We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Village Cataratas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Cataratas Hotel to your Saves list
Village Cataratas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Selva Iriapu s/n, Puerto Iguazu 3.370, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked Village Cataratas based on some comments I have seen on Tripadvisor.

But the stay proved to be a disappointment.

The setting is nice, but the total concept is wrong.

- The breakfast was horrible for a hotel with a so-called standard
- Lack of service (ex. at the swimming pool)
- Excessive price: you don't get a real good value for your money.
- No charm: The infrastructure is OK (nice swimming pool, terrace), it is clean. But there's a lack of charm.

There is clearly room for improvement in this hotel and the region of iguazu has better to offer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Village Cataratas is a rather new property offering the ideal lodging while enjoying Iguazu Falls. Centrally located between the National Park and town allows travelers to explore the best of the entire area. Nicholas, at the front desk, is a great representative of the hotel...very pleasant and helpful. Property has a full restaurant with a breakfast buffet and menu dining in the evening. Lovely, clean and comfortable in a fast developing area......highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very disappointed as the hotel looks NOTHING like the pictures and what they described! The hotel is dirty, dark. The bed is hard and flat as it is 100 years old. No one speaks English. Not even one word. I left the hotel for right after I checked into my hotel room for another hotel even though I already paid for it $375 (for two nights).

Absolutely horrible!!!! Do NOT book at this hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms are spacious. High ceilings and bathrooms are nice. The bathrooms have a whirlpool tub and water pressure is good. However, the night we arrived the water was tepid. The staff said there was a problem with the main water line. In the morning, the water was plenty hot. Only 1 station on the TV has good enough reception to actually watch, but not a big deal since there's not much time to watch TV anyway with the falls close by. The sheets are not the softest, but it's a very new hotel so everything does seem to be new.

The grounds are nice. However, sound does seem to travel quite easily when people walk or talk near the building because of the wooden planks. There was a convention of 20 women wearing high heels the night we stayed and we heard every single one of their footsteps and their conversations.

Location-wise, the hotel is not central to downtown. Depending on what you want, that can be a good or bad thing. If you don't have a car, you will likely opt to eat at the hotel. The shrimp starter was excellent. We tried the surabi and the beef/parilla. I thought the main dishes were okay. Overall, I was a bit disappointed in the food. However, the prices seemed reasonable.

The included free breakfast was pretty good. There was a selection of pastries, fruit, nuts, but no eggs. They did have tasty cold cuts.

The staff arranged a transfer from the airport to the hotel. It was $150 pesos and $150 pesos to go from the hotel to the falls. I do think you can get a cheaper price by hailing a cab at the airport.

Overall, it was fair value for the price we paid. However, I'm not sure I'd stay more than one night without a vehicle because of the limited food options. Even though it was in the "jungle", we had a view of trees and in the distance a small town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Cataratas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Cataratas Hotel

Address: Selva Iriapu s/n, Puerto Iguazu 3.370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Cataratas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Iryapu Forest, Village Cataratas was conceived and designed in order to offer the highest standards of comfort and service to its guests, without losing sight of any details and with the intention of preserving the wonderful natural environment which surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Village Cataratas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Cataratas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.