We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Cataratas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sol Cataratas Hotel to your Saves list
Sol Cataratas Hotel
600 ha - Selva Yryapu, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to see the falls not spend time in the hotel, so it served our needs as it is clean and not expensive. Staff was nice, and overall we had a nice time there. Good value for the price, would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
40
40
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here in October, 2012, as part of a package. Excellent value for the price. The room was simple but fine for our needs, the grounds splendid with rooms in separate small buildings scattered through the semi-jungle. Lovely pool in a beautiful setting. Helpful and friendly staff, not much language difficulty. Breakfast acceptable to good. Location is fairly remote, so we felt that after a day of sightseeing we didn't want to trek or taxi into town for a restaurant, and the dinner service was limited. Overall, we'd stay here again, but if making plans on our own might seek something in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is pretty much a place to sleep only. There is a lovely pool if you do have leisure time, but the hotel is really inconveniently far from town.

The room I had was clean and functional, with a TV, miniature fridge, good aircon, hairdryer and complimentary shampoo, conditioner and small soaps. Towels varied from 5 to one, depending on the housekeeper's mood, I imagine. There was also a desk and chair and some rooms had hammocks on their patios. The 'safe' is a silly little box in the wardrobe, hardly bigger than my reading glasses' case! It's completely useless.

Breakfast is very basic, unless you like lots and lots of sweet breads and pastries. On only one morning of the three did we get some ham and cheese, but there was fruit salad and fresh orange juice every day.

Dinner choices are limited and aren't haute cuisine by any stretch of the imagination, but adequate if you don't fancy traipsing in to town. The prices are also ok, and a bit lower than I would have expected at a hotel.

The staff are very friendly and kind.

The big drawback of this hotel for me is that the WiFi ONLY works in the reception area, which is very far from all the rooms. It doesn't even work next to the pool that is a stone's throw from the dining area. This means you are obliged to sit in the dining area with the ceiling fans blowing gales to keep the insects away from the tables, or on the patio where you get eaten alive by the mosquitoes because there are no fans blowing them away! It is so annoying that it made me give them an 'average' rating rather than 'very good'. I'm sure it can be remedied very easily if management had the will. Some other hotels had such strong WiFi that I picked it up outside in the bus while waiting for other passengers - why can't Sol Cataratas just upgrade theirs?

Overall it's an alright place for a few nights.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest from reception would have fewer people walking past and making a noise late at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our room was fine - simple and clean. We must give special thanks to Christian at the desk who was very helpful and most pleasant. The pool area looked nice but we did not use it. There was indoor and outdoor seating available in and around the lobby area. The sounds of birds and insects gave you the pleasant feeling of being in the jungle which you sort of were. Breakfast was ready a bit early so we were able to take advantage of a nice spread including croissants, bread, toast, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, , juice, cereal and yogurt, before going out on our day of exploring the Falls. We ate at the restaurant one night. The buffet had lots of choices and the foods were reasonable well prepared. Nice to have the option of a restaurant because no others were available within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The room was comfortable enough, but quite spartan. The pillows had an unpleasant smell--like too many people had sweated through the pillow case and the smell impregnated the pillow. There was a very large black spider in the room, but since this is the jungle, I guess that's to be expected. The reception area and dining area are one vast expanse, which they have tried to divide by putting in some screens and ugly furniture. It doesn't really work--the environment is not welcoming. The pool area is nice enough, although the water was too cold for swimming when we were there and was filled with leaves (even though we were assured that the pool was "open"). The breakfast was mediocre. We ended up having the overpriced dinner at the hotel because we didn't want to have to deal with taking a taxi back and forth to town (25 Arg. pesos each way). The food was bland but edible. The biggest downside to this hotel is the distance to town. Actually, it's not so much the distance (just over a mile) but the fact that it's not really walkable due to the condition of the roads, absence of sidewalks, and concerns about personal safety. So, if you ever want to leave the property---and believe me, you do--you need to call a taxi. If you stay here, I would recommend that you go into town at night (we heard it was fun and active) and not during the day (when all the tourists are out visiting the falls and stray dogs outnumber humans in the town). The main thing the hotel has going for it is the staff, who were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed only one night here to visit the falls from the Argentinean side, so I have a limited experience. But the hotel is quite nice, just decent three-star quality. The lobby and restaurant are in one big room, with some "obstacles" to make them look separate.

The rooms are in different buildings with about 8 rooms per building (I think). Room was clean, but they left open the door/window to my "balcony" (on ground floor, so something between balcony and garden) and some insects therewith had entered my room. Once I killed them, I felt comfortable. The bathroom was good, the bed big (there also was another small bed for a third person) and the tv new (about 27", flatscreen). Too bad that you cannot leave the door to the balcony open, because you would have a insect zoo within a matter of hours I guess. And, at least at my room, you have to keep the curtains closed at all time, because other guests could see everything inside. So it was dark all the time. Good for the temperature anway. The air conditioning did a good job too.

The pool is nice, but the seats around it were dirty. There is some kind of pool bar, but as there were just a few guests, it was not opened.

I did not have dinner here, but the breakfast was a good, continental breakfast as you may expect from a decent three-star hotel.

The location is a real drawback: walking into the town is a bit of pain in the ***. You have to walk down the jungle road, cross a major street with quite some traffic and then follow the main road for at least 15 minutes to arrive in the center with the bars and restaurants. However, there is a new shopping mall with nice restaurants at a 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel, if you do not care about the town itself.

I was really thinking if I should give it 3/5 or 4/5, but in total I felt quite comfortable there and friendly staff always helps.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Though our room was clean, the staff friendly,the property nice with a great outdoor pool, I would not recommend staying here if you are visiting the falls for just 1 or 2 days. It is a $25 USD cab ride to the falls and not walking distance to the city centre or any restaurants so you feel a bit stranded. There were only two other guests at the entire hotel when we were there and the restaurant is only open for dinner with very limited options (though they can order pizza on your behalf and have it delivered to the hotel).

The water stopped working in our bathroom and it was hours before it was turned back on. The air conditioner also never got the room very cool and it was sweltering outside.

In comparison, if you are in Iguazu for just one night, I would splurge a little and spend it comfortably at the Sheraton which is walking distance to the falls.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Cataratas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cataratas Hotel

Address: 600 ha - Selva Yryapu, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Cataratas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Cataratas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.