We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puerto Iguazu, Argentina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Iquazu Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Iquazu Falls to your Saves list
Hostel Iquazu Falls
Guarani Avenue number 70, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Lakewood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Puerto Iguazu, Argentina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at the Hostel Iguazu Falls. An excellent location, only a block from the bus terminal. I booked a private room that included a full size bed and twin sized bunk beds. Reservations were easy to make and I paid when I arrived. I had hot water for the shower. Bed mattress for the full size was firm as were the two pillows. For the room, there are sockets not just for the old and new South American plugs, but also for a North American plug so one may not need an adapter. The AC was not working (the breaker box was outside my room, but I didn't try flipping the switch). The ceiling fan wasn't operating either. That meant leaving the window open. The main window in the room was covered by wooden shutters with some thinner bars. No screen so it welcomed the mosquitoes and other bugs that may wander in. Unless you like it stuffy, you'll want your window open. As a deterrent , I placed the sheet from one of the twin beds as a kind of netting.

The wifi is available in the lobby and can reach to the common area and the hammocks near the pool. They also have two computer terminals for free use. They offer a free continental breakfast with your stay: coffee, orange juice, a croissant, and bread. In the evening, there was a tray of cheese and fruit and Coke and wine. The pool is small, it doesn't start out dirty as it was being cleaned in the morning, but if you went to the falls and wanted to hop in when you got back, you might think twice. I did at least soak my feet to soothe them.

It's not what I thought a hostel would be. Maybe the folks staying during my holiday were just very low key. being close to the bus terminal also put it close to a pharmacia and many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
25
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hostel, BBQ area with pool and hammocks, and convenient location just a short walk up from the bus terminal. My shower was cold though, and wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Book ahead during busy times/weekends, as it was full when I came back a second time!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hostel is pleasant in the fact that is has a swimming pool, hammocks and a courtyard area, The rooms are good although the beds and pillows are akin to concrete; I spent the next few days with a crick neck. There was no soap whatsoever in the bathrooms which struck me as unhygienic; while I respect it is guests responsibility to bring there own toiletries a small push-style soap dispenser would not break the budget I'm sure, especially considering I had a stomach bug and I wasn't into sharing it.

The courtyard area with its barbeque is a pleasant idea but having it in close proximity, that is adjacent to the rooms means that any partying or general loudness will be heard in the rooms. On one night a group of four of us were clearly ready for bed but a loud group outside were still at it. In hostels I've been to in the past there is a separation between sleeping and living quarters. This might be a hostel for those where sleep is the bottom priority. I would ensure you use a repellent as mosquitos are prevalent.

The cost of the hostel is fairly reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location, just one block from the terminal. Safe neighborhood. Nice courtyard with a clean pool, several tables outside to hang out with other travelers. They also have a grill outside. Rooms were clean and there were several bathrooms/showers so I never had to wait. No wifi in the rooms, but good wifi outside in the common area. Had a great time here, would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

As far as Hostels go, this was great. The staff was very helpful and spoke English. The rooms were clean as was the entire Hostel. Was one block away from the bus and pretty much anything else you need. Great café down the Street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over new year and actually stayed longer than anticipated (6 days) partly because I booked our onward bus for the wrong day and because it nice just spending time relaxing by the pool.

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm but it was spacious enough and had huge lockers under the beds for the bags.

Wifi was good and also worked in the rooms. The breakfast was ok but nothing more than the usual bread and jam that's typical of most hostels throughout south America. They did provide a bowl full if mangoes that we could help ourselves to although they were not the best. They grow all over the place here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After having zero luck finding a double in the city we decided to stay in a 6-person dorm at Iguazu Falls. The room was really big and they have lockers under the beds large enough to accommodate a backpackers bag and other stuff (bring your own lock or you can buy one). Bathrooms were kept surprisingly clean despite a full house. Breakfast was simple, coffee wasn't very good - try the cafe just up the street towards the bus station. We didn't use the pool (too cold!) but it looked nice. Kitchen was small but reasonably equipped. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is good for accessing the bus terminal but it's a little walk to the good restaurants/shopping etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Iquazu Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Iquazu Falls

Address: Guarani Avenue number 70, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Iquazu Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Iquazu Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.