We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In disrepair” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 12 km 5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In disrepair”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived at night time and had to reach our room via an elevated wooden walkway. It was dimly lit with citronella garden torches and the railing was missing in many parts ( some places had plastic tape strung between posts ) or leaning posts into the path, along with sloping edges, cracked planks, raised ridges and stumbling onto an unlit set of stairs with no reflective strips made for a fabulous trip hazard with bags and small child.
The room was quite nice and very spacious. No bath, though there is a spa on the patio which had about 40% small tiles missing with sharp grout exactly where you'd sit, so we didn't use it.
The pool was "broken" and a bus was offered to an adjoining establishment to use theirs if we wanted to.
The shuttle was also offered to go into town, but when we wanted to use this service, it turns out you have to book it in advance as it only goes hourly and there is only 11 seats. The hotel is a $30 cab fare away from town as we found out the 2nd night for dinner.
We had to go into town the2nd night as the hotel's in house restaurant is terrible. You get 1 of 3 menus to choose from and 1 of 3 entree and mains. My husband didn't like the potato leek soup and my salad was ok, but for mains we ordered steak asked for rare. Came out well done and so tough, we were unable to chew it. 2nd Attemp came out raw. Meat was ice cold to touch on the inside. They graciously did not charge us for the meat.
Breakfast was passable, but you need lots of time to find your own cutlery, glass for watered down juice, and wait for trays to be refilled at the waitress' leisure.
Despite the citronella lamps, the jungle setting make it impossible to curtail the mosquitoes. We had to spray repellent every time we left the room.
This hotel was picked by our tour agency as superior accommodation.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest, we appreciate the time you took to write your review. It is a great regret for us to know that your stay was not as you expected, we apologize for that. Just visit was during the days in which we conduct annual maintenance of our facilities. We invite you to go back and rediscover the wonder around us.
Best Regards,

Natalia Solsona
Public Relations Director La Cantera Lodge Iguazu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    460
    133
    48
    38
See reviews for
296
658
58
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This lodge has a fantastic set up. Being in the jungle and walking through it to get to your room reminds me of when I was in the Amazon. It is such a a different experience from the rest of Argentina. The rooms were great and the staff was very friendly. The pool was a nice setup however I do wish there was an option for shade as sometimes it gets very hot by the pool.
The CONS that I have with this lodge are two things. First the food. I did not eat dinner in the restaurant but I did eat at the bar by the pool. That menu is horrible. The food is dry except for the French fries. And when I did order fries they didn't even have ketchup. So I had to eat them plain as day did not have any condiments there. They should work on the menu and fix it up. The second issue is being out of the city. I knew that I would have to take a taxi or the free shuttle to get into the city. It's just inconvenient and the cost adds up as I found it was the most expensive place that I was in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review, we are glad to know your experience here was OK. And we must apologize for the food inconvenient, is fact we must improve in that area, which we already are working on.
We really would love to welcoming you one more time.

Best regards,
Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We arrived mid afternoon, we were checked in pretty quickly, we asked questions about the local area and anything else to meet our needs which were answered, some language barrier at times however felt the staff spoke good English and not really an issue. Food was lovely, rooms were clean, it was just a wonderful experience living in a jungle, with noises of animals and when it rained it was amazing just relaxing!! things were a little more expensive but wouldn't expect any more from a hotel in this location. The hotel were supportive in getting us bookings at restaurants, the free shuttle took us into town and we got a taxi back, they advised us on taxi prices as well which was nice. La Cantera had Wifi and too be honest I didn't have any problems with it albeit in a jungle, noticed that others on trip advisor complained about certain aspects of the hotel however your in a jungle so can't really say more than that. The rooms were clean probs not as clean as other hotels I’ve ever been in however adequate enough for my needs. The pool was lovely as well, the whole experience was enjoyable, I would go again to be honest it was just calm and relaxing for me. Unsure to price as a pre booked as part of a tour so can't really answer the value.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, get the rooms on the 1st floor as sometime you could hear people walking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest, thanks for your kind review, was very pleased to read you enjoyed our room facilities, food service provided by our team. We really hope to welcome in you back again.
Best regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night before the day we were headed to Iguazu Falls on the Argentinian side. I was amazed at how nice our room and bathroom were, considering the hotel is in the middle of the jungle. Our king size bed was very comfortable, and the hammock on the screened in private porch was a perfect place to relax in the evening. The bathroom was larger than most hotels we've stayed in, and the water pressure and temperature were perfect! Again, considering the location, I didn't expect such nice accommodations. We did have an issue with our air conditioner, as I think it was a little too small for the space it needed to keep cool. In the middle of the night, it started leaking water onto the floor, and didn't feel like it was working. We let the front desk know, so hopefully it was taken care of before the next guest arrived. We didn't use the pool, but it looked like there were a lot of families staying at the lodge, so if a kid-free vacation is what you're looking for, I don't think I'd recommend staying here. Very family friendly.

The hotel is very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful in providing us with maps and information on how to best explore the area. They were also able to arrange for a taxi for us for the next day to take us to the Falls and over the border to the Brazilian side of the falls. Would definitely recommend for a night or two's stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Estimated, we thank you for your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Iguassu Falls.
Best regards

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was amazing. The staff was very friendly and spoke different languages which was helpful. They were very attentive to our needs and wanted to help whenever they could. They helped us get taxis to and from the falls and the town. It is in the middle of the jungle so it is very secluded. It was very quiet and peaceful. I would recommend this place to others going to Puerto Iguazu

Room Tip: The villas are very quiet and well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,
we are very grateful for your feedback, we are happy to know that you had an amazing ¨experience stay¨ with us and that our team really look after you from the moment you arrived throughout the stay. It is nice to hear that you liked the room allocated for you and found it to be in a nice environment.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Natalia Solsona
Public Relations Manager La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great space to chill out after much hiking thru Argentina/Chile. Close enough to the falls & the town but with the jungle rainforest & pool to relax & wind down by. The rooms are private and spacious but if I had a choice it would be an upstairs room so that you felt a little more amongst the jungle. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Estimated guest, thank you so much for your review. We will keep every nice word you said and we will try to keep it nice for you and everyone who wants to visit us.
Best regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights lovely room nice pool area. The restaurant can do with improvement food was terrible but desert was good! Only discovered there was a free shuttle bus into town after a guest told us!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Estimated guest,
we are grateful for your feedback. We have a team working on improve our restaurant menu. We are hoping to receive you again so we can make a better experience for you.
Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Address: Ruta 12 km 5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.