We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Crucero Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Crucero Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Crucero Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Victoria Aguirre y Calle Tordo, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed only one night to visit Iguazu Falls from the Argentina side, after seeing the falls from the Brazil side. I choose this hotel from TA reviews and was quite happy with the hotel. We arrived very early (10:00am) hoping to be able to check in, before heading to the falls. The lady at the front desk said no problem and checked us in. She even said she was giving us an upgrade (I just smiled to myself because I read on other TA reviews that other travellers got upgraded as well). The hotel is new and the room was in good shape. My only complaints are the lack of lighting in the shower area and the fact the shower glass is too short so water sprays all over the floor. The front desk called a cab to take us to Iguazu Falls (140 pesos) and the entrance to the park was 170 pesos each. After leaving the falls, we discovered an alternative to a taxi back to the hotel. Immediately to your right as your leave the falls, there is a stand for the Rio Uruguay bus. Go inside and purchase your ticket (one way) for 35 pesos and the bus driver will drop you off along the way back to Puerto Iguazu. I told the driver the hotel and he dropped me off across the street from the hotel. I then went into the new complex, by the bus stop, to buy some water, beer and snacks. The new complex had lots of new upscale shops and restaurants and is a good alternative to eating in the hotel. The complementary buffet served by the hotel is average and I noticed that it was seriously in need of refilling when I ate at 8:30. I guess lots of hotel guests were up early to eat and head out to the falls but the condition and selection was not good at 8:30 in the morning. On the positive side, I got an extension from the normal 10 am checkout to 11:30am, as my flight was at 1:30. The hotel arranged my taxi to the airport (140 pesos) as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    178
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
194
232
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casnigo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great attention to the customers, big and clean room, an amazing hotel for an amazing trip!
We made an earlier check out and because our room was not still ready they gave us a room of an higher level. there was also a problem with the telephone line and they were really kind helping us calling the taxi.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Michelle: thank you for sharing your comments in TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a great time in Argentina, specially at the falls land. Thank you for choosing us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

As always in Argentina, any shortcomings the hotel had were made up for by the wonderfully friendly people.
The hotel is fine - clean and efficient if lacking in character (which makes it no different from a thousand other hotels I've stayed in). It is about a 20 minute walk from town (5 mins in a cab) which is altogether a good thing as the town itself is not that exciting. It is right on the route to the falls and easy to catch a bus from there though we shared a taxi with a couple of others for the same price as the bus. Taxis are cheap, reliable and easy to get and the hotel has an agreement with a number of drivers who mostly speak English.
The rooms are large and with everything you need. The WiFi works fairly sporadically but I think that is more related to the internet generally rather than the internal system - we had this a number of places in Argentina.
The food is pretty ordinary and quite strange. It is a shame because if they did better with the food it would certainly have been worth the four stars that I am giving it. But there are lots of places in town to eat so not a big deal.
The staff, however, were lovely and helped us with a couple of airline issues and quickly changed rooms when our air-conditioning was faulty. I would stay there again for that reason alone. And that's why it gets four stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Michael: We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We hope that you will consider staying with us again. We will certainly celebrate your kind words with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is situated close to the falls and close to Puerto Iguazu. This makes it easy to go to restaurants and to visit the area.

The rooms are nice, spacious and modern. The rooftop pool offers ample seating to relax. The staff is very helpful and speaks English quite well. They have their own taxi service for reasonable prices as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Kevin: Thank you for not only staying with us but also taking the time to write and share this overview of your recent stay with us. Every comment help us to keep improving our services. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent two night at the Grand Crucero.The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Our room was perfect and we enjoyed swimming in the very nice pool in the evening on top of the hotel.
Breakfast as well as the lunch were exellent. We could walk to the citycentre (20 minutes).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
annehesseling: Thank you for taking a moment to share your opinion with the readers of TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of Grand Crucero. We hope you had a great time in Argentina, specially at the falls land. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I would agree with a lot of the other reviews of this hotel in that its a bit soulless and lacking in atmosphere. The reception staff, bar one guy, were quite unhelpful only wanting to tell us about private trips to the falls when we knew you could get a local bus to the national park for a fraction of the cost, pushing us to upgrade rooms at extra cost as soon as we arrived, etc. The general feel of the town is that its set up to make money from Falls visitors so this isn't too much of a surprise I suppose! We ate lunch in the lobby bar one day which was nice enough- grilled cheese sandwiches, etc and dinner in the restaurant one evening which was an odd experience - the harpist that other people have mentioned was there but spent most of the time doing scales/tuning up with big gaps in playing. When he wasnt playing it was totally silent apart from the air con system which sounded like a gale was blowing through the system. As other people have mentioned, this is the same space the serve breakfast in so its a pretty huge room and even with a few people in it felt empty and conversations echoed around the room (including one guests skype call to his wife!) Not very conducive for a fine dining experience which I think is what they're going for... Our food was also odd- my fiancées pasta with lamb was a unappetising grey colour and my risotto was swimming in oil. Luckily we saw the funny side of it, had a bottle of wine and put the evening down to experience!
Breakfast however was good with a lot of options sweet and savoury so you could fill up for the day ahead.
The room itself seemed clean enough but, as others have mentioned, there is no light near the shower area so its pretty dark in there as the only light source is a small light at the vanity unit/sink area. This would be really easy to rectify and as others have mentioned it, I'd like to think that that hotel might consider adding extra light sources into the bathroom.
Not sure if I'd recommend this place or not... Many of the other hotels on the area that we went past didn't look up to much so this may be a good option in comparison?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this modern, clean hotel near the falls. Taxi service to and from the airport and the falls was convenient and inexpensive. Claudia at the front desk was friendly and extremely helpful in securing tickets to a full moon walk the day we arrived. The rooftop pool is a great spot to relax after an active day at the falls! Highly recommend this hotel for your trip to an amazing natural wonder!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Sheryl: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and thank you for choosing Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel. it means a lot to us. Every comment is a unique chance to keep improving our services. Your workd are going to be sharet with all our team members.
We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Crucero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Crucero Hotel

Address: Av Victoria Aguirre y Calle Tordo, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Crucero Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Grand Crucero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Crucero Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.