We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exe Hotel Cataratas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Exe Hotel Cataratas to your Saves list
Exe Hotel Cataratas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 12, Km 4, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Cataratas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel, big, clean, neat rooms, big pool, big open green spaces; food is good, and theres a nice variety of it. It can use a little refurbishing because it looks like a 70's movie. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is nice, it's just not modern. One of the best things of it: it's location, it is outside town so is very quiet at night, very near the waterfalls park, even the Brazilian side is quite near; it's also very near the town of Puerto Iguazu, where you can find stores, restaurants and tours. Staff was very nice and helpful. Like I said, it's a very good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    308
    194
    75
    65
See reviews for
267
301
27
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

the hotel is good and the staff is speaking english.
its not too far from the falls and other attractions and there is always a taxi waiting outside.

the pool is nice and have waterfalls and a water slide.

the price is very good for the hotel and the rooms are big and have big bath.

Room Tip: say you want a room with a view to the pool side, much better view than the parking lot view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is in a time warp. I don't think it has been refurbished since the 1970s. There was a power cut so emergency lighting only. I wouldn't recommend it. The location is good as it is quite close to the falls and the town.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms have recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Cataratas is a timecapsule, It actually has all you need but in an oldfashioned 1970s way. Large rooms,a nice garden with a large pool. The restaurant serves plenty of food at all times with a great variety but with a slight east European touch...
All in all, it is acceptable but it really needs to be refurbished in all ways in order not to slide down the scale even more. And it is already close...3 points, heading towards 2.

Room Tip: ASk for rooms facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel has spectacular ammenities, tennis, nice pool, heated pool, fitness center, spa. Service was very good and the Restaurant had an amazing buffet and breakfast.

The hotel is definetly not 5 stars due to its current condition (very old) but is clean anyways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I didn't get a room that overlooks the pool but the pool was great. It had a tiny slide and waterfall which gave me a quick head & neck massage. U can also order drinks and snacks by the pool if u are too lazy to go to town for a meal. The hotel also has a tour desk and taxis on hand to take u anywhere you'd like to go at reasonable prices. For eg, it costs abt 30 pesos to town and 250 pesos to brazil side of the falls. The front desk can't really speak English but they do try their best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I'm looking at a gorgeous sunset from my room at Hotel Cataratas. My room also overlooks the pool, which is very nice (though it would be nicer if the Jacuzzi were heated). Others have complained about dilapidated rooms, but mine is fine. My problem is that the hotel staff told me that the entrance fee to the Iguazú National Park was 130 pesos, when it is actually 170 pesos. I don't like carrying more money than is necessary (I've been robbed a couple of times in Argentina), so I brought enough for bus fare and the entrance fee and a little extra. But because of the mix-up about the entrance fee (it had gone up a few days earlier, on the first of March, which everyone seemed to know about except the hotel staff), I didn't have enough money for the bus. After walking about 8 km. on up-and-down trails, I discovered I had 12 kms. to walk at the end of the day, darkness coming on, along a narrow highway with no shoulder. If you have any idea how Argentines drive, you too would have been scared. Footsore and bone-weary I got home safely, with the help of a bus driver who picked me up a few kilometers from the hotel. I went to the hotel manager the following day and told him my woes. I even had the document on which the staff member had written the wrong information and I have the name of the girl who refused to sell me a 30-peso bus ticket for 25 pesos. I'm not making this up. A lifelong dream turned into a nightmare for the lack of five pesos (one dollar). The manager, José Ángel Rodríguez, found everyone in the world to blame but himself: the staff member, the park (for not informing the hotel of the fee change), and me, for not bringing enough money. He lectured me on how to travel. (I'm 63 and I've been all over the world and have lived in Argentina for 2 and a half years.) People who immediately cast around for others to blame are not leaders. So if people are saying that this hotel is going to hell in a hand basket, I think I know why: bad management.

Room Tip: Because my room overlooks the pool, I hear the generator for the artificial falls that is continuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Exe Hotel Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Cataratas

Address: Ruta 12, Km 4, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Cataratas)
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exe Hotel Cataratas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Exe Hotel Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataratas Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Cataratas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exe Hotel Cataratas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.