We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UN POCO TRISTE - A LITTLE DEPRESSING...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Cataratas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Cataratas Hotel to your Saves list
Village Cataratas Hotel
Selva Iriapu s/n, Puerto Iguazu 3.370, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Skive
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“UN POCO TRISTE - A LITTLE DEPRESSING...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked the hotel based on previous comments and Pictures in their site. The location is very good, the access road is entertaining, to say the least! And the overall layout/concept, is ok - perhaps ina few years, when the gardens are full-grown, the effect will be different...The construction is interesting, but he plastic floor boards are surprising.....with so much hard wood around...(is it an environmental statement?) - The rooms were almost too large -the bathroom dark (tile color wrong?) - the balcony was nice, but overseen by the maid) - the problem is that the hotel is a little depresing, one feels isolated, the resception is too far away, a ity, because there was a good sitting area...the restaurant menu was poor - none of us (4) were pleaased with the food served. Breakfast was poor - WHO wants to eat sweets and cakes in the orning? would rather have a good selection of whoe grain bread and muesli / yoghurt and more fruit...(verall, the staff was pleasant the receptiinists very eager to please, but I left with the sensation that something was missing - a little bit of soft music to pep up the lounge???...more strategig lighting? - a barbecue night, perhaps?...Pool area was oke, although a little crowded wthen too many guests are out....but they make excellent caipirinhas!!! The restaurant was impersonal (too high celings, no music...) Enjoyed the Peace but would not have minded a Little more "coziness"....

Room Tip: need your own rental car if you want to see around and dine out....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel grounds are rustic, and the reception and dining buildings are well designed. The room décor can be improved, it's spacious but lacking in some amenities such as bedroom slippers. We were on the ground floor, and the balcony doors could not be locked. The hotel staff tried to lock it but could not. We were told they would do it the next day, there was no offer to change us to another room even though the resort was not full. The next day we were told they had fixed it, I tried it once and it was locked, but after opening it, it could not be locked again. As it was late, I decided to just close it and take my chances. The bathroom is spacious, but do not take away the hand cream bottle - unlike other resorts, the bottles are NOT meant to be taken away. The bathroom window had no windows, so taller ones walking by the corridor could look in; we folded some towels and DIY-ed covered the windows ourselves. Food was average, but service staff during breakfast and dinner could be more attentive; we had to walk to the counter sometimes to get their attention. These are teething problems of a newly opened resort, management could have better accommodated our issues. Perhaps, with time, it can improve.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room to avoid sounds. Request that bathroom windows are properly covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked Village Cataratas based on some comments I have seen on Tripadvisor.

But the stay proved to be a disappointment.

The setting is nice, but the total concept is wrong.

- The breakfast was horrible for a hotel with a so-called standard
- Lack of service (ex. at the swimming pool)
- Excessive price: you don't get a real good value for your money.
- No charm: The infrastructure is OK (nice swimming pool, terrace), it is clean. But there's a lack of charm.

There is clearly room for improvement in this hotel and the region of iguazu has better to offer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Village Cataratas is a rather new property offering the ideal lodging while enjoying Iguazu Falls. Centrally located between the National Park and town allows travelers to explore the best of the entire area. Nicholas, at the front desk, is a great representative of the hotel...very pleasant and helpful. Property has a full restaurant with a breakfast buffet and menu dining in the evening. Lovely, clean and comfortable in a fast developing area......highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very disappointed as the hotel looks NOTHING like the pictures and what they described! The hotel is dirty, dark. The bed is hard and flat as it is 100 years old. No one speaks English. Not even one word. I left the hotel for right after I checked into my hotel room for another hotel even though I already paid for it $375 (for two nights).

Absolutely horrible!!!! Do NOT book at this hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms are spacious. High ceilings and bathrooms are nice. The bathrooms have a whirlpool tub and water pressure is good. However, the night we arrived the water was tepid. The staff said there was a problem with the main water line. In the morning, the water was plenty hot. Only 1 station on the TV has good enough reception to actually watch, but not a big deal since there's not much time to watch TV anyway with the falls close by. The sheets are not the softest, but it's a very new hotel so everything does seem to be new.

The grounds are nice. However, sound does seem to travel quite easily when people walk or talk near the building because of the wooden planks. There was a convention of 20 women wearing high heels the night we stayed and we heard every single one of their footsteps and their conversations.

Location-wise, the hotel is not central to downtown. Depending on what you want, that can be a good or bad thing. If you don't have a car, you will likely opt to eat at the hotel. The shrimp starter was excellent. We tried the surabi and the beef/parilla. I thought the main dishes were okay. Overall, I was a bit disappointed in the food. However, the prices seemed reasonable.

The included free breakfast was pretty good. There was a selection of pastries, fruit, nuts, but no eggs. They did have tasty cold cuts.

The staff arranged a transfer from the airport to the hotel. It was $150 pesos and $150 pesos to go from the hotel to the falls. I do think you can get a cheaper price by hailing a cab at the airport.

Overall, it was fair value for the price we paid. However, I'm not sure I'd stay more than one night without a vehicle because of the limited food options. Even though it was in the "jungle", we had a view of trees and in the distance a small town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Cataratas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Cataratas Hotel

Address: Selva Iriapu s/n, Puerto Iguazu 3.370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Iryapu Forest, Village Cataratas was conceived and designed in order to offer the highest standards of comfort and service to its guests, without losing sight of any details and with the intention of preserving the wonderful natural environment which surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Cataratas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Cataratas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.