We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, and lots of laughs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Iguazu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Save Saved
You added Secret Garden Iguazu B&B to your Saves list
Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, and lots of laughs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I can not say it better than worldcitizenPortland. Everything people say is true. John is a wonderful host. Great staff! We especially like the taxi driver Pablo...whose smile and happy attitude made our trips to the park a happy experience!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    58
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
375
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Definitely worth a stay! Nice sized rooms, plus a super common area where you can gather for chatting or reading. Good breakfast and a complementary cocktail in the evening. Host will arrange airport transfers and either set you up with a driver or show you the bus routes to the Falls, which are about 30 minutes away. There are only 3 rooms, so book early!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

John, the proprietor, greets you with a warm welcome, a tour of the city, and a web of stories that charm you from the moment that you enter this hidden, jungly nook of hospitality off the beaten tourist path in the town of Puerto Iguazu. Three simple but tastefully decorated and super clean rooms with ensuite bathrooms provide a home base to exploring the majesty of a world class attraction: Iguazu Falls. John will help you to explore the falls from the Brazilian and Argentinian sites by organizing the logistics to enjoy this unforgettable, heart racing natural spectacle. When back home, a caipirinha and appetizers await you to close out a day that started with a filling breakfast prepared by an attentive staff. Bring a good story of your own, as John will always have one for you to light up the evening.

Room Tip: Of the three rooms, one is a corner one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

John was an impeccable host - he collected us from the bus station free of charge and took us on a tour of the town. His b&b, once past the exotic muriel of two frogs playing cards, is a bohemian fantasy of dark mahogany wood tables, subtle incense, crystals and soft lighting. To access our rooms we stooped beneath nests of tweeting birds and exotic jungle foliage to a turquoise blue building. Our room was more than adequate - exceptionally clean and comfortable. The real treat here is John's chilled matte tea with natural fruit sweetener and 7pm Caipirinha's and tapas, free for all, which makes guests want to linger all evening..it's also a magical setting to witness the occasional thunder storm and check emails with free wifi. For dining, the river fish at local restaurant Aqua is excellent. We stayed for 3 nights which we felt was the max time for Iguazu - in that time we viewed the falls from both the Argentine and Brazilian side, took a boat ride, helicopter and walked every trail. The weather was extremely temperamental; thunder storms, lightening and torrential rain on arrival, blissful sunshine for the remainder of our stay. John's pad is the perfect place to base yourself to see it all. His driver Juan is also excellent, with very reasonable prices for transfers to and from the falls.. ENJOY!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, we arrived later in the evening, but our host John organised some tapas and Caipirinha's for us to enjoy, we woke the next morning to have a lovely breakfast on the deck with the other guests and shared our travels,through Argentina. After our day out with an organised taxi, we went to the bird sanctuary, which was really enjoyable and then onto the Iguazu falls from the Brazil side, one wonder of the world not to miss. We then had tapas and caipirinha's out on the beautiful deck and John joined in with engaging conversation as did the other guest. I would certainly recommend staying here, the rooms where clean comfortable and in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Cay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

John, our host and owner was remarkable. From day one he answered emails gave sound advice, was honest about how many days to stay in Iguazu based on what we wanted to do. The rooms were spotless, bathrooms and showers with great pressure the garden area outside our rooms made us feel like we were in the jungle.
The wifi worked great and I loved the fact there were no TV's , or phones as we spent most of our time sitting in the porch area chatting with john and others that were staying there.
The breakfast was perfect./ home made breads fresh juice and fresh fruits to die for.
One of my favorite , I must admit is the drink John turned me onto, which I totally forgot the name again, is a wonderful rum drink with lime , ice and sugar. Fantastic! Great tapas in the evening and the interesting discussion. I own a resort , café and dive operation in Salt Cay, Turks and Caicos Island and am both critical and complementary based on what I expect for my guests.
I would not hesitate one bit to recommend anyone going to Iquazu to stay at Secret Garden. The falls are near-by via bus or private taxi and was the highlight of my month long adventures in Argentina.

Room Tip: Only three rooms and all similar and excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon. What a delightful, hospitable place. John is a friendly and resourceful host -- he knows all about the interesting things to do in town, tasty new restaurants, etc -- and he's a very engaging conversationalist. The garden, where the guest rooms are, is lush and exotic; it really provides a great atmosphere to John's daily happy hour where the guests gather to exchange stories. Befriending other guests was an unexpected pleasure.

Highly recommended!! Clean, quiet, comfortable, and simple accomodations. We hope to return some day.

John! I'm sorry this review is 2 years overdue. I completely forgot to write it. Hope you are well!

Best
Mike & Krysten

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Address: Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Iguazu B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.