We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel very good, staff not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ruta Nacional Nro. 12 Km 1640, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Kidderminster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel very good, staff not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a 2 night stay as part of a 32 person tour to South America The rooms were large and comfortable and the outside was pleasant. We were lucky enough to see humming birds as well as a few lizards around the swimming pool. Sadly, the staff did not seem to understand that when a group of thirsty English travellers returned from a day at Iguassu Falls, they wanted a drink. I had to wait 1 hour from ordering until receiving a drink and that was with 3 return trips to make sure they hadn't forgotten about us. The food was the same. it was as though the staff weren't geared up for any level of speed except manana. it's a shame, because they were very friendly, but just incredibly slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    92
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
149
147
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mosta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms much larger than average - probably the only plus point at this hotel. Unfortunately staff are not trained to look after clients. They are very standoffish and talk to you as if you should already know the answer to your question. Our 3 night stay was a catalogue of disaster. I wrote a lengthy e-mail about our dissatisfaction which remains unanswered. To top it all, rather than get any kind of apology or even a discussion on how to pit things right, we were We greeted with a bill, upon checking out which include charges for things we did not have, from minibar and took a good half hour to resolve upon checking out when our private transfer was already waiting. This made us late for our flight out of Iguazu and got the last 2 seats on plane. We have travelled extensively and can honestly say we have had much better service from lower end hotels. Management will do well to understand that the size of rooms do not in anyway make up for appropriate staff training. Whilst mistakes do happen staff need to acknowledge when these are made and how to rectify them speedily. Staff should also have a respect of clients limited and valuable time they have on holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and grounds look very impressive and the room we had on the third floor was very good. However, we found the service and staff not to be very welcoming or helpful. On arrival in the lobby and upon checking in, we were left to our own devices as to finding our room in what is quite a large resort.
The only English speaking receptionist was quite brusque in response to our questions and not of any useful assistance to enquiries regarding local restaurants. He gave the strong impression that he did not like having to deal with us for reasons beyond our comprehension.
Supposedly a five star resort hotel yet it lacked any kind of warmth towards the residents and there was little sign of friendliness from any staff that we had received in Buenos Aires.
It is effectively just a stopping point for a visit to the Falls and I would suggest looking to other nearby hotels rather than this one as I'm sure a much friendlier welcome and nicer experience is on offer elsewhere and probably a damn sight cheaper.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed on this hotel for a few days. It meant to be a dispatch point to The Iguazu treasures but it was more than that. The large comfortable room (though a little used and shabby ), The landscape and the service were excellent.

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This resort is stunning. The landscape was so beautiful it felt like paradise. The pools were beautiful - I only wish I would have had enough time to enjoy them. We were supposed to fly into Iguazu by 3pm on Monday but we had a flight delay due to weather. We arrived at 11pm. I felt like the trip was redeemed once we arrived at the resort. Our group was greeted with a refreshing smoothie and a local bread. We headed straight to our rooms and when we went in we were so delighted! The room was a VERY good size. The decor was beautiful. There were electronics built in to turn lights on/off from bed. Our view was like looking at a park. The bathroom was beautifully done in marble, double sinks, large soaking tub, separate shower and separate toilet area. We slept wonderful in the very comfortable king size bed.

The morning breakfast was divine. The fruits were just beautiful. So many choices on the buffet. Coffee was great. Service was wonderful.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. We hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room on the 4th floor was beautiful. Big, spacious and very comfortable. The walk-in shower with the tropical down pour shower head was the perfect way to relax after a long day walking around Iguazu falls.
There are not may souvenir shops that we could find walking through town. So don't expect to do any shopping outside the hotel.
The pool is big, beautiful and multilevel. Make time for the kids to enjoy it other wise you will have to suffer the consequences the rest of your vacation.

Room Tip: The garden view is the best. The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maringa, PR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed just for one night but it was enough to have a pleasant time. All employees were very kind and nice, we didn't book in advance but they got us a very nice bedroom for a reasonable price. They took care of every detail, including making our bed ready for us to sleep and clean the toilet while we were out for dinner. The place is great and quiet and we loved it. the only thing is that the breakfast wasn't what I was expecting from a 5 stars hotel, but it was good, not to many options tough. But I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Ruta Nacional Nro. 12 Km 1640, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguazu Grand Resort Spa & Casino, a member of Leading Hotels of the World, is regarded as the most luxurious hotel at the Iguazu Falls and is the only full-service resort and casino on either side of the Falls. Chosen as Argentina's Leading Resort by World Travel Awards 2010, the hotel is located just fifteen minutes away from the Iguazu Falls National Park. The Iguazu Grand hotel sits on fifteen acres of semitropical vegetation with three multilevel outdoor swimming pools and beautifully man-made cascades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguazu Grand Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa And Casino
Iguazu Grand Puerto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.