We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled place, neat bar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu to your Saves list
Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu
Av. San Martin 4, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chilled place, neat bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Bambu is a nice little laid back hostel with a warm, friendly vibe. Rooms aren't that big, but they do have shelving for your gear. They also have a/c which is awesome if you're not used to a tropical climate. Chris is super friendly and helpful and Roberto is chilled and makes a wicked Caipirinha!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
60
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while visiting the falls- rooms were lovely, air conditioning was excellent. Facilities were of a high standard. Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and obliging. Only a 3 minute walk to the bus station which takes you to the falls. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

First I have to say it is a good hostel, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I did however get bed bugs there and that is super annoying you have to wash everything or throw everything away. They are hard to get rid off. Staff gave me the night for free and it might not be their fault but I feel obliged to warn other travelers

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, however the hostel was in pretty good condition.
The manager helped me find a bunch of amenities in the town (great town, great atmosphere)
and also helped me get one of the last Full Moon tours at the falls that I really wanted!
Rooms are good with cubby´s for your things. Washrooms were good and clean.

The atmosphere of the guests was a bit off, not very open to newbies, but the hostel itself was great! Good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The staff is very helpful. I just asked about how one goes to São Paulo and right away the receptionist started calling around asking the prices with different bus agencies. I was there alone so I liked that the staff always said hello and remembered my name. The breakfast was good with the only good croissants I have had on my 7 months travel around South America. The rooms have real air condition and not just a fan! Lovely in the very humid heat. In the heat you can as well use the pool of another hostel nearby. Good location: close to the bus station and the center of the small town of Puerto Iguazu, and the bus to go to Brazil passes right by in front.
The only problem was the sewer problem which meant blocked toilets and there was a continuously lack of toilet paper the 3 days I stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you want to crash out at the end of the day obllvious to your surroundings this is the place for you. The hostel seems to be run by young men and their stantards tend not to be high. The computer is great but everything from there is downhill. I booked into the ten bed dorm and the mould stains on the ceiling creeping down the walls was enough to put me off, the bathrooms had probably been clean in the morning by by the evening when I arrived they put me off having a shower. My boyfriiend was arriving from England and we had booked a double room but when I looked at the bedroom the stain on the bedspread was enough for me to cancel the booking and move out the next morning. The staff working during the day were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights. The rooms were basic and clean, but could do with a new coat of paint, for the price of accommodation in Puerto Iguasso it represents good value.

The amazing thing about this hostel would be the staff, each morning they would ask us what we were doing for the day and would then help us with bookings, bus timetables etc (at no charge). They offered great advice regarding restaurants and cheap cafes. This as all done without prompting from us and appeared to be a genuine desire to be helpful, not to sell a tour or take commission from a booking.

The hostel also has a nice bar, a well equipped kitchen and is no more than a 5 min walk from the central bus terminal (which is the center of town and the transport hub for seeing the falls).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu

Address: Av. San Martin 4, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hostel Bambu in Argentina you will find a friendly and well informed staff to help you in every issue, large and comfy beds for a good relax, well equipped self catering kitchen, bar and laid back atmosphere, located in the best neighborhood in Puerto Iguazu, just 2 blocks from the bus terminal and walking distance from supermarkets, bars and restaurants, thank you for picking Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu, you wont regret it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.