We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Iguazu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Save
You added Secret Garden Iguazu B&B to your Saves list
Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
1 review
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you're planning a visit to the falls, than you HAVE to stay at John's B&B. He is a splendid host and his B&B is ideally located with cosy air-conditioned rooms, a beautiful garden and a lovely terrace.

John is very accomodating and will help you plan your visit to the Falls (both sides) + he's just a great interesting person to get to know. We stayed for 2 nights and we wish we could've stayed longer.

We loved his 'drinks at 7' concept, when we got to sit down and chat with other guests and John himself. He makes a great Caipirinha as well and the appetizers were very tasty as well

Thanks John!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    60
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
391
55
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Wonderful two night stay in John's unique B&B. From the ease of booking a room online, arranging airport pick up, and his little tour of the town, it was delightful. Easy walk to restaurants in town. Lovely garden and patio with the most amazing cocktails before dinner. The rooms are large, clean, and simple. Enjoyed meeting the other guests before dinner and sharing stories. Our stay at Secret Garden was great and John was a gracious host.

Jane & Tom
Houston

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

i stayed at johns place for three nights visiting the iguazu falls. it was a great experience not only beeing in this amazing b&b also meeting john, a truly inspiring and superfriendly person. if you go to iguazu you have to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Located on a quiet side street off the busy main drag of Puerta Iguazu, the Secret Garden is run by the interesting and charming John Fernandez. You reach the guest rooms, separated from the main house, via boardwalk through a lovely tropical. Our room was spacious, well-lit and airy (or air-conditioned if you need it after a visit to the spectacular falls). John and his guests meet over caipirinhas and hors d'oevres every evening and breakfast every morning. He helps with restaurant recommendations and reservations and has access to friendly drivers who will take you to and from the airport, drive you to your restaurant (several are within walking distance) or deliver you to the national park for a very reasonable fee. John's staff are equally pleasant and helpful. We loved staying in the town away from the touristy atmosphere of the hotel inside the park (though we were glad to have cold drinks in the lobby while we waited for our driver to return us to the Secret Garden!)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I only had one goal for my trip to Iguazu: to reconnect w/ solitude and the Secret Garden was the best lodging decision to satisfy that goal. From the first point of communication, John has been on top of everything ensuring that my experience, albeit short, would be worth it. His recommendations are on point and realistic and I couldn't be more thankful for all the meaningful conversations we've had.

As a host, John is fantastic. He is surrounded by the most humble and welcoming group of folks that no hotel can match. His staff is attentive but respects your space. During my travels, I've stayed at high-end, expensive hotels but the Secret Garden truly is a gem.

Practicalities: what you'll get: perfect-sized room, clean sheets, running water, backup generator, phenomenal breakfast- fresh/organic, night cap Caipirinhas :), meaningful stories, opportunity to pet the adorable Roxy, trip recommendations, local expert to coordinate your dinner plans, airport pickup/drop off, taxi service (if you wish), preliminary tour around town/vicinity w/ John giving you lessons/brief history & some time to relax.

This spot really is more than a place to retreat at the end of the day- it's an experience in itself. If I had one regret during my stay- it is that I wish I could have stayed in Iguazu longer. John is more than an owner of a B&B in Puerto Iguazu, he's invested in this area and he has major plans in its ecology and conservation. Kudos to owners that care!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

John the proprietor truly understands that the quality of a hotel is really defined by the hospitality one is offered. From the lift from the airport, to the tour of the town, the picture with Brazil, Paraguay, and Argentina and you in one shot, the iced mate, the 7pm caipirinha's, the wonderful breakfast, and the warm congenial kitchen table debates, this place really is a wonderful find. Fran (my wife) and I really had a lot of fun. I think the cocktails at 7 draws the guests of the three rooms together and usually we ended up all going for dinner together. If you stay here be sure to give Roxy a tummy tickle from us! Be sure to book well in advance as you won't want to stay anywhere else in Iguazu. John will also arrange everything that you need to see the falls from both sides.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Lovely, comfortable rooms nestled by a beautiful garden centrally located within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shops. John is a warm and congenial host who provides much information and support to all the travelers who stay with him. Breakfasts are great and the early evening drinks and appies are a lovely way for the guests from the around the world to come together to enjoy conversation and company. John is very helpful in arranging reliable taxis drivers for airport pickups and also trips to the falls and around the area. The perfect place to stay in Iguazu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Address: Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Iguazu B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.