We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint George

Save Saved
You added Hotel Saint George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Cordoba 148, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location,good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when we went to see the Falls and had no complaints. It's right across the road from the bus station where you catch the bus to the National Park, so in a great location. It was very clean and comfortable.The room we had was big and because it was on a corner, we had a huge bathroom with a bath and shower.There was a kettle with tea and coffee in the room, and we had two big beds. Our luggage was delayed after Aerolineas Argentinas cancelled our flight from Buenos Aires and put us on a later flight and the very helpful reception staff rang us when it arrived at 4AM and brought it to our room.The pool area was nice but we didn't use it because we spent the time at the Falls.We had dinner there on both nights and there wasa good selection for $107(Argentine pesos). There was also a good selection for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, so you have a big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment. It is important for us to know what our guests experience was while staying at Saint George Hotel. It is thanks to the feedback that we can improve.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Saint George Hotel!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    284
    139
    46
    38
See reviews for
212
317
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Location is great as It is close to a bus station, which is very useful if you plan to use the bus for a trip to the falls. It is close to restaurants but the room is worn and dated. It is also close to a laundromat and a grocery shop. Breakfast is average and you need your room key to get in. But Staff in the front desk are arrogant and not very helpful. We asked for a map of the vicinity and they gave us a very unreadable map printed from their computer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel has a good location. The public areas look nice but when you get to your room it is a little disappointing. They are a bit worn and dated and our room was quite dark. However, it was clean and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was OK although the door to the breakfast room was always locked and you had to wait for someone to let you in. The breakfast staff were not very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in Jan 2013 for visiting the Iguazu Falls. Nice thing was the breakfast time, it started 5.30, so it was possible to eat before entering the morning bus to the falls.
Room was big, with 2 queen size beds and much space for clothes etc. Fast and free wifi. Location by the main street and bus station, just cross the street. Pool and sun bathing area quite nice and bar was serving drinks, but also small salads and sandwiches.This hotel is very good choice if you are going to make a trip to the Iguazu Falls Argentinian side. Take the bus, starting at 7.20 morning with normal fare and pay the entrance to the Falls by the gate there. Then you are free to go around on your own time. We did spend 7 hours easily. All costs under 50 USD this way.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old side are really big, good for family etc. Fast and free wifi included there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The room was really big, but damp and smelly. At night when I prepared for sleep, I found someone else's hair on my pillow. The sheets smelled so bad I had trouble sleeping at night. It seemed like the room wasn't cleaned properly. In the morning, the elevator was broken so we had to take the stairs. To top it off the breakfast was unforgettably bad; there was nothing to eat except diluted juice and hard-boiled eggs. The location was the only saving grace for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment. It is important for us to know what our guests experience was while staying at Saint George Hotel. It is thanks to the feedback that we can improve.

I would first like to apologize for the inconvenience with your room that made your experience not so good.

Regarding your reviews about breakfast of the hotel I would like comment to you that we have a really complete one, with hot beverage, milk, juices, fruits, yogurths, cereals and seeds, handmade bakery and scrambled eggs among others.

Please accept our apologies again and we hope that if you choose to stay with us again in the future your experience will be a happy one.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arrived here late and when we were show to our room there was a lot of noise from the street. We were told that at 11 o clock there would not be anything open so we went out for something to eat and found the main drag very lively so this hotel is in a great location to venture into Puerto Iguazu Breakfast was OK (set out for backpackers) and when we had a very early start the next morning the porter made us hot croissants and coffee which was appreciated.

Room Tip: I only know that the room that we had was looking out on to the main street which meant that it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We received your feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to share your reviews with us.

We are glad you enjoyed our prime location in the downtown. Respect to the breakfast service I would like to inform you that it is not a service for backpackers, is an attention that we offer for the guest who must retire early morning (before breakfast time).

We hope to welcome you at The Hotel at Saint George Hotel in the near future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is really the only game in town, if you're talking about staying right in the small central area of the even smaller town. There were only youth hostels nearby otherwise for the young backpack crowd. The package tours stayed in "motel" type places scattered out along the highway. The front desk staff was very sweet and helpful and the pool area was relaxing after a morning spent at the Falls. I realize we're in the tropics but the liberal use of insecticide made the room smell overpowering. The included breakfast was adequate, but the restaurant just missed the mark for dinner. The meat was awfully dry, the alfredo sauce too thick--lovely presentation but just didn't quite make it. Two exceptions were the large selection of salads, including an entire mounded dish of quartered ripe avocados and a delicious chocolate desert called the Devil's Throat. A great little Chinese restaurant just downhill on the main street seemed to be the town hot spot and the food was cheap and decent. The taxi stand is just outside the front door which was convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Av. Cordoba 148, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 Km. Away from the most beautiful natural sceneries, the Iguazú Waterfalls; 19 Km. from the Cataratas del Iguazú International Airport (Argentina) and minutes away from the Tancredo Neves International Bridge. Hotel Saint George offers guests a warm unforgetable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.