We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine - but very far from the Falls!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esturion Hotel & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Esturion Hotel & Lodge to your Saves list
Esturion Hotel & Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Tres Fronteras 650, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fine - but very far from the Falls!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

GOOD: It is quite close to the town (1.5km - 20 min walk) but on the other side of the town from the falls. Was not too expensive for 3 nights, especially if you are paying cash in Argentinian pesos. Room was fine, big bed, normal size bathroom, clean. Little terrace with sliding door facing jungle setting (however no furniture to sit outside, you had to pull a chair from the room). Pool area is fine, pool is clean. There is a bar by pool and ping pong, pool table etc. Restaurant serves decent food but a little overpriced. GREAT breakfast. Main lobby and restaurant are attractive. Two clay tennis courts are great. 2 min walk from Amerian hotel which has AMAZING restaurant. Also a 2 min walk from the "Hito" - a monument showing where Paraguay, Brazil and Argentina meet. Excellent for runners as you are right next to the Costañera which has a long trail overlooking the river that goes all the way into town.

BAD: You are possibly the furthest you can be from the Falls as you are on the other side of the town, so you have to drive through the town and out towards the falls to get there (for both Argentinian and Brazilian sides. The town has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING special about it and is worth avoiding all together (not even good restaurants or bars) which we thought would be the only plus of being so close to the town. Taxi to bus is 25 pesos and 250 pesos to the Falls, and 300 to Brazlian side. Would be half the price if yo were on the other side of town. If you are just looking to go to the falls and have a peaceful time, choose a hotel closer which has a good restaurant and you can eat there every night and not travel anywhere other than the Falls. The room was a little tired and could use some redecorating. The front desk staff are fine, but could be much nicer. ALSO, the infinity pool picture shown with the canopy beds is not in the hotel (it is part of the lodges I think) Hotel pool is much more basic. Tennis balls provided by hotel were all dead and barely usable. You hear random loud and very powerful vibrations that last for 30 seconds every night until 4am with music which is being played by the kids who park their cars with unreal sound systems on the costañera street right in front of the hotel. I am a deep sleeper but a light sleeper would not have endured this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    298
    149
    63
    40
See reviews for
220
319
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Esturion very much. The reception area is very nice and the staff was very friendly. There is a nice restaurant attached to the reception that had excellent breakfast every morning. Our room was nice size with a nice balcony. This hotel is located 10 mins from downtown and the walk is very easy. The location is very close to the argentinian side of the falls and close enough to the brazilian border.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Its @ the edge of town - I thinks this is a plus.
This is a big compound with plenty of room.
Our room faced the river with a nice view of the gardens.
The shower water is hot, the bathroom is nice sized and the room was spacious.
The hotel offers a nice restaurant and serves a good breakfast.
The pool has a bar and a game area.
We did not go to the spa but many services/treatments are offered.
There are a few shops in the hotel and sell nice goods.
We paid for our stay @ check-in - this is the ONLY hotel which asked me to do so.

We found a great taxi driver - he took us everywhere.
PACHO = 15558136.

Room Tip: If it's summer there, ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 days while visiting the Iguazu Falls. Very large clean rooms. Front desk could not understand English very well. Were not very helpful in suggesting other attractions or things to do. I wanted to visit the Guiraoga wildlife center for the English tour and they gave me the wrong information, so ended up going on the spanish speaking tour. Food was OK, buffet was expensive. Breakfast was great every morning and was included in the room rate. Pool/lounge area was wonderful, since it was very hot during my stay. Felt very safe, as I was a single traveller. Bus stop right outside the entrance, so easy to get downtown and to the falls. Also walking distance from downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very cozy and familiar hotel, nice rooms and nice restaurant nothing is far from here and is located in a quiet place, the people is very helpful and kind also you can walk to Hito tres front eras where Brasil, Paraguay and Argentina crosses

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice hotel, clean spacious rooms and good food. However our experience left much to be desired. On day 1 we had 2 0r 3 short power cuts in our lodge. However on day 2 when we returned to the lodge at 6:30 we had no power. On phoning reception we were told that there had been no power since 2:30 and they did not know when it would go back on. We were advised that a room was available in the main hotel building if we WANTED it. Having no choice we said that we would move over after having our dinner in the resturant and could they have a couple of torches available to enable us to pack our cases. After dinner I went to reception and was offered 4 candles of the tealight variety (seemed like torches were a rarity here) to allow us to pack belongings that were spread over a bedroom, sitting room, kitchenete and bathroom. When I said that this was unacceptable the person at reception said that the electricity could be put ON for 10 minutes in order for us to pack, however is was to be noted that this may possibly jeopardise the electricity supply to the main building! I appreciate that they were having some sort of electrical issue, however if they were able to put it back ON I assume that they put the power OFF to the lodges in the first place. We brought our own hand luggage over to the hotel and asked the reception to arrange for the cases to be brought over. An hour passed and no cases so on phoning reception we were advised that we would get them in the morning! However when the issue was pressed the cases arrived quickly. At no point was there an apology (nor a token reduction in our bill) and I can only assume that whilst these people are polite they either do not care about customer satisfaction or they think this is acceptable practice. On speaking to the driver who took us back to the airport he said that this happens on a regular basis. So my advice re this hotel is that if you want to stay here (and have electricity) perhaps you would be better off in the main building.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the loges, beautiful as they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel near Hito de las tres fronteras appears on the surface as an older posh hotel but is coming into its years. This is especially noticable in the very basic rooms. Our room smelled as it has not been properly aired for a long time and was small. The pool was a welcome oasis after a long day at the falls and before our departure the next day. Breakfast was the usual Argentinian fare minus any hot breakfast meats. Restocking the breakfast buffet took a long time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Esturion Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esturion Hotel & Lodge

Address: Av Tres Fronteras 650, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#14 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esturion Hotel & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Esturion Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esturion Hotel And Lodge
Esturion Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esturion Hotel & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.