We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat in Puerto Iguazu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Yaguarete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Yaguarete to your Saves list
Casa Yaguarete
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avenida Posadas y El Dorado | Zona de Granjas, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect retreat in Puerto Iguazu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I did a lot of research before booking Casa Yaguarete and was not disappointed with my choice. My husband and I stayed there for three nights in March and we had a wonderful time. Lorena is fantastic; she and I emailed back and forth before the trip and she arranged for a driver (Ariel - highly recommend him also) to pick us up from the airport.

We had our own little casa with air conditioning (thankfully!). It was beautifully decorated and just what we needed. It was very peaceful. We knew it was out of town, which we didn't mind at all - we specifically wanted that. After a week in Buenos Aires, we were looking forward to the peace and tranquility of a somewhat rural area.

Upon arrival, Lorena sat down with us and worked out an itinerary with us for our three days (very helpful!). She also drew us a map so we could walk into town and to the "Tres Fronteras" (where Argentina, Paraguay, and Brazil meet). We loved our walk - it was hot and humid but so interesting. We felt very safe as we walked along the road and eventually arrived in town. We stopped at a little store to buy drinks and double-checked we were heading the right way - everyone was very friendly. Ariel picked us up as we didn't want to do the walk back and charged us around $5 - great value. (Ariel also took us to and from the park, and across the border to Brazil with no visa on other days - he's great!)

Breakfast was great - anything you want. Nothing is too much trouble for Lorena. She really wants to have happy guests and encourages you to tell her if you need anything so she can make it happen/fix it. She will cook dinner for you - at a good price - and it's a great opportunity to sit down with other guests. We got to meet other travelers and share stories - one of the many joys of travelling. Lorena and I spoke in Spanish together but she speaks very good English.

Do your research and if you're looking for a five star hotel, stay in a five star hotel. If you want a great travel experience, where you feel connected to your surroundings and get to meet interesting people, stay at Casa Yaguarete and experience all it has to offer. Thanks for a great stay, Lorena!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
78
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

As I was on a solo trip to Iguazu, it was great to arrive at this B&B, and be well looked after by Lorena, who made sure that I made good use of my two days at Iguazu. It was also nice to sit down at the table and chat with other travellers. Breakfast is perfect, and on day one I was able to share a taxi to Iguazu with other guests. The following day Lorena arranged a driver for me to the Brazilian side of the falls, which probably otherwise would have been very difficult. The place is a bit out of town, but it's easy enough to get a taxi in and out. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. If you are looking for somewhere quiet, friendly and not expensive, this would be a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lorena arranged our pickup from the Airport and we used the same driver on other occasions, he was always on time.

We had a great welcome from staff and were shown around the large grounds with so many fruit trees.

Our room and ensuite were large, clean and appointed, A/C, TV, WiFi, hot shower. Breakfast was full on ,Tea, Coffee, Fruit Juice, toast, eggs (cooked to order) cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese and fresh fruit. You can also have dinner cooked for you (as we did).

Lorena gave us invaluable information and helped us plan our visit.

We enjoyed the walk into town (30 mins) as we are avid walkers. Neighbours offered us a lift on our way back from town late one night and were very friendly.

We had a great time at Iguazu and recommend this good value B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The best thing about Casa Yaguarete is it's owner Lorena for whom nothing is too much trouble. With most travellers only in Puerto Iguazu for a day or two it's imperative that time is best used and Lorena makes that happen. She organised a driver for us who took us everywhere we wanted included some places we didn't know about and really made our trip.

The rooms were big and comfortable and the breakfast was great.

A couple of points to note - whilst there is almost always someone on site, there is no safe in the rooms and the sliding wooden doors could be opened without a key. We also woke up to a large number of ants on the bathroom floor however these were cleared relatively quickly.

It's not in downtown Puerto Iguazu but it's near enough that you can walk or take a cab. Lorena makes that pretty clear beforehand though!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We a party of 6 adults stayed in 3 rooms for two nights in Feb, 2014. Prior to our arrival I had communicated with Lorena and she was kind enough to arrange a van and driver for our transportation needs over the three days we were there. We landed at the Airport before noon, got picked up by our van and headed straight to the Brazilian side to view the falls. By the time we got to the BnB it was later in the evening. At first we were worried as the van took a rough unpaved road. On arrival from outside it appeared we were in the middle of nowhere. Our fears were laid to rest quickly once we were greeted by Lorena one of our hosts and shown to our rooms. The guest rooms are attractive, clean and inviting. This BnB is situated on grounds that have plenty of fruit trees, gardens and red soil everywhere. There are paved paths to walk back and forth. Meals are on a covered patio with a roof but no walls. The best decision we had made was to arrange for dinner provided by the bnb the first night.At US$10 per person it proved to be the cheapest dinner we had during our three week South American adventure. More important we did not have to go to town, a distance away, to be ferried to a tourist catering restaurant for a mediocre meal at inflated prices at a time when we were tired. The meal was good- we had asked for chicken, with plenty of veggies.The ingredients were all fresh and we appreciated the luxury of strolling out of our rooms into the patio a few yards away. The property is quiet with no traffic noise, but one may hear a rooster. Lorena was very helpful with helping us get our money changed and we had long talks about life in that part of Argentina. She has traveled a fair amount and it was fun to hear about her perspectives. One of our rooms did have an issue with the shower not working but a workman came along and fixed it quickly. Very good value for money, peaceful, beautiful environment and hosts that are helpful are the draw. This is NOT located in an area where you walk out and can shop or eat within walking distance...so be aware

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

What a delightful place to stay. Iguazu was the last stop on a multi-city tour of Argentina. To be honest, both my husband and I were a bit burned out on the travel, so this relaxing little B&B was perfect. The host, Lorena was helpful and attentive to our needs. We stayed in a little "duplex casita". Quite comfortable/clean and absolutely quiet. Her friendly kitties were a bonus. Breakfast was simple and taken outside. Great way to start the day... Lorena was quite happy to make suggestions for dinner in town. We walked into town for dinner at Aqua one night (took about 40 minutes) and then took a taxi home (50 pesos). Would certainly stay at Casa Yaguarete again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This B&B is absolutely fantastic. I stayed here with husband in January. Nothing was too much for hosts Lorena and partner. They organised transport to collect us from the airport, TAM lost our lugguage and the driver was happy to wait whilst we sorted things out. We were assured that our luggage would be on the next flight and delivered to our B&B. When we arrive Lorena was so sympathetic- she asked for a contact number at the airport so she could chase staff at the airport to track down our bags. She helped us organise our itinerary and ran through the costs of each day. She prepared a big delicious breakfast with fresh mango from her mango tree in the back garden. Lorena also offers dinner at a very reasonable price, which is delicious too and so lovely to come back too after a busy day at the falls. We cam as guests and left feeling like friends. The service is great, friendly and warm. Do not stay anywhere else- this truly is the best place. We traveled around Argentina and Brazil for 4 weeks and stayed in 5 places - this B&B was our favourite. Thank you again to all the team :))

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Yaguarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yaguarete

Address: Avenida Posadas y El Dorado | Zona de Granjas, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Yaguarete 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Yaguarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Yaguarete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.