We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cataratas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cataratas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cataratas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 12, Km 4, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Cornwall, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Positive experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My dad booked the room initially on Expedia without telling me. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and got concerned! No need, all around good experience! I even booked another 2 nights myself. We had a big room, 2 queen beds, flat screen tv, nice bathroom, no mould anywhere. We had abalone only of view of clean pool area, nice. I did peak at some other though and saw a couple small, cramped ones though.

Room Tip: Rooms 151-154 have small balconies overlooking pool. No chairs though. Most rooms have no balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    211
    147
    61
    54
See reviews for
183
225
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stay on sept 7th thru 8th, with 2 roms , lucky for us it was only one night, the lobby look nice but don't let that fool you, the room were super dirty carpet, bathroom, ceiling drapery in one work EVERYTHING, with moldy and smelled bad.
Dinner and breakfast was very expense and not good.DO NOT STAY In this hotel ever again
The $140.00 USD is not woth it for this can hotel that I will grade as a MOTEL instead.

Hotel sucio con mold,rentamos 2 habitaciones y estaban igual no hay ningun tipo de sanidad al tener mold, la comidas caras y mala calidad. No RECOMENDAMOS EL HOTEL, ya que in el precio de $140.00 usd es para un hotel de tan baja calidad.

Room Tip: Rooms with mold and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in the beginning of August. My stay here was horrible!! Do not book this hotel. The free breakfast was not good: watery eggs, hard bread, and not enough options. I did not enjoy it. The actual room was old and smelled bad, had moldy ceilings, uncomfortable beds, and was not enjoyable. The pool area was dirty, the water was filled with bugs and leaves. Additionally, the hot tub pool area was always filled with people and it did not look sanitary. The staff was nice, but the 100$ a night was not worth it. Please do not book this.

I hardly ever write reviews. This was such a horrible experience that I did not want people to book this hotel. I took pictures of the moldy ceilings and will post later on.... Save your money!

Room Tip: all horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel, big, clean, neat rooms, big pool, big open green spaces; food is good, and theres a nice variety of it. It can use a little refurbishing because it looks like a 70's movie. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is nice, it's just not modern. One of the best things of it: it's location, it is outside town so is very quiet at night, very near the waterfalls park, even the Brazilian side is quite near; it's also very near the town of Puerto Iguazu, where you can find stores, restaurants and tours. Staff was very nice and helpful. Like I said, it's a very good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

the hotel is good and the staff is speaking english.
its not too far from the falls and other attractions and there is always a taxi waiting outside.

the pool is nice and have waterfalls and a water slide.

the price is very good for the hotel and the rooms are big and have big bath.

Room Tip: say you want a room with a view to the pool side, much better view than the parking lot view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is in a time warp. I don't think it has been refurbished since the 1970s. There was a power cut so emergency lighting only. I wouldn't recommend it. The location is good as it is quite close to the falls and the town.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms have recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Cataratas is a timecapsule, It actually has all you need but in an oldfashioned 1970s way. Large rooms,a nice garden with a large pool. The restaurant serves plenty of food at all times with a great variety but with a slight east European touch...
All in all, it is acceptable but it really needs to be refurbished in all ways in order not to slide down the scale even more. And it is already close...3 points, heading towards 2.

Room Tip: ASk for rooms facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cataratas

Address: Ruta 12, Km 4, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cataratas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataratas Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cataratas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.