We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and safe hotel, very convenient for the bus terminal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Lilian

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Iguazu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residencial Lilian
Fray Luis Beltran 83, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Caernarfon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and safe hotel, very convenient for the bus terminal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three (not consecutive) nights at this small hotel in Puerto Iguazu during our travels in the region. It is very conveniently located if you are travelling using buses as it is only 2 blocks away from the bus terminal and is located on a quiet residential street. It has an airy feel to it and the rooms are off a central courtyard which is kept very clean and the garden is well-looked after. We had a standard twin room which was smallish but spotlesslessly clean. The furnishings and furniture were a bit dated however. The bathroom had a wetroom style shower which worked fine. Being in a residential area we had a quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was bread with jams or cheese and coffee/tea and juice which was just adequate. The staff were quiet and generally reserved but were quite friendly and helpful whenever we wanted anything. I did feel that the staff kept a close eye on the comings and goings of the hotel and consequently I felt far happier about leaving valuables in the room here compared with other hotels that I stayed in. Though the hotel is on a quiet residential street there are plenty of restaurants and cafes within 5 minutes walking distance away. It's a good place if you are looking for a clean, safe place to stay without too many frills.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are on the second floor and have their own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
30
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Hotel Lilian to see the falls at Iguazu before traveling on to Paraguay. We also stayed there another night on our way back to Rio.

The hotel was very convenient for the bus station, though located in a quiet, residential street a couple of blocks away from 'downtown'. We found that there was a good selection of restaurants within less than ten minutes walking.

The staff at the desk were friendly and welcoming. The rooms are ranged around a shady courtyard with flowering shrubs growing at its centre.

Our room was spotlessly clean, smelt fresh and was cool. The furnishings and decoration was slightly faded but that made no difference to our enjoyment. We had twin beds with plenty of room to keep our ruck-sacks around without over crowding the space. The bathroom was small, with a wet-room style shower. However, it was easily big enough and a squeegee had been provided so we could easily dry out the bathroom after each time we showered.

Breakfast was in the breakfast room, which formed part of the large, sunny reception space. Breakfast itself was a bit basic but perfectly adequate: coffee and tea cups were replenished as often as we needed. Plenty of bread was placed on the table and we were each given a plate with cheese and cold meat. Plenty of jam, soft cheese and dulce de leche were offered in small, individual cartons.

If you enjoy smart hotels with carpeted hallways and over atentive staff then this is not the place for you. If though, you enjoy travelling from place to place whilst on holiday and need a safe, clean and reasonably priced hotel to stop off at for a few days then this you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed 3 days at this "Hotel". Although it has more the feeling of a residence the rooms on the first floor (superior) are very large, clean and comfortable. The location is good, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and from the restaurants/bars. The only downside was the sad breakfast and to have to pay in cash only.

Room Tip: first floor - superior. Just a but more but much better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights whilst visiting the Iguazu falls, this was booked by my agent and having read the reviews was not expecting much.
The room was small but clean however the bed covers were stained and very tired.
The bathroom was quite small and all you get is a bar of soap. However the room is equipped with air conditioner.
The curtains are inadequate and lets light in at night.
The wall mounted TV was very small which made viewing a bit difficult.
The hotel is close to the resturants making it a convienent location.
There is no wifi in the rooms, breakfast is a basket of mostly dried breads and underbaked crossiant, juice and coffe or tea. There is a charge for hot water for flasks.
Although the reviews mostly say the staff are unhelpful i found them just quiet and indifferent.
The rooms are however very expensive for what you get due to the fact this is Iguazu!!!
If you are mostly out during the day and eating out at night and just need a place to sleep then this is adequate.
If you are after comfort, nice surroudings etc.. then this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms get a lot of light from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

we stayed 4 nights and it was a very good price option (double 240 arg. pesos per room). rooms are very clean, not so big (you can get bigger rooms for 280 arg.pesos), but enough space for us. You dont spend a lot of time in the room when you are in Iguazu. people very friendly & helpful.
Breakfast ok -> normal argentinian breakfast (corissants, bread, tea, coffe, juice, 7-9.30am)
just 5minutes to walk to bus terminal for al busses to falls (arg. & brazil side). Free Wifi in the reception-restaurant Area and also old computer which guests can use, works well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peresvet
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I didn`t have any reservation for a stay in Puerto Iguazu, so had to find accommodation on arrival. Some of the places were full. Hotel Lilian had vacancies, was inexpensive, looked clean and had a convenient location not far from bus station and town center. Moreover, it was recommended by Lonely Planet guidebook which helped me organize my travel in Argentina. We stayed at an economy room. It was small room and had access and a small window looking on the patio. No other window were, so a room looked rather dark. Nevertheless, it was comfortable, clean, with hot shower and toilet. In the morning simple breakfast was served in a vestibule cafe. Hotel staff was hospitable and helpful. We could left our luggage till our night bus there while were admiring famous Iguazu Falls by day.
I would like to recommend this hotel to other visitors to Iguazu as a simple but comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed 4 nights at the lilian hotel. Initial impressions were not so good, the building looks "tired" as do the rooms and the staff are quiet.

However, Puerto Iguazu has some pretty ropey hotels and hostels by all accounts, and prices are high compared to other Argentine locations, so after a couple of nights, lilian did not seem like such a bad option.

the rooms are clean, and have air conditioning. While the beds are not the most comfortable, the linen was clean and the towels were changed daily. Breakfast is average - bordering on poor. You get a basket of bread / toast / croisant but it is not the freshest selection. However, it is edible and not as bad as some reviews would make you believe.

My room was on thelower floor and there was a lot of light from thecourtyard during the night, which was distracting when trying to get to sleep.

The location is good, a couple of blocks from the bus station and the neighbourhood was safe (if a little dark at nights).

It turned out the staff are in fact helpful and friendly, they're just quiet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residencial Lilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Lilian

Also Known As:
Residencial Lilian Hotel
Residencial Lilian Puerto Iguazu
Address: Fray Luis Beltran 83, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 hotels in Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Lilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Residencial Lilian to your Saves list