We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a luxury hotel...a decent basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orquideas Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orquideas Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Orquideas Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 12 Km. 5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT a luxury hotel...a decent basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

If this were a three star hotel, it would be fine. Having read the other reviews I'm mystified by what they wrote. The rooms are clean but the furniture and decor is old and getting shabby. The breakfast is basic...mostly continental but with scrambled eggs. Not terrible but certainly not the massive feast implied. It's also quite far out of the city so you're kind of stuck. The pool is nice, however. This is in no way a fantastic 4 star, but if you're looking for something cheap and clean it's fine. Not great, just a place to sleep.

Room Tip: They're all a bit damp and old so you're not going to get anything super luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    116
    58
    12
    12
See reviews for
104
110
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We chose a cabin which was a good choice. Large with cooking facilities - which we did not use. Fridge with water, soft drinks and beer to buy.
Air con, TV Patio area outside.

Restaurant and bar great and very reasonable.

Pool area lovely. Tables chairs and sun loungers. Palm trees and beautiful shrubs.

huge buffet breakfast.

Bus at entrance to main town.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet if you have the choice. Larger and better facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I've stayed here twice in the past two years and think it's a reasonable place to stay when visiting the falls if you don't mind taking buses or cabs. The landscaping is gorgeous, rooms are good sized and clean. The walls are thin, so you can hear people in the next room.

The breakfast buffet is great, particularly all the fresh fruit but I think the dinner buffet is overpriced. We sat out by the pool and ordered sandwiches or salads from the bar menu.

The staff was pleasant and helpful, no problems so didn't really need their assistance with anything. There are three computers in the lobby for free internet.

It's also next door to Guira Oga Wildlife Rehab Center which is a great place to spend a few hours before your afternoon flight.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter than those facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is average. not so good not so bad. although it's old decorated the showers and air conditioner were working. We spent only 2 nights there, and the day time we visited the falls we couldn't be able to use the swimming pool and other services to much. But we ate dinner on the last night stay, and the salads were really bad. the open buffet seems ok, but i's too expensive.the breakfast is usual one in Argentina but the friuts they service are the best. there's a bus stop in front of the hotel so it's easy to go the city center and also to the falls.the staff were'nt very friendly but not rude also. But the waiters do not know english well. There's a free wifi in the roooms We've seen no bugs in the room during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is a full service hotel with computers, WiFi, restaurant, pool, poolside sandwich shop, etc.. This was the most extensive buffet breakfast we saw during our 6 week birdwatching tour of the country. Since box lunches were provided by Trogon Tours, we did not eat here. Dinner was always an extensive buffet, which we avoided we did not want to over eat. Also, service did not begin until 8 PM. This hour is too late for many bird watchers, as we arise early. We were able to order toasted cheese sandwiches and a plate of sliced tomatoes at the poolside grill. Rooms are good size and well appointed. We enjoyed our 4 night visit and would use this hotel again, provided we had a driver or our own vehicle.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel. A very peaceful location in a lovely setting. The breakfast was first class. The room was a bit on the small side but coped. Friendly staff with a good attitude.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Good things first. The receptionist was friendly, helpful and spoke English. There is free computer use and wifi in Reception.

The hotel is large but it was largely empty when I stayed. It was also 5 kms from town which means you either have to take the bus or a cab into town. Not very expensive and there are a few cabs avaialable- cab one way was 20 pesos - but not very convenient.

There's a nice looking spa and pool area although the water in the pool was too cold for me to try.

The restaurant offers a buffet evening meal for 95 pesos if you don't want to go into town and you can have other options as well. I had a ceasar salad which was ok but nothing special. In fact, I didn't really like much of the food here - the breakfast had a lot of selection but I didn't like it much.

The room was large and in the hotel annexe. It was cold when I stayed and it didn't seem to warm up when I used the AC. On my first night there was a family next door and it's clear that the walls aren't that thick. Also, the bed had those long pillows which I think makes it much more difficult to get a good night's sleep. And I didn't.

Probably a harsh rating here because the staff was nice but I just didn't get a good night's sleep and it's out of town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orquideas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orquideas Palace

Address: Ruta 12 Km. 5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orquideas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Rooms 40 - singles, doubles, triples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orquideas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquideas Palace Hotel
Orquideas Palace Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orquideas Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.