We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint George to your Saves list
Hotel Saint George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Cordoba 148, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Grass Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spacious clean room. Helpful and cheerful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Didn't try their dinner buffet. Right across the street from the bus terminal and good restaurants. Short 2 block walk to ATM. Good recommendation for a driver to San Ignacio Mini Jesuit Mission ruins. Bathroom floor can be slippery when wet; husband slipped, only bruised. A/C works very well; a little noisy; hard to adjust. Big bathtub. Great water pressure in shower; felt good.

Room Tip: Close to bus terminal & restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    416
    190
    58
    44
See reviews for
319
454
55
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Solid hotel with very friendly and attentive front desk. A nice lobby but older upper floors and rooms. Location good - across from bus terminal and several restaurants. The main part of town is comfortable walk. The pool area is decent, with reasonably priced drinks and big glasses of wine. Breakfast was standard, but good. My biggest issue with the hotel was that the WiFi was shoddy (worked great, then not all, worked great, then not at all ect). We loved staying in Puerto in general. Felt safe shopping, eating, and walking around the town. We had a good stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel provides an oasis of calm and relaxation with its comfortable rooms, good service and lovely gardens and pool. There are a wealth of restaurants around but it also boasts a good one itself. Nearby is a bus garage where there are frequent buses to the falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the St. George for two nights. The rooms were clean and the staff was great. We had paid for an upgrade but the room was not as nice as we had hoped. The bed was lumpy and sounds could be heard through the walls of adjoining rooms. The wood on the bottom of the shower was slippery and I was afraid of falling. The breakfast had limited selections. It was well located and the air conditioning worked well. My husband went down to the bar to bring up two glasses of wine. They would not sell him wine to take to our room. It had to be delivered and then we had to pay a tip. He tried to bring me a cup of coffee from the breakfast room and they wouldn't let him take the cup out of the dining room to our room. After an evening of listening to the crying child next door, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is Iguazu Falls, not an urban oasis! The rooms were comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, internet was free, and breakfast was included. And, in this tropical climate, the A/C worked well. Plus, the hotel was half a block from the bus station, which was very helpful for us. Sure, the furniture was dated, but this isn't uncommon in Argentina, in our experience. And as GhoulDog said, this wasn't terribly different from a lot of the smaller hotels in New York City, but with much larger rooms. The price was reasonable, and there were good restaurants nearby. You can find nicer hotels in Iguazu, but they cost a lot more. I recommend this place for all the reasons stated above.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We chose this hotel,l as we visited the Brazilian side of the falls first and wanted to be near the bus station,which is just over the road.We booked a junior suite with jacuzzi bath. The room was a bit dated but very clean.The a/c was a bit noisy and the room overlooked the main road with some traffic noise but not enough to drive you crazy. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and lots of space in the room,we cant understand why it didn't have a sofa.
Service,especially in the bar was somewhat slow although the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel had a pool and hot tub but we didn't use it as the water didn't look inviting enough,however that could have been due to the large amount of rain they had just had.It rained so hard that water flooded into the bar area. We ate in the restaurant attached to the hotel the first night and were given a voucher for a discounted buffet (108 pesos,about 15 pounds) lets just say you get what you pay for. The restaurant just over the road (Color) was a little more pricey but boy,what a difference in standard and Quality.We ate there the day after too and were made most welcome and given a 10% discount. Buses to and from the falls run every 20 minutes with a company called rio uruguay and cost 30 pesos each way pp,just under 4 pounds. The falls on the Argentinian side DO NOT accept credit cards to gain access to the park,so be sure to take pesos with you.Puerto Iguacu is not the most attractive place in the world and it is more pricey than the rest of Argentina but the falls are spectacular and the hotel was'nt as bad as we were led to expect. Breakfast was quite a large selection mainly a cold buffet but some hot items too. The cakes are very sweet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First, you have to know that Puerto Iguazu is a horrible, horrible village. Nothing to do or see there. Only built to sustain this huge tourism business around the Iguazu falls (which, I admit, are quite fantastic).

This hotel is a perfect example of this constructions that shouldn't have existed in the first place, and that go even worse when they get old.

It is just not nice, clean and interesting enough

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Av. Cordoba 148, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Puerto Iguazu, 17 Km. Away from the most beautiful natural sceneries, the Iguazu Waterfalls; 19 Km. From the Cataratas del Iguazu International Airport (Argentina) and minutes away from the Tancredo Neves International Bridge. Here at the Hotel Saint George, we offer to our guests a warm unforgetable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.