We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Save Saved
You added La Cantera Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reserva Natural Selva Yriapu | Iguazu National Park 600 HA., Puerto Iguazu 1112, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save ARS200 on select meals
Ranked #13 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel for 3 days in November 2013 during our Argentina trip. Its in the middle of the jungle and the grasshopper screeching can get pretty loud in the eveing. The balconies have a net and there was no problem with mosquitos or other "intruders".

The location is great for visiting the Iguazu falls, you can book your transfer from the hotels reception. It's also easy to get to the city for dinner. You can order a cab from the reception, i don't remember the price, but it wasn't expensive. One night we had dinner at the hotel. The food was nice, but you will have far greater choices if you take a cab to the city. Breakfast was fresh and tasty.

Although you don't have a problem sleeping nicely at night, the area can get quiet loud at night due to all kind of animal and insect sounds. It is after all a jungle hotel.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor keeps you a bit further away from the julngle inhabitants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    361
    110
    36
    37
See reviews for
232
555
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel grounds were beautiful! We had a frog in our bathroom but I guess it comes with the territory. I opened the window and he went right out. The reception staff was very nice helpful and friendly. The shuttle to town was convenient as well make sure you reserve it. The restaurant was overpriced and food was mediocre. Service was even worse there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This little hotel has an excellent, quiet location in the middle of the forests surrounding the little town of Puerto Iguazú.
The pool is super. Breakfast and dinner are excellent!
I stayed for a week and I was never bored.
They have bikes that you can take for a ride on the dirt roads through the forest and off the beaten tracks.
I will cherish the days spent here forever!!
The Guarani people have a stand on almost everyday of the week and you can support their livelihood by buying souvenirs from them instead of going into town to buy in ordinary souvenir shop!! They are very friendly, Juán and Gabriel, best regardsl!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My first impression was a perfect "jungle room" on the back (private) side of my building with bright, airy porch and windows. I liked the location away from town, and other hotels are in the area. I was not able to get a room on the second (top) floor, and because these are all wooden buildings (mine was an 8 plex, 4 up and 4 down), it meant significant noise from guests overhead until late at night and begining early morning. This noise is my only major negative for this property. The staff was very courteous and helpful in Spanish and English. They offer transportation to the Iguazu Falls park each day rond trip for a small charge. My room had a comfortable king bed, good A/C, room safe and modern bath. (Travel with your own facial washcloth in Argentina --- most hotels only have larger bath and hand towels. ) The pillows are made of foam and were too firm. The afternoon bar and poolside menu is available until 7pm and is perfect for casual dinners. The swimming pool was clean, pretty and a peaceful break from days of traveling. I had hoped for a few established senderos - walking trails -- in the surrounding jungle, but there are none that are official. A few unmarked trails are used by workers moving between hotels. The hotel offers free transportation each day for a 2-hour visit to the center of Puerto Iguazu. Two hours is enough because there is not much to the town, mostly restaurants, souvenir shops, and a few casa de cambios if you need to exchange currency. Hotel rooms at La Canterra are accessed by elevated boardwalks through the jungle, and rooms on the front side facing the boardwalk do not have privacy unless you close the curtains. Because of the jungle location of La Canterra and its people, I enjoyed this property, but because of the overhead noise due to wooden construction, I would stay here again only if on the second floor.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the second floor facing the jungle for maximum privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, most of the time it rained so we didn't get to enjoy the lovely pool and sun beds. We had a lovely spacious room looking out at the jungle. Very comfortable. We had to get the jacussi fixed before we could use it. The bedside light switches were very difficult to use. We were asked to pay a deposit for the second glass we requested. Breakfast was excellent. We had dinner there the 1st night which was very good. A small menu but good. It seemed to be the same menu the next night when we went out. The staff were friendly and helpful but there seemed to be no management.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were very taken with La Cantera. We had a superior jungle-facing room, though in truth there wasn't much wildlife to gaze at from the hammock. Very comfortable bed though and we liked the atmosphere of a place so far removed from a sterile hotel. Pool was excellent, very clean and with some comfortable sun beds around it. Reception staff spoke good English and were really helpful. Restaurant food nice - but almost the same limited menu on successive nights (probably not too much of a problem as most visitors are on short breaks) and again very welcoming staff. Bar service very slow but we found this a common feature thoughout our trip and, hey, you are on holiday........

All in all, a great base for the Falls with a warm, welcoming atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your reviews..
We really appreciate them, we taking special attention to the restaurant comments.

We hope you can come again some time!

Best Regards,

La Cantera Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A quiet hideaway in a tropican jungle, La Cantera is clean, quiet and comfortable, and offers relaxation and good value. The pool is fantastic on a warm evening, and the restaurant a great spot for fun with friends. The staff are superbly helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but not 5 star !

Room Tip: A room close to the restaurant enables better internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments and lodge description!
We hope you can come again some time,

Best regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Address: Reserva Natural Selva Yriapu | Iguazu National Park 600 HA., Puerto Iguazu 1112, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.