We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different- in a good way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Iguazu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Save
You added Secret Garden Iguazu B&B to your Saves list
Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Different- in a good way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

During a 3 week Latin American trip we stayed at a range of places from B&Bs to top hotels. Unless you want to fork out for Las Cataratas ( Brazil side) or the Sheraton ( Argentinian side) which offer greater proximity to the Falls I wouldn't look past this friendly and comfortable B&B where the cocktail hour is enlivened by the fellow guests. John was absent for a few days so we missed him but his friend Bernardo was an excellent host who steered us to some excellent restaurants and fixed up very efficient local transport to and from airports and the truly amazing Falls.

As a general tip for the Argentine take US Dollars. They are in as great demand as the Agentinian peso is despised.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    61
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
61
406
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Clean, quiet, and a very good breakfast with home made marmelades! John Fernandes runs a first rate operation and makes sure every detail is covered. Features include a quick tour of the area, the best currency exchange in town, and also arranging any necessary transportation and/or tours. All this with a Happy Hour and a beautiful property to relax in.

Room Tip: There are only 3! I don't hink it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very idiosyncratic B&B on a normal residential street which manages to appear isolated in th jungle because of the well-designed garden separating the main house from the three B&B rooms. John the ‘innkeeper’ (a man of ideas with an interesting past) is an attentive host and as the only guests on the first night we enjoyed chatting to him for a couple of hours over his lethal caiparihnas. John organises taxis to the falls on both sides at reasonable prices and his advice to visit the bird sanctuary opposite the Brazilian Falls entrance was spot on – a magnificent place where we spent two hours among jungle birds of every size and colour.

Bedrooms at Secret Garden are functional, with rather musty bathroom smells and poor sound insulation, but have air conditioning which is handy in the humid climate. Breakfast on the terrace was fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad, toast with home-made jams, and on our last day (on request) scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our simple conclusion about where you stay in Iguazu is down to what you’re after, if you have an massive budget and just want a standard corporate hotel then go stay at the Sheraton, which is located on the Argentine side of the falls and within the park. But if you want to enjoy a bit of the local life and spend a less you just can’t beat Secret Garden, you can still enjoy a drink at the Sheraton (we did) as part of your visit to the Argentine side of the falls.
John just makes this so easy and there are already so many wonderful reviews we thought we’d try to concentrate on tips.
John can organise your pick up from the airport, your driver may well then become your guide for the rest of the trip - well worth it. As we're Brits we didn't have any hassle travelling to Brazil but other nationalities do check what you need for your visit and do take the paperwork as there can be long delays at the border . That said we were across the border within 5 minutes and we can recommend that the Brazilian side of the falls is well worth a visit, Brazil has the whole thing well organised and has clearly invested more than they have in Argentina. Go to Brazil in the morning as the sun is better that side for photos, Argentina is better in the afternoon. Brazil also has helicopter tours, can’t tell if they’re any good as we decided not to do it due to time.
There are many good restaurants in Puerto Iguazu and John can help you find what you are after. Stay a minimum of two nights more if you have time, there are loads of things to do and we certainly plan to go back. Just love this place and Johns intelligence shines through. We would just thank John and his team for our fantastic stay earlier in the year. He is a wonderful man and is working hard to help his local community.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and all looked similar decent quality. Enjoy. As we said above, do an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I echo the sentiments expressed so well by recent reviewers. John, the innkeeper of the Secret B&B is the incredibly gracious host of this beautiful oasis. He is so helpful in arranging transportation, recommending local dining, even driving around to find a place that sold bug spray. (Dont forget to pack your own bottle.) He fosters a real sense of collegiality with the evening cocktail hour. In fact all the couples staying there with us ended up continuing the evening at a fabulous local restaurant. (Again arranged by John.) If you truly want to enjoy the company of other world travelers, sample wonderful local food, and feel welcome, this is the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Secret Garden for 3 nights in early March and had a great time. It really is like your own little oasis in Iguazu. There are only 3 rooms so it makes for a very small & intimate experience. You'll most likely get to know the other guests during breakfast and happy hour, which my boyfriend and I really enjoyed.

Rooms are comfortable (perfect for a couple) and very clean - I'd definitely stay here again if I found myself in the area.

Included in the price is breakfast, which consisted of banana bread and toasts with various, yummy jams. There were also fruits and fresh squeezed OJ - I really enjoyed both.

Location-wise - it's 2 short blocks to the main road where there's a supermarket on the corner. It's also walking distance to several restaurants.

Random fact - if you need ponchos (in case it rains, but you'll probably want one when you visit Devil's Throat), John was able to lend us some that other guests had left behind.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Secret garden

My wife and I took the overnight bus to Iguazu falls where upon our arrival we were met by our host John, owner of the secret garden where we were staying for the next 3 nights. John immediately took us on a mini tour of Iguazu pointing out all places of interest along the way, even stopping to take a photo of us where you can see Paraguay, Brazil and Argentina in one shot. We then went to the B&B and were treated very well by the very helpful staff and shown to our room. The room was clean and everything fully functioning with a good shower which was needed after a 19 hour bus journey. 
The secret garden was a little hidden oasis where you felt at home straight away sitting on the veranda planning the next few days events. John (and later his lovely wife) were very welcoming and told us everything we needed to know about getting to the falls and even organised a local taxi for the next day's trip to the Brazilian side. Every night at 7 John hosted drinks in the garden which was a nice touch. The first night we were the only people staying there but on the other 2 nights we met the other guests so it was good to have a few drinks and chat abut the days events and other things before heading off into the town for dinner (slightly tipsy from the caipirinhas)! As mentioned, John and his wife were very welcoming and John was never lost for a few stories to tell! We would definitely recommend staying here. 

We would mention one thing though. The Argentina side of the falls was much better (in our opinion) as there was much more to do and explore. If your stuck for time or on a budget just stick to this side. We visited Brazil on day one and once we'd been to the Argentinian side on day 2 regretted our very expensive trip to the Brazil side. It cost 200 pesos for the taxi, 150 pesos to get in then every trip or trek was very expensive. The boat ride alone was 550 pesos compared to 150 on the Argentinian side. We didn't take enough money with us so took the cheapest guided trek which was 250 pesos each to walk up and down a dirt track with a guide that really wasn't interested in being there. We saw some trees and that was about it!

John, you should definitely keep the cash in the local  economy as opposed to advising people to go to Brazil! We do of course understand that you are right to give all the info so people can make an informed decision (as we did) but most people we have spoken to definitely preferred the Argentinian side. 

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Address: Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Iguazu B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.