We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Grand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ruta Nacional Nro. 12 Km 1640, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Not so Grand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As other reviews on TA will attest, this property is lacking in many ways. Also note there is not one single comment from management concerning any of the reviews, suggesting only one thing - no one gives a damn, and it's obvious. To boot, it's been awarded Leading Hotels of the World - please and no thank you; I don't think so. The hotel grounds are spectacular; that's the best part of the hotel. The insane 10:00 AM check out time is a slap in the face, but then again, I saw no reason to stay and enjoy the dirty, worn, faded furniture, the tiny bathroom, the tattered carpet, the furnitureless balcony overlooking nothing, and the poor quality, expensive food on premises. In addition to a front desk that would not change nor exchange currency, the 30 minute walk into town to the nearest ATM, was not welcome. (Puerto Iguazu is a nasty, nasty town) Let me also add, the rip off casino did not have an ATM, likely the only casino in the entire world without ATM - seriously. The hotel is a solid 25 minute, expensive ride to the National Park. I plan on a return visit to this area to see more of Iguazu Falls, but for sure won't stay here. Leading Hotels of the World? Please - don't blow smoke when there's no fire.

Room Tip: Choose your room at the Sheraton in the National Park. There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    84
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
135
142
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staying here was a treat. I took my family (8 in total including 2 small kids) here last week and I wish we had more than the 2 nights there. While it is expensive it was worth it in my opinion and fulfilled all our needs and exceeded my expectations. The quality of the hotel in general is top notch, good rooms, large bathrooms, nice views, good service for the most part. Even though it's billed as a resort and casino it was actually a wonderful place to have kids as there were multiple kids areas outside and the pools were also very nice. They even have great tennis courts which we enjoyed that were free of use to their guests.

For those looking for some adult time the Casino is also pretty nice as well. It's a little on the small side for US Standards but has a good vibe going with most games you would expect to find as well.

**the only weird note about staying here is ATM's. I figured that since there was a casino that there would certainly be ATM's as well but was sorely mistaken. They have no ATM on the property or in the hotel (not by their choice but because of some Iguazu regulation) and as a result if you want to take out money you have to take either a 5 minute taxi or a 30 minute walk into town to where the ATM's are. Also, for any gamblers out there the Casino is mostly in US Dollars but the ATM's won't let you take out Dollars nor will the Casino exchange Argentine Pesos for Dollars so if you are planning to gamble you want to make sure to bring X amount of US Dollars with you. There is a small portion of the Casino where they have games in Pesos but this only represents about 5-10% of the casino and nearly everything is US Dollar only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Personally, I never recommend a hotel which does not know how to treat its customers. This hotel should immediately be stripped of its membership from Leading Hotels Of The World for this very reason. After having traveled to 35 countries in 6 continents and having stayed at youth hostels to the most luxurious hotels in the world, the treatment received at this hotel's front desk perhaps ranks, in my opinion, in the bottom 2 of all my hotel experiences (competing with the experience of being racially differentiated against in another 5-star hotel in Turkey), esp. considering that I paid $400 per night for the room.

I was on my honeymoon and I spent 2 months perfecting my itinerary around South America choosing the best hotels with the most luxurious amenities. I chose a suite at this hotel (dates: 17th-19th Feb 2013) because it was supposed to have a hot tub and a balcony with a view of the lake. When we reached the hotel we were given a room with no balcony in the room and consequently no view at all. Obviously I was annoyed because I had paid for something that wasn't there. I brought it up with the receptionist named Luciana. However, she just matter-of-factly said that this is what it is and we can't do anything about it. She basically laughed at me on my face because I wanted something that I had paid for. She didn't think the need to apologize, (wait, she did. Sarcastically. After 10 minutes of arguments.), did not relate to what I was saying and did not even call her manager. After several rounds of arguments for the next 10 minutes, she just told me to do whatever I want and walked out on me and hid in a room inside.

This is not the behavior one expects at hotels that claim to be the Leading Hotel In The World. We are not asking for a freebie. We are asking for something that we PAID for and were promised in a written document. It is not my problem that the 4th floor does not have balconies. You need to tell me before I arrive that it doesn't. You need to show some empathy. You need to be apologetic. You definitely cannot act like you are doing me a favor by giving me a room.

I do not ask that you give me a free room. However, I do not expect you to be arrogant for your own fault. I'm paying you for your service dammit, you're not doing me any charity.

The management of this hotel needs to seriously look into its training and recruitment. Most disappointed for being made to feel like a fool in presence of hotel staff and other customers for an unfulfilled promise by the hotel's management.

Raghav Himatsingka

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel has everything that you wish for in this area. Staff is extremely nice and helpful, with most of the front-desk personnel speaking a fairly good English (which is quite a rare thing outside the hotel). Very clean property, with everybody being really attentive around you. Staff is making accomodative efforts for "out-of-the-norm" requests, which makes a huge impact on the client. Hotel has a good fleet of cars for transfers, with Walter being a warm-hearted and pleasant chauffeur, with good humor and nice attitude; also Luciana always carrying a nice smile at breakfast time. The Casino is the only place that you would not be sorry if you'd missed it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed three nights while visiting the falls. It's a first-class property with large rooms and bathrooms, very well equipped. The grounds are beautiful and they have three interconnected outdoor pools and an indoor pool next to the fitness center in the spa. The lobby lounge was large and attractive and their fine dining restaurant is excellent.

It's a short taxi ride into Puerto Iguazu; a small town with several good restaurants. The hotel is located very close to the Brazilian border.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here two nights while seeing the falls, first class accommodations, beautiful pool and grounds. Spacious rooms, large bathrooms. One note, shower is configured so you must stand in it to turn on taps, which is an eye-opener! Breakfast buffet had many choices. Casino adjoining hotel, did not use. Downtown is a cab ride for most, especially with the heat. Would return here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we stayed here as part of our tour. The room was very nice and the grounds are extremely nice BUT the service was horrendous, especially for a ¨luxury¨¨ property. We were supposed to have early check in and when we arrived we were told our room would be ready at 2PM and we could change in the spa. The next day when we got back from the falls at 4PM our room was NOT made up. It took forever to get it cleaned and remade. When returning from dinner we asked for an 11AM check out instead of 10 and were told we couold NOT have it. After much discussion I got the concession of 11am. The hotel was happy to call us a taxi, HOWEVER it was their car service who wanted to charge us twice the going taxi rate. I dont know what else is available but I would NOT stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Ruta Nacional Nro. 12 Km 1640, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguazu Grand Resort Spa & Casino, a member of Leading Hotels of the World, is regarded as the most luxurious hotel at the Iguazu Falls and is the only full-service resort and casino on either side of the Falls. Chosen as Argentina's Leading Resort by World Travel Awards 2010, the hotel is located just fifteen minutes away from the Iguazu Falls National Park. The Iguazu Grand hotel sits on fifteen acres of semitropical vegetation with three multilevel outdoor swimming pools and beautifully man-made cascades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa And Casino
Iguazu Grand Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Iguazu Grand Puerto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.