable good, for the price I have paid!
Room was quiet and clean, big room, good bathrom. Smell moisture at other rooms, not mine. SHower was old. The hotel staff was very friendly.

Final Conclussion. You get what you pay, and for the money I have paid at this place, it was fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Terrible hotel and bad breakfast
The hotel is 1 star max. The room smells bad and the shower is old and hardly works. The breakfast is minimal and not tasty.
positive points: The hotel staff was friendly and the room is big.
Try to find a better hotel..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmen Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Iguazu

Address: Ruta 12, km 4.5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel is located in Puerto Iguazu, 15 minutes from the waterfalls and 20 minutes from the international airport. This Argentine hotel features two swimming pools and a large garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Carmen Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoteles Carmen Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Carmen Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmen Iguazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.